Ratings based on 665 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Woodinville, WA

Lovely hotel with a very friendly staff!

Posted Feb 24, 2015
Pros: So friendly and helpful. Charming hotel.
Location: We were in BC to visit the nearby UBC campus. We also went to Canada Place and visited FlyOver Canada! So much to see and do in the beautiful city!
We had a great visit to Vancouver and the hotel was delightful. Our room had a separate little room for my teen which was awesome. Everyone was friendly and made us feel right at home. We even bought a copy of the children's book based on the hotel. I even accidentally left some computer charging cords and it was no problem to have them send them back! Outstanding experience- we will be back!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Centrally located

Posted Feb 24, 2015
Stayed for one night. Excellent central location. Down by the beach in English Bay. Everything in walking distance. The room was fine.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 22, 2015
Location could not be better - close to the beach, many restaurants and shops. Hotel restaurant is good as well. Staff is very friendly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Winnipeg

Great view

Posted Feb 19, 2015
Pros: Everything
Cons: Can't think of anything
Location: West End location - lots of restaurants, bars, services. Beach across the street. Walking distance to Stanley Park.
The view from my room of English Bay was wonderful. It was such a treat. Hotel staff, dining facilities and location are all great.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Location was the only good thing about this place.

Posted Feb 16, 2015
The lobby smelled of urine. They charge $18 a night for parking in their stalls. Thats ridiculous, hotel patrons who are sleeping there should not have to pay for parking. The restaurant was way over priced for what you got. Over all not impressed at all.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Victoria BC

Great place to stay

Posted Feb 7, 2015
Great staff. Pleasant surroundings. Close to downtown. Excellent bus service.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice old hotel across the street from the water.

Posted Feb 3, 2015
The Sylvia Hotel is a nice, old hotel. The staff was very friendly. Location was great. Right across the street from the water and walking distance to restaurants and shopping. The restaurant was nice. You could see the water from any table. Only complaint is that the hotel is very cold. Great when you are sleeping, but not so great otherwise.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Old hotel

Posted Jan 18, 2015
Pros: The night porter, we left at 3.45 am to get a flght, was above and beyond his duty. He should open a staff training school
Cons: Its old, rooms are small, nothing
Restaurant really good, food good, service excellent, lounge really slow.Took 15 minutes to get a drink, spoke to three waiters, one delivered, the last one.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Calgary AB

Great location, pleasant staff, room was a bit sma

Posted Jan 7, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: ?
Location: Central to bussinesses and beach. Cant beat the location, anywhere
2 day stay at the hotel, service was great, friendly, food was good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 4, 2015
Great location, English bay is beautiful, close to Stanley park which has great scenery with great walking trails.