Ratings based on 348 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Portland, OR

Spacious, basic, convenient, good value for money

Posted Mar 14, 2015
Pros: Location, price, having a kitchen and living room in the suite, friendly staff.
Cons: It's not high-end luxury but it's fine as it is.
Location: Close to a great variety of cheap and fun eating places on Denham Street. On several bus routes around the city. An easy walk to downtown.
This is a previous apartment complex now converted to a hotel. It is basic but completely acceptable: our room was spacious - actually a suite with kitchen and living room - and everything was modern and clean. The location is quiet and very well located for exploring Vancouver - close to lots of cheap eating places and not far to walk to downtown. The area also seemed safe and was not threatening walking home in the evening. This is not a flashy boutique hotel so don't go expecting that - but for convenience of location and having some kitchen facilities, it is highly recommended. It's also only a few minutes walk to the waterfront.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

English Bay Treat

Posted Jan 30, 2015
One block from the ocean in English Bay. Older building but recently painted and new windows. Sam at the front desk is amazing and makes you feel at home there. His motto is 'come as a guest, leave as a friend'. Travelling alone I want to feel safe and comfortable. Both the hotel and location offer this. No frills but who needs it..the ocean is a block away.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom calgary

It wasn't a comfortable stay

Posted Jan 17, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: Service and Cleansiness
Location: many things
The bathroom and the kitchen were not cleaned. The staff was more interested in talking on the cell phone than serving guests.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified travelerfrom British Columbia

My stay at Oceanside

Posted Dec 21, 2014
Pros: Desk clerks were very friendly and helpful.
Cons: An elevator for the elderly.
Location: Far from major shopping malls, hospitals. There are a lot of resturants and a small shopping mall within walking distance.
I was totally exhausted by the time I left. Had to rise very early to get to appointments by cab. Coffee in rooms would be nice especially for the elderly. A lot of stairs to climb as I was on 2nd floor. I was moved to 1st floor later on. All in all my experience was satisfactory.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom thibault

Excellent location beside the beach and park .

Posted Dec 19, 2014
I realy enjoy my stay at this lovely hotel nice and quiet place ! I will come back again :)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Karenfrom Miami, Arizona

Our favorite in Vancouver

Posted Dec 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
This is our second stay at the Ocean Side, and won't be our last. Simple apartment style room is a comfortable retreat after a day of sight seeing or shopping. Everything you need and many great things to do are within walking distance. This is a no frills hotel, but well worth the price to stay so close to Stanley Park and the Denman Street neighborhhod. Nice people, too.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by davidfrom Kelowna

Home away from home

Posted Dec 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
Would highly recommend this place for those not seeking high end comfort. Like a home away from home.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Vancouver

Clean and spacious

Posted Dec 10, 2014
Pros: Big rooms
Cons: Update the bedding
Location: Was a good place for a night with access to food, beach and bar in minutes.
Was a good place for a night with access to food, beach and bar in minutes.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Cozy West end Hotel

Posted Dec 7, 2014
Pros: The location is perfect.
Location: Stanley Park and English Bay are seconds outside the door. There is amazing food on Denman street.
This is a converted apartment building with good sized suites and full kitchens. It is in a fantastic location. It is not a five star hotel but has no pretensions to be so. Great value for money and you can walk to English Bay and Stanley Park.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ticked off

Posted Dec 6, 2014
Pros: Nothing!
Cons: Try sending someone to take a look at this 4 star hotel that is equal to other 4 star hotels. This is a joke!
Expedia had this hotel rated at 4.2 stars. It would be a stretch for it to get 2.2 stars. The person at the desk was friendly but that does not change the fact that the carpets were filthy, the walls were dirty and it was a hotel out of the fifties. The room was 80 degrees with the heat turned off. When my husband went downstairs to see what to do he was told to open a window and turn on the fan. What? At a 4 plus star hotel. I think not! We were very disappointed and I will be having a conversation with Expedia. It they do not do something about this I will NEVER use them again.