Ratings based on 477 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mascouche, Québec

Nice hotel downtown

Posted Sep 13, 2014
Cons: Needs air conditoned during summer. And be aware that if you have a room facing the back alley, you'll hear noise during night from the city garage...
Cozy room. Great staff. Spruced shared bathrooms. Awesome breakfast. Parking 2 blocks away at same price if hotel's parking is full. No elevator. Near everything in downtown!!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Victoria, BC

Nice Hotel

Posted Sep 13, 2014
Perfect spot in downtown Van. Near everything it was fantastic!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from kelowna,bc

Close to Rogers Arena

Posted Sep 12, 2014
Hotel staff was excellent. No air conditioning and a bit of street noise in the morning. Good location for Rogers Arena. They did a great renovation. Over experience was nice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edmonton

Cute place.

Posted Sep 1, 2014
Pros: Cleanliness, cozy atmosphere, fancy bathroom facilities, chic bedroom furniture, and friendly service.
Cons: Most things I think could be are improved have to do with the building being super old, but that could be its charm in itself.
Location: Close to downtown area, I didn't explore too much, but I'm sure there are lots more to find.
I had a con in the Vancouver Convention Centre, and was staying at the Marriott close for the first two nights, and then I decided I wanted to stay somewhere close for another night and chose the Victorian Hotel. I was a bit worried since it was my first time checking into a hotel by myself and also finding it too. Also, I am already freaked about walking around downtown where its not busy, but the area around the hotel was pretty safe for late afternoon. The building looks cute from the outside and on the inside, it does feel like a really old building despite the renovations. Its mostly apparent from the creaking floors and lack of elevator. Even so, the place feels pretty cozy and the room I got was pretty nice and clean. I actually asked for a single bed room when I booked, but for some reason was given a two bed room, and I didn't really care to correct them. Since there was no elevator, and guy came to bring my stuff up, which was nice. There was also free breakfast. While I wished that there were private bathrooms, I thought that the shared bathroom was really nice! Super clean, and brand new looking furnishings. I did like that there was at least a sink in the bedroom. My cousin stayed with me at the hotel and she thought it was fairly nice too. A funny thing happened though, in that she says she heard what sounded like a piano playing three notes repeatedly, and loud enough to have been right outside our door. But there was no piano, and we are still wondering..
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, ON

I would definitely return.

Posted Aug 31, 2014
Pros: Excellent service, beautiful décor and period features....very good pillows!
Cons: Poor channel selection on TV.
Location: Walking distance to Gastown, Vancouver Art Gallery, Robson St., hop-on, hop-off tour bus, Vancouver Lookout and all kinds of dining and drinking.
This hotel isn't for everyone, but I seek out unique, interesting accommodations, and the Victorian Hotel is right up my ally. I read the reviews prior to booking, so I was aware there was no A/C. The room was hot and stuffy when I arrived, but there was a good, standing fan in it....which is all I use at home...so I slept comfortably regardless. The noise in the ally I also read about could be a problem for some, but I always sleep with earplugs, so I didn't even notice it until I got up in the morning. Shared bathrooms are beautiful and spotless. The front desk staff were wonderful. Very friendly and helpful. And I loved the continental breakfast. Good, strong coffee! I also appreciated the free use of a public computer in the hallway on my floor (2nd).
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

good location

Posted Aug 28, 2014
Pros: Location is good, near to dock, train station, convenient transport. Staff are nice and helpful, called taxi for us and it came quickly.
Cons: paint it and change bed sheet.
Location: stylish library; Canada Place, Convention Centre, Steam Clock, Maple Tree Square, Take shuttle at Canada Place to Capilano Suspension Bridge Park.
We have chosen this hotel based on comment and experience shared on Expedia, we didn't have high expectation, but when we entered the room, still felt disappointed, clean but everything is very old. They have renovated new rooms upstairs with shared toilet. We choose to have room with our own shower and toilet, which is very old, not the style but carpet, bed sheet, closet.... It might suit young people with limited budget, but not for people at our age looking for comfortable, not luxury. Free breakfast, not many choice, but sufficient.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from boston

Noise from garbage trucks every morning

Posted Aug 16, 2014
Free wifi was great Convenient parking Delicious breakfast Dining area is small. Comfortable room
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Christchurch

A nice surprise!

Posted Aug 15, 2014
Pros: Old World charm.
Cons: Air conditioning.
High ceiling, luxurious bedding, towels and robes, pillows and bed very comfortable.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Not bad, good location

Posted Aug 14, 2014
Location is great, really great reataurant right next door. Room got pretty warm (it was early August), but there was a fan and that didn't really bother us. There was an unpleasant smell (seemed to come from outside). The building is beautiful, the common bathrooms were very nice. Breakfast was great. Overall we were pleased and would potentially return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Hotel Victoria, Vancouver BC

Posted Aug 11, 2014
Pros: Full of character, good location, good price.
Restored hotel, full of character. Very clean, although the bedroom was on the small size. The Bathroom (shared) was superb!