Ratings based on 673 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice hotel

Posted Oct 19, 2014
Pros: no long distance jontz to elevator
Cons: repair sauna, put fridges and microwaves in all rooms
all rooms just meters away from elevator the way it is set up in the Columbia tower pool/waterslide and hot tub were great, sauna was dirty and only worked 1 out od 3 days we were there room was cleaned but they didn't refill our coffee, cups, or soaps
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cardiff, Wales

Convenient for airport

Posted Oct 17, 2014
Pros: Quiet room and nice staff
Cons: Signage to the hotel could be improved. I drove to other Sandman hotel first.
Location: Handy to airport with free shuttle bus. Be sure to get voucher from desk.
Quiet comfortable room, convenient for airport with free shuttle bus every half hour. Desk staff were very helpful - they gave me shuttle voucher and arranged an early morning wake up call.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from British Columbia

clean hotel, convenient shuttle service to airport

Posted Oct 17, 2014
Pros: Nice clean room, friendly staff, awesome waterslide. The restaurant CHOP attached to the hotel was fancy and delicious
Location: Near the airport, about a 15 min drive away.
They have a complimentary shuttle service to/from the airport which was very handy and it runs 24/7 which was really nice for us because we needed to be at the airport extremely early. We also needed somewhere to leave our vehicle for the weekend (while we were no longer staying at the hotel)and they let us leave it there for a very affordable rate of approx $7 a day. One of the reasons we booked this hotel was because of the parking, other places didn't have parking we could leave our vehicle in, or they just wouldn't allow us to.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Calgary, AB

Close to airport and beach

Posted Oct 12, 2014
Pros: The restaurants attached, The Chop and Denny's
Cons: Cleanliness of the bathroom/room
Location: Great location close to airport, beach, downtown, Stanley Park, Capilano Bridge, Grouse Mountain-all within a half hour drive at most.
We had stayed at the Signature Sandman a few times in 2010 and 2011 and had always been very satisfied with our room but 3 years later were disappointed with our room. When we arrived around 6p we noticed immediately that the bathroom smelled like urine and the carpets smelled like dirty feet. We did voice our opinion the next day at 8a and we told them we would not be back until 2pm and we didn't need to change rooms but wanted to be sure they could clean it more carefully. The front desk assured us it would be done before we were back and apologized. We got back a half hour earlier and the room was not even made up. Shortly after 2p someone did show up at the door asking if we were satisfied with our room but we said no one had been in. We were leaving in 15 mins so we told them they could look after it and we would return in an hour. When we returned a couple hours later, the bathroom was properly cleaned. They did leave a plate with a green apple, orange and handful of grapes on the desk-obviously for the inconvenience. Was disappointed this time around and because we were there on a weekend, we had a room located close to the Shark Club which was also very noisy.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Very Pleasant Hotel

Posted Oct 9, 2014
Pros: Modern, clean and comfortable.
Cons: Cannot think of any.
Location: Good location with good restaurants and major shopping areas all within short driving distance.
I had great expectation for this resort hotel and was not disappointed. It had most of the amenities a traveler/vacationer would want: bar/restaurant on site, well equipped workout gym, clean large swimming pool (even a water slide),sauna, concierge desk. Staff was courteous and helpful. The room was well appointed, clean and comfortable. Hotel location was fairly easy to get to by car. It was situated at outskirt of major urban area but was quiet and safe.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from vancouver island

Beat up and awkward.

Posted Oct 8, 2014
Have to go through a maze of hallways and double doors with your luggage through very hot hallways to find the rooms. Rooms are also hot and A/C isn't enough to cool them even overnight. Hallways, doors and carpets are stained, bruised and run down. Not a pleasant stay for me this time. That said, bed was comfortable and the amenities, like in room coffee, were good.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 28, 2014
our first day was not welcoming as the air conditioner was non-functional. They did move us to another room with a newer functioning air condition. Over all appearance of the facility looks old and need remodeling, better if the carpet are changed to wood flooring or new capet
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from BC

Do not stay in room 261 or adjacent rooms!!!!!

Posted Sep 28, 2014
Pros: Was close to the airport.
Cons: Wait till after 11:00 pm to book people into the problem rooms
Soon after we arrived noticed a lot of banging, thought there was some construction, we phoned around 7:00 pm and told it was a gym attached to the hotel which was causing the noise and would quite down after 8:00. I phoned again around 8:30 and was told the gym would close around 10:00pm and their computer system was down so we could not change rooms till it came up, asked them to call us back when ready, they didn't. I phoned again after 10:00 as still noisy but should be quiet soon, I asked what time it was open till and was 11:00 closing time, I then demanded a different room and was quickly moved to another section of the hotel. The picture shown is of a hi rise hotel, we were also put in. The older section with only two floors we were in room 261, likely any of the rooms in the section between 261 and 269 are subject to the noisy gym.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to Airport

Posted Sep 27, 2014
The room was fine,the resteraunt Chops was very good.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle, Washington

Looks good on the outside but needs upkeep

Posted Sep 22, 2014
Pros: Staff was friendly and efficient in dealing with our concerns. The location was great for our activities and the price was reasonable.
Cons: Work on the maintenance of the rooms.
Upon arrival told they didn't have the room we paid for so they upgraded us. Great! Soon learned not so good...room safe was broken but the bigger issue is the constant drip from the air vent directly over the bathroom sink. So they gratiously moved us to another room down the hall. That night the air vent in that room also broken and leaked all over the extra bed and literally had the ceiling paint flaking off the ceiling. That morning while showering the bath drain backed up to our ankle level. Not pleasant. So I tried to call the front desk to report the issues. Nope, the phone doesn't work. I went back to the front desk, now for the 3rd time in 2 days and they offered to upgrade us to the Penthouse suite and refund 50% of our night stay. When we got our stuff moved, we then found out the refrigerator in the PH suite didn't work. Luckily it had a second small unit that did work for our few items. I will say they quickly and effeciently responded to all of our concerns but the more troubling issue is how much basic stuff was in disrepair. Seems like they might want to invest in more maintenance men.