Ratings based on 1,366 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from M

Nice hotel after cruise

Posted Aug 26, 2014
After the cruise, it was nice to stay and rest on a non-moving bed
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from BC

Not recommended for families with small kids

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Pros: Location.
Cons: Service to harried mothers who are carrying heavy car seats through the lobby and being completely ignored by staff.
Location: Queen Elizabeth Theatre, BC Place, Rogers Arena, gorgeous Public Library, Robson Street, Art Gallery.
The location is excellent and the majority of the staff were friendly and helpful. I was happy to get access to my room at 2pm (ahead of the 4pm posted check-in time). Unfortunately, the process of getting my infant and 3-year-old from the parking garage to the hotel room was a drag. Upon checking in I was notified that they are having major issues with car break-ins in their parking garage. They assured me that this was the norm throughout Downtown Vancouver. Perhaps it is, but if you're booked to capacity, and having theft issues, perhaps you could spend a little money for your guests' comfort and hire a security guard or two for your lot during the high season? they sent me on my way without a baggage cart. My mom and I managed to load up all of our gear into my daughter's stroller (while I carried her), as well as all of the activities/books/toys/etc. I had planned to leave in the car. The elevator to the parking garage does not connect to the one to the rooms - you have to navigate a couple of corners to transfer from one to the other. Not easy with tons of kid stuff. Once we made it to the room I had to go back down to the garage and get my children's car seats too. Major pain as we had to do everything again, but in reverse, when it was time to leave. If you're a business traveler who's not doubling as a Sherpa, this hotel will work for you. Families can do better elsewhere.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Campbell River, B.C.

Great hotel with a breathtaking view!

Posted Aug 23, 2014
Hotel staff was excellent very friendly. Rooms were very clean and the view was way better than expected, could see the city, mountains and ocean. I would recommend to everyone!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Nashville, TN

very small sad tired looking room

Posted Aug 19, 2014
Heard that their nice restaurant is very good. The hallways and elevators seriously needed refurbishing. Too old and used to really keep clean. Also heard that their other hotel in Vancouver is nicer. Had "constant " fan for the air conditioner so the room was very quiet. Sheets were nice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice quiet room, clean but small

Posted Aug 17, 2014
Good check in fast and helpful, two desk clerks where very helpful one was less so and a little grumpy but the room was clean and quiet in a fantastic location. We would definitely stay again
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Victoria BC

Very average hotel for $200 / nite

Posted Aug 16, 2014
Pros: Close to Roger's Arena. Moxie's restaurant in the building.
Cons: Room upgrade. Fridge for sure.
Location: Close to downtown , shopping , restaurants , Roger's stadium
Small out dated room for 3 adults.. No fridge small screen TV. Room overlooked a parking lot.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from gatineau, quebec

Pleasant stay at the Sandman Vancouver.

Posted Aug 16, 2014
We enjoyed staying at the Sandman Vancouver as it was close to downtown. We walked to restaurants and various shops including the hop on hop off tour buses. The room was very nice but the air conditioning was not functioning well. Overall it was a pleasant stay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Northern Alberta

Heart of Downtown

Posted Aug 15, 2014
Pros: A few excellent points; 1. the front desk staff was very nice and accommodating as much as they were able to be, 2. Maintenance resolved our plumbing
Cons: Get digital cable as not everyone is a night club goer. Would have been nice to watch some of my regular tv shows. And fix that WiFi!!
Location: Check out the cactus club on the waterfront! Gorgeous!! Just walk around, millions of things to see and do.
The check in and check out went smoothly. Was disappointed with the plumbing after the shower water stayed in the tub over night but the staff was quick to resolve that issue. I didn't check out the night life downtown so the 'cable' was a disappointment; very much lack of channels (why don't you have digital cable?) Utmost disappointment was the wifi connection. The front desk clerk gave me a IT number to call about the connection but the number was automated, not a real person. Couldn't check out anything online because the internet connection always disconnected; forget about uploading movies or videos.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

ok hotel. close to arena

Posted Aug 11, 2014
Pros: Closeness to the venue we were attending
Cons: Definitely the air conditioning
Hotel was close to arena for the concert we were attending. Very HOT for sleeping as air condition was not working. That was disappointing...
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Coquitlam, BC

Room was filthy

Posted Aug 10, 2014
Pros: location to event venue
Cons: everything especially replacement of bedding/mattress covers, and a really good training session for housekeeping.
We stayed there on Aug. 2nd while we were in Vancouver for an event. The bed, bedding, tub, glasses were all filthy and when we returned to our room that evening, the side of the bed closest to the bathroom was soaking wet (appeared to be coming from the wall as our bathroom was dry); when we called downstairs, we were told no one was available to come up. There was one pillow and one towel per person. We finally got to sleep and woke up at 6 am and just waited for 7:30 am so we could check out immediately. We were supposed to stay in town for brunch with friends but just came home so we could have a shower in a clean bathroom. The hotel listened to our complaints on check out and covered our $20 parking - big deal - we paid $197.00 to stay in a filthy room the size of a closet.