Ratings based on 836 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.3 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Terrible hotel location - it spoilt my holiday

Posted Jul 19, 2014
Pros: The first room I stayed in was fine. The staff were very helpful and friendly.
Cons: The whole hotel needs to be lifted up and placed somewhere nicer.
The room was fine and the staff were very nice. However, the hotel location is terrible. Its on the corner of Granville and Davies Street. There is a bar on the ground floor that plays loud music until very late. I was in a room at the front and you can hear the music. The street has lots of run down shop fronts - tattoo parlours, drug users and beggars. It felt very threatening. At night, we could hear people shouting and swearing in the street. It ruined my holiday in Vancouver
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Quaint, centrally located

Posted Jul 19, 2014
The hotel staff was very helpful and kind. The rooms were nice enough. Ours was fairly small. The location is great for walking around down town.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

noisy dance bar downstairs

Posted Jul 13, 2014
Pros: Central location
Cons: overall cleanliness of the building could be improved.
Location: Downtown Vancouver, what's to say. Literally thousands of things to do, use your imagination!
We were on the 1st floor at the far side of the building and could still hear the thumping bass from the night club downstairs until just after 2AM. Maybe the upper floors aren't so band however I suggest you ask about the night club when you book so you can get your money back if they tell you it's not a problem.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Calgary, AB

Great location, close to all amenities.

Posted Jul 8, 2014
Staff were great, gracious and helpful. Would recommend to anyone who wants a quality hotel at a great price. Rooms were clean and well stocked. Only thing I would have liked to have was a fridge in the room. But other than that an excellent stay for me.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from toronto

Last minute booking. Can't complain. Decent spot.

Posted Jul 5, 2014
Booked last minute. Decent price, good spot, good hotel.
1 out of 5
by Doctor Octopus

Worst Hotel Ever!

Posted Jul 1, 2014
Pros: Nothing. Shady area
Cons: Everything, no understatement.
Absolutely down right awful. I'd rather stay in a dilapidated shack than here!! Run down and scummy. Cheap all around right down to the toilet paper!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Good location, terrible hotel!

Posted Jul 1, 2014
Pros: The water
Cons: a/c in the hotel
Location: on Grandville across the street from some nice bars. Walking distance to the waterfront casino and arenas.
The hotel had a nice location however the only other positive thing I can say is that the water tasted good. Let me start with the fact that they did not have the hotel air conditioned. The halls were stiflingly hot at all hours. The room had a/c but it was very difficult to battle the ridiculously hot and humid halls. the wifi was terribly slow and you had to ask for a new password every day, which got old really fast. The standard room was only a few feet larger than the queen sized bed and my husband and I found every reason NOT to go back to the room every night until we were exhausted. The tv remote barely worked and most channels were fuzzy....not to mention that the tv was not digital...on any channels. The mattress was extremely uncomfortable and I begged my husband to forgo the last night and just go home so I could sleep in comfort again. All-in-all this hotel was a waste of money. We should have paid a few extra dollars and stayed someplace that was a bit nicer.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 3, 2014 by Lucia, Hotel Management
Dear Cherie, Thank you for your review. I'm sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay with us. We are 100 year old heritage building and only lobby and rooms are air conditioned. We use sealy posturpedic mattresses and we usually get great comments from our guests, I'm surprised you did not find it as comfy as other of our guests. Any hotel, not just us, would welcome any feedback from our customers while they are staying here, we could of create a wifi password that would last longer than 1 day and if TV or remote needed to replaced or fixed, we would of love to fix it for you. Thank you
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Was close to Rogers arena

Posted Jun 27, 2014
Staff was rude. Room had hairs in bathroom. But was close to where I needed to go
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Only available hotel in town

Posted Jun 24, 2014
Pros: Place to sleep.
Cons: Decor and night staffing.
Location: Great parks and waterfront fairly close.
Accidentally booked room with upscale hotel for wrong date, upon arrival realized mistake and reception tried to search for other hotels for us. They called this one and were told they were booked by reception, but found availability on Expedia, and helped us secure the reservation. This was the only one in Vancouver and surrounding area except one other triple the price. Upon arrival, only one person on staff, so couldn't get a crib quickly and kids were exhausted, so just cancelled request. Toilet clogged immediately, no plunger, waited until morning to fix with soap and hot water from coffee maker. Small room barely fit two double beds. Loud manual window a/c unit, but night life outside window even louder. Bathroom laminate counters and decor could use an update. Overall price too high for this room compared to incremental difference to stay at upscale hotel. Advice would be to book early at a different hotel in Vancouver and double check the dates before cancellation period expires.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 27, 2014 by Lucia, Hotel Management
Dear guest, thank you for your review. I'm sorry to hear that you have experienced us at busy times in the middle of the night.usually between 10pm -11pm there is only 1 person on staff and I guess you came at that time. All of guests requests are done in timely manner, if we knew that you are coming, we would of have a baby crib placed in the room ahaed of your arrival time to ensure that you child can go to sleep right away. I'm sorry about that. And yes, I agree, triple checking reservations is the best thing to do, to ensure that booking dates are correct and there is absolutely no need of experiencing stress .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Paul from dawson creek, bc

Close to rogers arena

Posted Jun 22, 2014
Decent price, close to shopping on robson. Poor parking, but a decent trade off for location and availability
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 24, 2014 by Lucia, Hotel Management
Dear Paul, Thank you for your review and thank you for staying with us. Our parking is very limited, the big parking lot that used to be beside us is now apartment building. Mayor of Vancouver wants to turn our city into "bike city", therefore all parking lots are being converted into apartment building or parks, parking tax went up to 21% and now we have ton's of bike lanes, because he would like us to bike to work, not drive to work. :(. I hope that little lot that we have, will stay parking lot and not be changed into another highrise.