Ratings based on 1,358 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Nashville, TN

very small sad tired looking room

Posted Aug 19, 2014
Heard that their nice restaurant is very good. The hallways and elevators seriously needed refurbishing. Too old and used to really keep clean. Also heard that their other hotel in Vancouver is nicer. Had "constant " fan for the air conditioner so the room was very quiet. Sheets were nice.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Victoria BC

Very average hotel for $200 / nite

Posted Aug 16, 2014
Pros: Close to Roger's Arena. Moxie's restaurant in the building.
Cons: Room upgrade. Fridge for sure.
Location: Close to downtown , shopping , restaurants , Roger's stadium
Small out dated room for 3 adults.. No fridge small screen TV. Room overlooked a parking lot.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from gatineau, quebec

Pleasant stay at the Sandman Vancouver.

Posted Aug 16, 2014
We enjoyed staying at the Sandman Vancouver as it was close to downtown. We walked to restaurants and various shops including the hop on hop off tour buses. The room was very nice but the air conditioning was not functioning well. Overall it was a pleasant stay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Northern Alberta

Heart of Downtown

Posted Aug 15, 2014
Pros: A few excellent points; 1. the front desk staff was very nice and accommodating as much as they were able to be, 2. Maintenance resolved our plumbing
Cons: Get digital cable as not everyone is a night club goer. Would have been nice to watch some of my regular tv shows. And fix that WiFi!!
Location: Check out the cactus club on the waterfront! Gorgeous!! Just walk around, millions of things to see and do.
The check in and check out went smoothly. Was disappointed with the plumbing after the shower water stayed in the tub over night but the staff was quick to resolve that issue. I didn't check out the night life downtown so the 'cable' was a disappointment; very much lack of channels (why don't you have digital cable?) Utmost disappointment was the wifi connection. The front desk clerk gave me a IT number to call about the connection but the number was automated, not a real person. Couldn't check out anything online because the internet connection always disconnected; forget about uploading movies or videos.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

ok hotel. close to arena

Posted Aug 11, 2014
Pros: Closeness to the venue we were attending
Cons: Definitely the air conditioning
Hotel was close to arena for the concert we were attending. Very HOT for sleeping as air condition was not working. That was disappointing...
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Coquitlam, BC

Room was filthy

Posted Aug 10, 2014
Pros: location to event venue
Cons: everything especially replacement of bedding/mattress covers, and a really good training session for housekeeping.
We stayed there on Aug. 2nd while we were in Vancouver for an event. The bed, bedding, tub, glasses were all filthy and when we returned to our room that evening, the side of the bed closest to the bathroom was soaking wet (appeared to be coming from the wall as our bathroom was dry); when we called downstairs, we were told no one was available to come up. There was one pillow and one towel per person. We finally got to sleep and woke up at 6 am and just waited for 7:30 am so we could check out immediately. We were supposed to stay in town for brunch with friends but just came home so we could have a shower in a clean bathroom. The hotel listened to our complaints on check out and covered our $20 parking - big deal - we paid $197.00 to stay in a filthy room the size of a closet.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Sandman Letdown

Posted Aug 10, 2014
Pros: The location to where we needed to be was about it.
Cons: Nicer and more helpful staff !
Staff was not very polite and definitely unhelpful!! They failed to tell us about the $21 parking fee until check-out time. We will never go back !
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Old hotel, needs updating

Posted Aug 10, 2014
Room could have been cleaner, and very seemed very old,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Courtenay BC

Great hotel close to Rogers Arena and BC Place

Posted Aug 10, 2014
Pros: It was very clean and close to Rogers Arena.
Cons: More check in stations at the hotel.
Location: Very close walking distance to Rogers Arena , BC Place and the Queen E Theatre.
It was the perfect location for us to get to a concert at Rogers Arena. They have restaurants in the Hotel and nearby so that was convenient too. The only downside to the whole experience was the long check in line. The staff was doing the best they could with all hands on deck but I'm not sure why the line was so long, at times it was out the building and down the sidewalk. All the staff we interacted with were very pleasant and professional. We're staying at this hotel again in September for another concert.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, close to Rogers Arena

Posted Aug 10, 2014
Great food and drinks, close to Rogers Arena and B.C. Place for concerts or games. Air conditioned!! :) Easy for those travelling by foot on the ferry as it's at the end of the bus route. Short cab ride to Granville Island....no complaints!