Ratings based on 1,162 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Melbournen Florida

Great hotel. Staff very attentive.

Posted Jun 2, 2015
Great hotel. Hotel staff were very attentive and helpful. Shuttle to airport prompt and driver very courteous.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Houston, TX

Nice room with wasted space

Posted Jun 1, 2015
Pros: Location near the airport, clean, reasonable price.
Cons: Add light to the bathroom. Get a lounge chair that fits normal people.
Location: Near the airport and in the midst of China town.
It was a large room with much wasted space. The bed was comfortable, a sleep-number mattress, but the lounge chair was suitable only for an NBA star. The bathroom was dim and impossible to use for makeup.
4 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom PHiladelphia

Decent hotel near the airport.

Posted May 29, 2015
We chose this hotel for its proximity to the airport. The surrounding area is not so great but we enjoyed the bar/restaurant and the swimming pool. Everyone was very nice. There is also parking right in front of the hotel which made for an easy get away to the airport early in the morning. I noticed there were also airport vans available.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 2, 2015 by Garrett, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your comments and we are happy you enjoyed your stay. We hope you had a good flight and look forward to being able to welcome you back on a future visit to the area. Sincerely, Garrett Ralston Front Office Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Stay was ok.

Posted May 28, 2015
The room was ok. Little outdated. Carpets were old and so was furniture. The Beds were comphy and room was clean. Parking lot is SMALL! They put us in the parkade next to the hotel which was along way to walk with a lot of luggage. The elevator was locked out after 11 so if you get in late from a flight etc, you have to walk down two flights of stairs to walk over a over pass to get to the hotel. Very inconvenient! The staff are nice and they have a shuttle.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 29, 2015 by Garrett, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your experience. While you are correct, the parking lot directly in front of the hotel is small, we have a lot of parking available in the Plaza Parkade next to the hotel. We do recommend for guests with lots of luggage, to bring it in the Front Doors and then park their vehicle. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to be able to welcome you back on a future trip. Garrett Ralston Front Office Manager
4 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom jackson, ms

Nice hotel but did not like the area

Posted May 26, 2015
This hotel was very nice and the staff was friendly and helpful. However, the hotel is in an area where all signs are in Chinese and the food, including hotel food, catered to that specific demographic. If you do not care for authentic food from China, this is not the place for you.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 28, 2015 by Garrett, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your experience. You are correct, we are in the Golden Village of Richmond which has some of the best Asian cuisine outside of Hong Kong. There are many restaurants in the area that are a North American style, including our very own Fresh Restaurant which serves West Coast cuisine. Thank you for staying with us and your 4 star review! Sincerly, Garrett Ralston Front Office Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Seattle, WA

Close to Aberdeen Mall, Skytrain, and Night Market

Posted May 26, 2015
Pros: Close to Aberdeen, Skytrain, and Night Market.
Cons: More parking... it's free but there's only about 20 spots up front for the entire hotel.
Location: Close to Aberdeen, Skytrain, and Night Market
Staff were nice. Didn't like the $15 extra guest fee charged when I specifically booked a one bedroom with living room (more expensive than the normal studio room) for three guests. I wish I would have been notified on this fee before being charged. Just a few dollars but I would have appreciated a notification. Maybe I would have just gone with a regular studio room. Overall, I'll book this hotel again for summer weekend trips.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 28, 2015 by Garrett, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your comments and we are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay. All rates are based on double occupancy, when additional people are added, there is an additional charge. Normally this is included when reserving the room, unless of course there was a change on arrival. Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip. Sincerely, Garrett Ralston Front Office Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Ca

Four days getaway

Posted May 26, 2015
Love the place and stuff were very friendly. I love the location it was close to most of super markets if I needed to buy some snacks I could've walk any direction to any market. This place was not far from granvile island, downtown and very close to airport.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 28, 2015 by Garrett, Hotel Management
Thank you for your 5 star review! Great to read you enjoyed our location and friendly staff. Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back on a future getaway. Sincerely, Garrett Ralston Front Office Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom AB

Great locations but everything else sucks

Posted May 26, 2015
The staff was not friendly enough. There was a huge platform outside my window, which anyone could use it to get into my room. Only 1/4 roll of toilet paper was left when I moved in. The location was excellent. Right besides the skytrain station. Aberdeen Centre is right in front of it. A lot to eat but not so many things to do near by.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 28, 2015 by Garrett, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your experience and please accept our apologies. The comments about the staff are not something we read a lot from our guests. Our guest rooms start on the 3rd floor of the hotel and the windows in the hotel only open a small amount for safety and security. We believe the 'platform' is part of the roof structure on the lower floors you may be referring to. You are correct, the Aberdeen Shopping Centre is across the street from the hotel as well as the Aberdeen Canada Line Station is across the street and a few minutes walk. We hope you took the time to speak with our staff to see if we could find a different location in the hotel that would have been preferred or to resolve any issues in your guest room that may have been missed. Sincerely, Garrett Ralston Front Office Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very Nice

Posted May 25, 2015
Everyone was very helpful. Hotel was very well kept, very clean and comfortable.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 28, 2015 by Garrett, Hotel Management
Thank you for your 5 star review! Great to read you enjoyed your stay. Sincerely, Garrett Ralston Front Office Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 21, 2015
Bed was terrible. Needs to be changed. I feel it is not bad overall but the bed was not comfortable. So I had to short lived my stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 26, 2015 by Garrett, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback and we are sorry to learn you did not have a comfortable rest. We hope you took the time to discuss this with our team so that we could do our best to ensure you had a good nights sleep. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to be able to welcome you back so that we may exceed your expectations. Sincerely, Garrett Ralston Front Office Manager