Ratings based on 43 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel outside of the centre

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Pros: Pleasant staff and beautiful grounds at the hotel
Cons: more modern facilities in room.
Nice hotel with immaculate grounds and beautiful pool. Great food in the restaurant.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Centrally located quality hotel

Posted Jun 25, 2014
Pros: Food is amazing
We had a very good two day stay.Excellent indian restaurant with very caring well informed staff.Lovely pool & a decent compact gym. Hospitable team making sure you are well looked after in the spirit of Taj standards.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

The Only Place to Stay in Varanasi

Posted Jan 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
The Taj Gateway Ganges Hotel is the only place to stay in Varanasi as long as you have the budget for it. Having been to India several times, it was my first time visiting Varanasi and I found the people more unfriendly and intense than other places I had visited. The hotel was an oasis and an escape from the heavy energy of the city and made the city more bearable and the trip more enjoyable. The food buffets were excellent and it was the best I have ever eaten in India! Plus, the staff was incredible!!! The manager at the restaurant, Krish, always treated us nicely, was attentive to our best interests, and even gave us some yummy dessert suggestions. The gentleman who cleaned our room, Ajeet, was an artist and made amazing designs with the towels for us every night he cleaned up including an elephant that looked like Ganesh and a peacock, too. It was really quite spectacular and made us smile! The male massage therapist (whose name I don't recall) had intelligent hands and was very sweet...he even set up a time for us to practice asana in the massage space since we liked it so much, which was very kind of him. All in all, it was a great stay and the kind that you would expect from a hotel in the Taj lineage. HIGHLY recommended, especially for Westerners.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice central hotel, quiet

Posted Jan 8, 2014
This hotel is an oasis in a otherwise noisy and bustling city. The rooms are dated and could use some updating. The pool area is pleasant and there is a fine 24 hr restaurant called GAD off the lobby that serves some decent food. The check in/check out process took far too long.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by jackiebeat from Lichfield

Peaceful haven in the madness that is Varanasi

Posted Dec 12, 2013 on Hotels.com
Overall room and quality of the service provided were as you would expect from a hotel of this standard. Garden and pool area very tranquil and a welcome retreat from the madness and noise on the streets of Varanasi. Only problem we had was food in restaurant. We had bad meal and am still paying for it 10 days. Fortunately we were only in Varanasi 2 nights so it did not spoil our trip here but spend the remainder of our holiday in Goa and because of the food at The Gateway spent more time in the loo than on the beach
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 7, 2013 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel in Varanasi

Posted Nov 20, 2013
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Seshan from Mumbai

Great Location and value for money.

Posted Oct 2, 2013 on Hotels.com
At the tariff rates offered the Taj Gateway Hotel Ganges offers value for money but the hotel should offer free breakfast even if the bookings have been done at lower tariffs to increase its visibility and making the customer feel that he should stay in `gateway Ganges' even if it costs slightly more.Superb Ambience and great comfort.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Tony from Aussie in MP

Not what you expect...

Posted Jun 1, 2013 on Hotels.com
The Gateway is a good respite from the rush of Varanasi. The rooms are clean & tidy and reasonably sound-proofed. There was a wedding in the grounds & it didnt disturb at all. The room tariff is probably on the higher side of similar hotels. Wifi is a bit expensive compared to other hotels but it was fast. Most hotels include breakfast in their tariff but not here. Breakfast was good & staff service excellent! The Spa was a real treat - the therapist was excellent & the treatments delivered what they promised. All in all, I will be returning despite of some drawbacks.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Hotel for every one

Posted Apr 8, 2013
I will recommend this hotel everyone good location good food cleen Bathrooms