Ratings based on 1,200 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.3 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Love sleep'n over above a night club? this1 is 4u

Posted Apr 17, 2015
Pros: NOTHING
Bass from below was blasting till 3am on a Sat night and i heard every beat. I was told its a "quiet" room Ya Right!! I would never pay to stay here again. I complained to the front desk staff, but was only told the manager would email me, well i never heard back from the management or hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Chilliwack BC

Always nice to stay here

Posted Apr 11, 2015
Pros: Close to everything and great parking
Location: close to everything
Close to everything and always great staff, good parking and lots of things to do
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom vancouver

Don't stay here!

Posted Apr 5, 2015
To be honest, I lowered my expectations going into this hotel because we got such a good deal but it was worse than expected. The hotel staff were incredibly rude and abrasive upon checking in. Almost like it was an inconvenience to go through the check in procedure. Once in our awful room, we opened the blinds to find a window that was completely covered in bird poo - so bad that we couldn't actually see out the window. Next we find a dirty towel under the bed that was stuck together. I'll leave that one up to your imagination. You can guess by now that I would give this hotel a rating of zero out of 10. If lower than that could be given, let's go there.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice for short term atays

Posted Mar 29, 2015
Nice hotel and nice staff. It's in a busy part of town so it's a little loud, but not unbearable
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified travelerfrom BC

In the heart of Vancouver

Posted Mar 26, 2015
Pros: Location and price. Close to lots of good restaurants and entertainment.
This is an aging hotel in the rowdy part of town, but is good value for money if you pay a rate under eighty dollars. It is clean and we felt safe. There is a very loud nightclub in the basement, and if you are a light sleeper, you may want to avoid this hotel on the weekend. The rooms are small and have an old feel to them despite being spotlessly clean. It is actually quite a fun place to stay as some of the characters from the nightclub spill into the lobby. The hotel is close to everything downtown, including public transportation. The staff is friendly but their knowledge of Vancouver is limited.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom mazumdar

Pathetic stay at Howard Johnson at Vancouver

Posted Mar 21, 2015
Poor decor, pathetic and rude staff, no services at all, I called the front desk but I had to wait for 45 mins just to get few extra glasses. No parking facilities for the expensive paid rooms, they charged extra $19. I would definitely not recommend to anyone.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

MARCH 14 2015

Posted Mar 16, 2015
Pros: EVERYTHING
Cons: PARKING. IF THEY HAD MORE SLOTS AVALIABLE FOR THE HOTEL. HOWEVER THERE IS A PARKING GARAGE JUST A BLOCK AWAY WALKING DISTANTS SO NOT BAD.
Location: AWSOME LOCATION IN THE HEART OF EVERYTHING.
I'D DIFFINATLY STAY HERE AGAIN. GREAT LOCATION AND EVERYTHING IS NEAR. WE PARKED OUR RENTAL AND WALKED ALL OVER DOWNTOWN.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 24, 2015 by Lucia, Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous, Happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and will be back. Thank you for giving us 5 stars!!!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 16, 2015
The room so cold sometimes I can't sleep very well.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 24, 2015 by Lucia, Hotel Management
Dear anonymous, Thank you for your review. I'm sorry to hear your room was cold, I wish we knew, we could of help you to move to another room, or bring electric heater, that would warm up the room really fast. Thank you
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great place!

Posted Mar 9, 2015
Great hotel to stay at! Great location Great staff Clean Affordable Good parking Can walk to grandville island, english bay and all the other sites you want to!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 12, 2015 by Lucia, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you for your review and thank you for staying with us. We are happy to hear you had a great stay with us. Hope to welcome you back soon.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

No Parking??

Posted Mar 9, 2015
We arrived early by one hour to the hotel. Upon arrival we were told that there was no parking for us. The man behind the desk rudely suggested that we park at Pacific Center a short distance away. I understand that this wasn't far however for 2 people who do not know the city it was not a very helpful solution. Further, upon returning to the hotel at midnight we found many empty parking stalls. In the morning at approximately 6am when we woke up we counted 6 available stalls (our room was over-looking the parking lot so we were able to count them). When leaving to walk to retrieve our car before check out, I pointed this out to the same man who happened to be behind the desk, and was again met with a rude response of "yes, I know, I was here when you checked in yesterday, remember?" I found him to have a terrible attitude and to be very condescending. Perhaps in the future, it would be a better way conducting business to let your guests know prior to their arrival that there my not be ample parking available at there time of arrival, as we as I'm sure others did as well, found this to be very inconvenient, and his poor attitude and rude comments were not appreciated. Then lady working with him, however was very pleasant and helpful. I'm glad somebody was.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 12, 2015 by Lucia, Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous, Thank you for your review and thank you for staying with us. I'm sorry to hear that you found one of the desk clerks unhelpful, I will review your comments with him and make suggestions how to behave better. However, I'm confused about your comments, it clearly states on expedia website that " no onsite parking available". So we do have it there, for everybody to see and be prepared to have their vehicles parked in nearby parking lots, since we are unable to provide parking for all of our guests.Thank you