Ratings based on 17 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.2 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from USA

Good location, little overpriced

Posted Apr 12, 2015
Pros: Location, front desk staff
Cons: Food quality, restaurant cleanliness and staff. Better directions about where the restaurants are located.
Location: Steps from Assi Ghat. Boat ride on the Ganges and watching the Ganga Aarti in the evening from the boat.
Overall, an OK experience. The room was clean, but smallish, considering the price per night, and it is closed ,, no view, unless you count the opposite inside wall from a small window. The front desk staff was pretty helpful. The restaurants, one inside the hotel, and one on the rooftop, were not at all good .. looked dirty, food was just about OK and the staff was not that good. The best thing about the hotel is the location - it is steps away from Assi Ghat, which was extremely convenient for us. We just spent a night there, and the hotel arranged for a boat to take us to watch the Ganga Aarti in the evening .. was beautiful. Overall, would recommend the hotel only for location.. everything else was average.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from 茨城県、日本

アッシガートの神秘的な朝にアクセスしやすいホテル

Posted Mar 3, 2015
Pros: 24時間フロントに誰かいるので、問題があれば対応してくれます。夜中にボートでたくさんの蚊に刺されて参っていると、薬を買ってきてくれました。 外のレストランだと周囲の目が気になり、気まずいビールもここでは心おきなく楽しむことができます。
Cons: 屋上レストランのチキン料理。日本人の私には肉が硬すぎて飲み込むのに苦労しました。 ホテルの前にいるオートリクシャーや、ボートマン達はあり得ないような値段をふっかけてきます。ホテルが改善すべき点ではないかもしれませんが、周辺の環境が改善されるといいと思います(インドですから、無理ですね)
Location: アッシガートの朝のプージャ、ボートを使ってのガートめぐり、ヒンドゥーのお寺巡り等
アッシガートでは毎朝6:00からプージャが行われています。このホテルからガートまでの距離は1分もかからないくらい近いです。アッシガートの朝にお詣りしたい方におすすめです。ゴートゥーリヤまでもリクシャーで50ルピーも払えば喜んで行ってくれる距離です。何より、静かで良い所でした。 私は8泊しましたが、ホテルのスタッフ達のサービスがとても良かったです。タクシー、ランドリー、部屋掃除その他問題なくこなしてくれました。オートリクシャーの適正価格などもフロントで教えてくれるのでありがたかったです。 屋上のレストランのスパゲティーナポリタンが秀逸でした。冷たいキングフィッシャーも問題なく用意してくれます。
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Porto, Portugal

Posted Feb 11, 2015
Paid USD 140 for one night, when the hotel is FOR SURE not worth more than USD 40. Facilities not amazing, bed was terribly hard and the only window was facing a wall which was 40 cms away. Only positives are proximity to the Ganges river and flexibility to have a late check-out.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The best hotel I've ever stayed at

Posted Jan 15, 2015
The staff were so nice, it brought tears to my eyes. After a long day of traveling, the front desk clerk was so concerned that we didn't eat dinner, he asked the chef to make us a special dinner outside normal hours (the chef stayed late). They arranged a boat ride for us with a very good company that were honest and nice. They got us safe taxis. The room was always meticulous. Food was delicious and timely. Music was amazing. To wake up with the morning prayer ceremony songs coming through the windows was beautiful and nothing I will ever forget. People are posted in the halls to help with any question you may have, and people are always smiling and greeting you, asking if everything was ok several times during the stay. I also had a massage there in the spa which was excellent and so inexpensive. WIFI was reliable and strong. I cannot say enough about this place. If you are in Varanasi, you need to stay here.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by John from Canada

Great hotel - but staff unhelpful

Posted Jan 15, 2015 on Hotels
We had a great stay at Palace on Ganges. The hotel was beautiful, well appointed and very well maintained. The location at Assi Ghat was excellent, it was an easy 20-30 minute walk to the main ghat. The hotel restaurant was great - some of the best food we had in India. However, we had one very bad experience with the staff at the hotel. On the night before our departure we asked to arrange taxi to the airport for the following day at 2pm. Only when we asked this were we told that there was a large event (President Mobi was visiting Assi Ghat) that would mean all roads near the hotel and to the airport would be closed. As a result we had to leave at 7am. In the morning when we were leaving we were told it was a good thing we were leaving at 7am since the hotel doors were going to be locked for the duration of the day at 8am - AND THE FRONT DESK NEVER TOLD US THIS WAS GOING TO TAKE PLACE. We could easily have slept in and been locked in the hotel for the whole day and missed our flight since the staff never told us!
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Nagarajah from Toronto

Very Bad

Posted Dec 5, 2014 on Hotels
It was horrible, room is dusty, phone line was not working, very bad neibourhood, no skills
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Jeremiah

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 9, 2014 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by GERARDO from Queretaro, México

Varanasi, increible

Posted Nov 1, 2014 on Hotels
Muy bien ubicado y un gran servicio. Gran valor por el costo!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Martin from Aarhus, Denmark

Nice hotel just 50 meters from the Ganga

Posted Oct 9, 2014 on Hotels
The hotel was nice and clean very close to the Ganga. The small roof top restaurent was ok if you are not to picky. Do not expect anything from the breakfast that way you will not be too disappointed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Salzburg

Sehr gute Lage

Posted Sep 15, 2014
Die Lage des Hotels am Asi Ghat ist ausgezeichnet. Das Hotel ist per Taxi bzw. Tuk-tuk zu erreichen und eignet sich gut als Ausgangspunkt um die Ghats und die Altstadt zu Fuß zu erkunden. Die Zimmer sind sehr schön ausgestattet. Nur die Klimaanlage ist ungünstig eingebaut und störend laut. Obwohl bei der Buchung nicht optional buchbar haben wir problemlos ein Zimmer mit Aussicht auf den Ganges bekommen. Ein Negativpunkt ist jedoch das Personal an der Rezeption, das zum Teil kein Englisch spricht. Entgegen den Angaben in der Buchungsbestätigung ist WLAn nicht kostenlos.