Ratings based on 1,416 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nanaimo

Close to everything

Posted Oct 20, 2014
Pros: It was easy walking distance to everything, Moxies is connected to it, the beds are incredibly comfortable, pool area is clean and good for kids.
Cons: The lighting in the bathroom needs to be improved, it is a bit dull in there over the mirror and makes it hard to do make-up etc.
Location: Good location. Shopping on Robson, Pacific Centre, BC place sports, Convention Centre
We usually stay around Burrard Street or in more upscale hotels but chose to stay here for the first time. We were surprised. This hotel provides great value for the price. The rooms are in great shape and have modern bedding and facilities.It was also the best sleep I've had in a hotel in Vancouver. Super comfy beds and pillows. The facilities are pretty good and I would definitely stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Nice hotel, close to everything!

Posted Oct 20, 2014
Pros: Really close to everything, short walk to the everything you could want!, there's a great bar and restaurant downstairs.
Location: There's plenty of bars and other things nearby, hockey just down the road, bus to capilano suspension bridge and grouse mountain
We stayed here for a week after we did a tour, it was close to everything! the staff were friendly and very helpful
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from hits Canada

Good hotel for the money...

Posted Oct 17, 2014
Pros: Great location. I really liked the restaurant/bar atmosphere at the hotel, it felt as it were it's own establishment.
Cons: The decor and such is outdated in common areas and in the rooms. It was clean however.
Location: Can't really beat the location. Within short walking distance to the sporting arenas, but also restaurants, drinking spots and shopping on Robson St.
My experience at Sandman started on the right foot. The front desk agent was pleasant and gave me a nice room after inquiring if there was a good vantage point to be placed in the hotel. I've found that if you book with expedia (as opposed to booking through the hotel directly), they are less likely to reward you with a better room or location. Overall I thought it was a good hotel for the money. Great location, on site restaurants and bar.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Noank, CT

Great location.

Posted Oct 17, 2014
Walking distance to Robson shops, hockey stadium, Yaletown, and Gaslamp. Caddy corner to the Queen Elizabeth Theatre. Go to the Christmas market if you're there in late November or December. The exterior could use a power washing but inside all is nice. Could not ask for a better mid priced hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Hotel close to Business, shopping & dining

Posted Oct 17, 2014
Pros: Clean, secure, great location
Have stayed at Sandman downtown several times, never disappointed. Friendly helpful staff
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 15, 2014
Good experience. Hotel close to lots of great amenities downtown. It was strongly advised that I choose to park in the secure underground at $20 per night as there was a high incidence of break-ins on street.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from calgary

Great hotel

Posted Oct 14, 2014
Enjoyed our stay at the sandman . Beds were super comfortable ! Close to BC place . Would stay again !
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Campbell River

football game trip

Posted Oct 14, 2014
Pros: location
Cons: parking and elevators
Location: great location.
check in was excellent, parking fee was too high. staff were courteous. Elevators were a bit slow and it was not clear if you had to use your room card to make the elevator work. check out was fast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from whistler

Good hotel just missing on a few things

Posted Oct 12, 2014
Pros: Location, nice beds, always cleaned well
Cons: In room safe Friendliness of staff.
Location: Hop on hop off bus stops outside hotel. Rogers arena is 5 min walk away. 5-10 min walk to granville st and shopping
Had 3 nights in the hotel. We had been upgraded to a rom with 2 queen beds (would not have liked to see how small the room we had been assigned was) which was ok, not as big as other rooms I've stayed in. But we did have a corner room that had lots of windows and great views all around. We turned up early and were able to check in which was great, also the guy on the desk recommended an activity for the evening (ice hockey game that they had tickets for which we did and saved us trying to find tickets). Location was good, 5-10 min walk to the shops and a hop on/hop off bus stop right outside the hotel. Bathroom design was weird and was very small. Also no in room safe. There was a desk in the room but you couldn't use it as the tv was sitting on it, should mount the tv on the wall then you would have space for actually using the desk. Reason for low staff review was that apart from the initial check in we found the staff to not be very friendly, they just talked to each other and never looked up or greeted you as you walked by the from desk to the elevator, and also due to the recommendation for a Chinese food restaurant from a guy at front desk who said it was the best in town and turned out to the the worst Chinese food we have ever eaten (wouldn't hold this against the hotel but we had to walk past other Chinese restaurants to get to the one he recommended so it wasn't as if this was the only restaurant available)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good overall....

Posted Oct 6, 2014
Was what I expected. Clean, needs some work, but overall good.