Ratings based on 65 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Amazing views of the lake!

Posted Sep 1, 2013
My wife and I stayed at this hotel on our honeymoon. We stayed in one of the superior rooms on the top floor. The view from our room was unbeatable. This hotel is located on the side of a mountain and therefore gives a unique vantage point of the lake compared to the other hotels in the area. However, its unique location also means a ~10 minute walk up a slight hill from the center of Varenna. We ended up enjoying the walk back to our hotel after evenings of food and wine in Varenna, however it is something to keep in mind. The staff was exceptional and made a strong effort to make sure we were enjoying our stay. They also gave us an umbrella to use when it looked like it might rain! We would definitely recommend this room to others and would stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect place to unwind with excellent views!

Posted Aug 5, 2013
I would give this hotel a 5 star, however, when I arrived there was no parking and I had to park on the street and walk up the hill. Also, there was only 1 staff who was busy tending to those in the cafe/restaurant so he didn't really have to time to check me in or help me with the parking issue. I purchased the package that supposedly included parking so I expected to have a parking space. Basically, parking is on a first come fist serve so don't add the parking to your package. Internet was pretty good and fast enough. The hotel is walking distance to everything and is only a few minutes walk to Villa de Monastero - a must see in Varenna. It is also within walking distance to the ferry. The view from my hotel with the balcony was excellent. It truly is a place to unwind and just enjoy the beauty that is Lake Como.
4 out of 5
by Mature Couple from England, UK

An interesting experience.

Posted Jul 17, 2013
I would not recommend you spend a holiday here but is worth visiting for a night just for the views and uniqueness of the hotel. Room was clean and spacious. Breakfast was disappointing with no fresh fruit or fresh orange juice and limited selection of items.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Kat Knip Daddy from Alpaca Farm

Unique setting, great views, tranquil and relaxing

Posted Jun 17, 2013
Pros: Views, cleanliness, and quiet.
Cons: Dinner entrees on menu could change at least twice a week.
Location: Ideal location for day trips by foot, train, ferry, or bus. Made day trips to Bellagio, Villa Carlatta, Como (Brunate by funicular), and a lunch trip
Yes, we read all the reviews: the good, the bad, and the ugly. Alas, travel is an adventure; and pretty much you get out of it what you put into it. As a 68 year old tour leader, I found that my pack of three 50 somethings were in awe of the five night experience. We found the breakfast quite adequate. The dinner meals, al fresco, at sunset, were very good, although the menu entrees did not change for the five nights that we were there. Dining service was pleasant. The trio of maids blitzed though the rooms every morning and left them spotlessly clean. Treat yourself to the Bellagio or Tremezzo rooms at upper level for great views. We used the trail/path to "climb" to the nearby Castello di Vezio for great views and unique falconry on grounds. It's a quick but steep descent back down into Varenna by a different path exiting near the train station. Another short walk is to the short, seasonal river in the village of Fiumelatte. There is an excellent fine dining restaurant, Hosteria del Platano, at Via Statale 29. We walked all the time, except the last morning, when we used a taxi to transport our bags to the station.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Alec from Carmel Valley, CA

Great Lake views

Posted Jun 10, 2013
Pros: The views and the upper terrace.
Cons: Fresh fruit for breakfast.
Location: Get day passes on ferry for zone 3 (?) and visit the villages.Walk and explore trails, gardens near hotel.
Hotel is10 minute walk to ferry. Liked Varenna very much, more low key than Belagio or Menagio. Breakfast was lacking in fresh fruit.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Sue from Sydney NSW, Australia

Great views

Posted Jun 9, 2013
Pros: Great views, in the centre of the lake, no one else has this position.
Cons: Dining was ok, best to eat in town
Location: The location was on a hill, 4 minute walk to town down hill, but the view are worth it
Views were well worth it, super comfy beds, very clean rooms, dining just ok, lovely staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ella from Christchurch New Zealand

Walk up to Eremo

Posted Jun 8, 2013
Pros: View was amazing and we could eat breakfast looking at it. No street noise.
Cons: Some staff a little apathetic at times and spoke little English.
Location: Up a little steep hill on the outskirts of town but the height gave an amazing view and it wasn't noisy.
Enjoyed our stay here. A little bit on the outskirts of Varenna and up a hill but we enjoyed the walk especially after pizza by the waterfront! Best to get a taxi if arriving with luggage by train or ferry. We had a choice of three. We did find it s little difficult that the hotel staff spoke little English and also felt that some of them were a bit apathetic at times but this may have been an impression caused by the language barrier. Breakfast was very average we thought. We would have loved some fruit.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sheryl from Seattle, WA

What a view in Varenna!

Posted May 31, 2013
Pros: The views walking to and from the hotel everyday...stunning views of the lake, mountains and village!
Cons: We arrived late at night and would have had difficult time finding without the help of a taxi
Location: A small hike to the city center, walking distance to ferrys...taxi to train would be best. Fabulous views!
We had a great stay at this hotel. The hotel is about a quarter of a mile from the boat dock and train station and is walkable if you are fit. We loved that we had to take two funiculars to our room (that we operated) to the top of the hill with stunning views. The room was very clean, but did have thin walls. We would stay here again! Tip: if arriving late in day by train, make sure to arrange taxi service for pick up and to take you to hotel...can be a little confusing to find the first time or if dark.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Lynn from OH

An amazing view of Lake COMO from large windows.

Posted May 29, 2013
Pros: There were some steps but every time I reached my room I felt refreshed because the views were spectacular.
Location: The town is charming and Bellagio is a quick water taxi ride away if you want to shop for that sort of thing. A Moto Guzzi motorcycle museum is near.
I underestimated the walk from the train station. Hired a taxi for the return trip.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jill from Sydney, Australia

Varenna highlight

Posted May 19, 2013
Great location because of the views over Lake Como. Very helpful staff and good breakfast.