Ratings based on 825 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.2 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to park Royal and lions gate

Posted May 4, 2015
There was a space for a fridge but I was told not all rooms have them, there was three of us sharing and only two towels, I asked for more and 7 hours later had to ask again. Bathrooms need up dateing big time. Other than that it was good for what we needed.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Seattle

Nice location near Lion Gate.

Posted May 4, 2015
The location and price were the main reasons I choose this hotel. It's an outdated hotel but good enough to sleep and shower for one night. My non-smoking room did smell like cigarettes. Free parking and friendly staff. Free wifi.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom A

The odour in the room is like a broken sewer stink

Posted May 1, 2015
The price was good and location excellent. But compare to same price rooms, i was disappointed. Open the door and my nostril is just assaulted with a foul smell from the washroom. The toilet was leaking and by no means did we over flowed it. By morning, floors were flooded. Besides that, staff was good and wifi is free.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom BC

Nice place

Posted Apr 28, 2015
When I was booking this hotel I read the reviews and was disappointed, there are a lot of negative comments here and it made rethink if I actually want to stay at that place. But the price was reasonable and I love that location because it is so close to downtown and has an easy transport access - there's a bus stop 2 mins away from the hotel which is perfect if you spending a weekend in Vancouver without a car. And I'm happy I spent a night at this place! I was surprised in a very good way. The first thing - room was very clean and neat. No weird smell, bright room with lots of light. The TV was not a flat screen but had lots of channels to everybody's taste. Room had a microwave and a fridge which makes your stay more comfortable. The bed was a squeaky one, but you get used to it and don't notice the sounds at night. We stayed on the 1st floor and it was quiet. The thing I didn't like was the shower, it was a shower stall and the tile on the floor was black (moldy). Bring a pair of flip flops and you'll be fine. You probably would be fine without it as well, but it just gross for me to stand on that. I don't know if every room at this hotel looks like the one we stayed in, but the one we had was a very good choice for a night, and I would totally stay at that room again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom okanagan

Close to lions gate hospital

Posted Apr 19, 2015
Pros: Good rate.
Location: It's close to Stanley park, capilano canyon and other lower mainland attractions.
The desk clerk allowed me to check in early so I could take my husband to the hospital. The room was clean, quiet and safe.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Ontario

Good location Terrible hotel

Posted Apr 17, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: Tear it down and rebuild
Location: Very close to Grouse Mountain and the Capilano bridge. Also just a short drive into Stanley Park and then on to the city
You know you are in a bad place when they don't bother asking you how your stay was after 2 nights. Check in was alright. The room was cold and damp. The bathroom was even colder and needing major overhaul. The shower was a tiny area badly needing retiled and grouted.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Regina, Sask

Lions Gate Travellodge

Posted Apr 12, 2015
Pros: Easy access, price.
Cons: Beds need to be upgraded
Location: Stanley Park just across the bridge towards downtown Vancouver.
Close to good restaurents and easy access too and from the Horseshoe Bay ferry. Rooms are dated but functional. Beds are not comfortable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Alberta

Great little hotel!

Posted Apr 10, 2015
Close and convenient location to downtown North Van. Friendly and professional service. Older facilities, but clean and well maintained.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Z

Great rooms, great price!

Posted Apr 6, 2015
Super comfortable rooms, quiet at night, close to everything. Needs more parking stalls, but other than that we were happy and will stay again!
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Alberta, Canada

Relatively cheap

Posted Apr 5, 2015
Was passing through wanted something cheap and that's what we got. was noisy and got up in morning to shower and no hot water, went to talk to staff and they could barely speak English and didn't care because we were only there for 1 night