Ratings based on 773 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lancashiire England

Cosy hotel close to lake

Posted Jul 5, 2015
Pros: The position
Cons: Maybe the bar menu
Location: Panoramic views. Good transport adjacent. Lovely walks by the lake easy access to Stanley Park
Very pleased, super location . We had a good room quiet and airy ( there being no air conditioning). Enjoyed breakfasts ,dining room overlooks lake, lovely. Staff very good.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Columbus, Oh

Great Location

Posted Jul 3, 2015
We stayed at the Sylvia for 2 nights this past week. The hotel is quite old and holds onto that charm in many areas (lobby, atmosphere) but some aspects could use updating (bathrooms, elevators, room doors). Our stay was uneventful, the staff was very friendly and the room was clean. There was noise from the streets each night as there is no air-conditioning we kept the windows open (it was unseasonably hot for June). It was literally steps from English Bay Beach and Stanley Park, making city exploration phenomenal. For the overall price and location it was a good stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kalispell, MT

Historic hotel

Posted Jun 30, 2015
Pros: everything
Cons: shower head
Wonderful, friendly staff. Loved the large size of the room, large windows, roominess, updated without losing the quaint features of the era. Located on the waterfront, beach, walking path. Shuttle bus stop to the downtown located across the street. We'd definitely stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Nice well-located older hotel.

Posted Jun 29, 2015
Pros: Comfortable. Great location. good staff.
Cons: Window had to be propped up to stay open (and it was hot outside).
Location: English Bay beach is just in front of the hotel. Nice sunsets. Great restaurants nearby as is Stanley Park.
Very good location near Stanley Park, within walking distance of many restaurants. Helpful staff. Older facility.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very disappointing.

Posted Jun 29, 2015
Pros: Only location.
Cons: Hotel should be renovated for the 2015 standards. Cleaning, carpet smell, etc
Location: In front of the beach, close to downtown and Stanley park
And old building (historical ??) who was not renovated from at least 20 years. We changed 3 rooms – very smalls, with a persistent smell, no air conditional, no fridge ( they bring a mobile one), not so clean, everything was patched. I think city of Vancouver should review the authorization. It is an anchronycal hotel in the middle of an ultra modern location
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nelson, BC

We LOVE this hotel !!!

Posted Jun 28, 2015
Pros: The staff are AWESOME ! The location can't be beat.
Location: Stanley Park, English Bay, Denman, Robson, and Davie Streets are all within walking distance. Walk or rent bikes and spend the day exploring.
We arrived super late (i.e. 2AM) and were greeted by some of the nicest, friendliest hotel staff we've ever met (Mr. Marvin and Mr. Ron). This hotel is over 100 years old so it shows some age in places but don't let that sway you from staying here. This hotel has total character. AND, you can't beat the location. It's RIGHT on English Bay. Denman and Davie Sts are a mere block away. Downtown is only a 15 minute walk. This is easily our favourite hotel in Vancouver. It's totally unique and the best place in town.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Great location!

Posted Jun 26, 2015
Location: Right on English Bay. Short stroll to Stanley Park. Good restaurants nearby. Neaby ferry to huge markets was a bonus.
We chose this hotel on line. Very pleased. We arrived after midnight, delayed flight, but the staff looked after us fabulously well. Very grateful, when v v tired! The location is great, right on English Bay. Nice walk to Stanley Park. and ferry to huge market, just down the beach. Charming ambience of this heritage listed hotel appealed greatly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 25, 2015
Lover older hotels with character and this hotel was full of history and character
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Relaxing break in Vancouver

Posted Jun 25, 2015
The Sylvia is near the beach, Stanley Oark and lots of restaurants. The rooms are large and comfortable. It was a great choice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Nice hotel close to beach

Posted Jun 23, 2015
Pros: The character of the building and the staff.
Cons: Although the state of the building (due to age) was reasonable to me, I think there could be additional effort made in renovations.
Location: The beach is just across the street. Gastown, Yaletown, and BC Place are all reasonably close as well.
The Sylvia is an older, renovated building so it's reasonable that it has some signs of age. The room was clean and comfortable and having a kitchen area was nice for a quick breakfast in the morning. All of the staff were incredibly friendly and helpful from the front desk, to the cleaining crew, and the restaurant staff. We had the same waitress 2 nights for dinner and she not only remembered us, but even the food we had ordered!