Ratings based on 786 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from pitt meadows

great location

Posted Jul 30, 2015
Loved the location and enjoyed the hotel, clean rooms, just old school, no fridge in room?? :( A little on the shabby side in some areas, hall ways, walls and baseboards could use a bit of attention - but I would go back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

No air circulation in rooms

Posted Jul 29, 2015
Pros: quaint
Cons: screens on windows or a/c
Nice location but no a/c in the rooms and no screens on the windows made it difficult to cool down the room during the unseasonably hot weather
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Worcester UK

Lovely setting close to Stanley Park

Posted Jul 28, 2015
Pros: Location, excellent bar and dining room.
Cons: Air conditioning would be nice in very hot weather.
Location: This location is preferable to downtown Vancouver because of the excellent location close to the beach and Stanley Park.
I have stayed at this hotel on 3 occasions and always found the staff to be very helpful. Useful underground car park.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New orleans

Fabulous customer service

Posted Jul 26, 2015
Pros: Close to Stanley Park, great food options on adjourning streets, fun cocktail lounge and really helpful accommodating and pleasant staff
Cons: Elevator is really slow, carpets in the guest rooms hall need replacing.
The Sylvia is a perfect pace, sort of a fifties vibe, great location and really helpful staff
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Great Location

Posted Jul 7, 2015
Great location and friendly helpful staff. Rooms are old with stained carpets and thin walls so it can be noisy depending on who is in the room next to you. Their Wi-Fi was not working for our 6 day stay on Level 2. There is also no air conditioning but they do give you quite a powerful fan to use.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lancashiire England

Cosy hotel close to lake

Posted Jul 5, 2015
Pros: The position
Cons: Maybe the bar menu
Location: Panoramic views. Good transport adjacent. Lovely walks by the lake easy access to Stanley Park
Very pleased, super location . We had a good room quiet and airy ( there being no air conditioning). Enjoyed breakfasts ,dining room overlooks lake, lovely. Staff very good.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Columbus, Oh

Great Location

Posted Jul 3, 2015
We stayed at the Sylvia for 2 nights this past week. The hotel is quite old and holds onto that charm in many areas (lobby, atmosphere) but some aspects could use updating (bathrooms, elevators, room doors). Our stay was uneventful, the staff was very friendly and the room was clean. There was noise from the streets each night as there is no air-conditioning we kept the windows open (it was unseasonably hot for June). It was literally steps from English Bay Beach and Stanley Park, making city exploration phenomenal. For the overall price and location it was a good stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kalispell, MT

Historic hotel

Posted Jun 30, 2015
Pros: everything
Cons: shower head
Wonderful, friendly staff. Loved the large size of the room, large windows, roominess, updated without losing the quaint features of the era. Located on the waterfront, beach, walking path. Shuttle bus stop to the downtown located across the street. We'd definitely stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Nice well-located older hotel.

Posted Jun 29, 2015
Pros: Comfortable. Great location. good staff.
Cons: Window had to be propped up to stay open (and it was hot outside).
Location: English Bay beach is just in front of the hotel. Nice sunsets. Great restaurants nearby as is Stanley Park.
Very good location near Stanley Park, within walking distance of many restaurants. Helpful staff. Older facility.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very disappointing.

Posted Jun 29, 2015
Pros: Only location.
Cons: Hotel should be renovated for the 2015 standards. Cleaning, carpet smell, etc
Location: In front of the beach, close to downtown and Stanley park
And old building (historical ??) who was not renovated from at least 20 years. We changed 3 rooms – very smalls, with a persistent smell, no air conditional, no fridge ( they bring a mobile one), not so clean, everything was patched. I think city of Vancouver should review the authorization. It is an anchronycal hotel in the middle of an ultra modern location