Ratings based on 1,385 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Courtenay

Close to Rogers Arena.

Posted Sep 18, 2014
Pros: Close to Rogers Arena.
Cons: Upgrade the air conditioning. It seemed to be hot and stuffy everywhere but the lobby.
Unfortunatley this stay was not as good as our first stay in August. This time we got a smaller room that was hot and stuffy. We were told the air conditioning was working but the temperature never cooled down. The bathroom was incredibly cramped and you could barely shut the door.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bobcaygeon, Ontario

Charming Hotel

Posted Sep 16, 2014
Pros: The hotel was very clean and attractively furnished. The rooms & suites were large. Also the hotel is only 1 block from the waterfront.
Cons: The addition of air conditioning units could be beneficial. It can be quite noisy around the hotel and windows need to be open when it is hot.
Location: Close to the waterfront, the BC legislature buildings, the Empress Hotel, the museum. Chinatown is a few blocks away and is an easy walk.
This was our first visit to Victoria and we elected to stay at Royal Scot because relatives had made their reservations. We were extremely pleased with our choice. The room was spacious and well-appointed. The on-site restaurant had excellent food. The staff was friendly and extremely helpful. If we go back to Victoria, we will probably stay at Royal Scot again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel is in a good location and affordable

Posted Sep 8, 2014
Location of hotel was handy and close to what we needed. First room had broken air conditioning but we were quickly given a new room with working air conditioning. Overall good hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Saskatchewan

Close to everything we needed.

Posted Sep 7, 2014
Quick easy check in. Staff very friendly and helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Sandman hotel is the heart of Vancouver

Posted Sep 6, 2014
Kevin Elliot deserves all the recognition for this review. He was at the counter when we came to check in 4 hours early. He not only gave us our room early, but also upgraded us to a suite for our honeymoon. Exceptional customer service and all around great guy. Thanks so much Kevin. The Suite was fantastic and our visit to your beautiful city was so much fun. Thanks again, Scott and Stephanie
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oregon

Perfect for Soccer Fans

Posted Sep 1, 2014
Pros: Location, Cleanliness, Staff.
Location: BC Place for soccer fans plus you are near the waterfront which is a nice place to walk and relax. Lots of food and drink choices all around.
The Hotel is across the street from BC Place. It is convenient to many bars and restaurants. Nice location overall and we were treated very well by the staff.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Given a smaller room then we paid for.

Posted Sep 1, 2014
Our party booked two rooms, two people per room. We called a few days prior to let the hotel know we would be a late check-in. When we arrived at the hotel they gave us what was left, two small rooms with only one double bed in each. We have stayed here before and had a really good experience, and we like how we are right downtown in walking distance to everything however we will probably look into other options next time.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location, okay room

Posted Aug 31, 2014
Pros: The location was great and the staff were very accommodating.
Cons: Room size
Had we been staying longer than one night I would have requested a different room. The one we had was very small and had a bathroom that was so small it was difficult to get into. The location is great being 5 blocks from the centre of the downtown area, and the rooms were clean and the bed comfortable, but as I said, it was just too small.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from M

Nice hotel after cruise

Posted Aug 26, 2014
After the cruise, it was nice to stay and rest on a non-moving bed
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from BC

Not recommended for families with small kids

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Pros: Location.
Cons: Service to harried mothers who are carrying heavy car seats through the lobby and being completely ignored by staff.
Location: Queen Elizabeth Theatre, BC Place, Rogers Arena, gorgeous Public Library, Robson Street, Art Gallery.
The location is excellent and the majority of the staff were friendly and helpful. I was happy to get access to my room at 2pm (ahead of the 4pm posted check-in time). Unfortunately, the process of getting my infant and 3-year-old from the parking garage to the hotel room was a drag. Upon checking in I was notified that they are having major issues with car break-ins in their parking garage. They assured me that this was the norm throughout Downtown Vancouver. Perhaps it is, but if you're booked to capacity, and having theft issues, perhaps you could spend a little money for your guests' comfort and hire a security guard or two for your lot during the high season? they sent me on my way without a baggage cart. My mom and I managed to load up all of our gear into my daughter's stroller (while I carried her), as well as all of the activities/books/toys/etc. I had planned to leave in the car. The elevator to the parking garage does not connect to the one to the rooms - you have to navigate a couple of corners to transfer from one to the other. Not easy with tons of kid stuff. Once we made it to the room I had to go back down to the garage and get my children's car seats too. Major pain as we had to do everything again, but in reverse, when it was time to leave. If you're a business traveler who's not doubling as a Sherpa, this hotel will work for you. Families can do better elsewhere.