Ratings based on 68 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Grand Palace Hotel is certainly grand!

Posted Jul 20, 2014
Pros: It was up on a hill, so you felt like you were away from the noise and business of a city.
Cons: The pool area needs to be kept a bit better. The grounds of the Hotel were in need of a bit of work.
Location: Close to Varese and the lake. Milan etc
The surrounds are great. with views everywhere. The pool is small, and basic, but all you need to cool off. Nice bar area and a lovley restaurant with very nice, friendly waiter. Breakfast was also good.
2 out of 5
by Stephen from Melbourne

Grand Palace by name

Posted May 25, 2014
Top location atop a hill. Great drive up and fabulous views. Old grand style palace. Hotel, bar and rooms old a tired. Very over priced and terrible breakfast choice and quality
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by JULIE from HALIFAX, UK

Lovely location with stunning views!

Posted May 7, 2014
Pros: Good location. Friendly staff and good choice of breakfast.
Cons: Perhaps the rooms could be modernised.
Location: Great views of the lake Varese and not too far from the railway station.
Good location on the top of a hill with lovely views of Lake Varese and the mountains in the distance. My room had a little balcony which was nice to sit out on and enjoy a drink in the sunshine! The room was a little dates with a fee cobwebs hanging off the ceiling but otherwise comfortable. The breakfast buffet was very good and there was a nice friendly waiter; Domenico (I think his name was) who went out of his way to find me some Earl grey tea!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Alice/Bob Beaton from Danville, CA USA

A gem in Varese

Posted Oct 21, 2013 on Hotels.com
Lovely spot...need car to see sights often an hour away...but good food close by esp Il Nibbio...many functions happening at the Palace....attended a wonderful operatic concert Oct 13 at the palace. Our five night stay was wonderful!
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 23, 2013 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Lawrence from UK

A fabulous hotel

Posted Sep 10, 2013
Pros: location, style, cleanliness, food
I stayed for 6 nights in the Palace Grand and highly recommend this hotel. It's a bit of a walk up the hill from the centre of Varese, but the advantage is that you get a quiet night's sleep compared to being in the centre of town. The hotel staff were extremely helpful and the room was large and clean. Some of the fittings are a tad worn, but I found that this added to the charm of the hotel. Breakfast was excellent, plenty of choice and a nice view overlooking Lake Varese.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by SJSM from UK

Excellent

Posted Aug 23, 2013 on Hotels.com
Stayed just last week and had a great experience. Spectacular views of Lake Varese from our room was a great introduction. Hotel looks great and grand. Very clean, rooms cleaned everyday. The hotel has some great facilities including well equipped gym, good sized rooms with wonderful bathrooms and large TVs, plenty of bars (inside and outside), decent sized pool and free bike usage. Hotel staff were extremely helpful and spoke English very well, always happy to suggest local restaurants and things to do. The local town is also very nice with plenty of quality restaurants and bars at very reasonable prices. Location of the hotel to the major lakes of the local area is also very good. Reasonably short drives to Maggiore, Como and Lugano, as well as being on the doorstep of Lake Varese itself. Definitely worth taking one of the hotel bikes to Lake Varese and riding round the 28km cycle path along the edge of the lake. Although the uphill ride back to the hotel is not for the faint hearted. Breakfast buffet was always well stocked and has plenty of options available. We went as a group of friends and had a great time, but there were plenty of couples and families around as well, all with a smiles on their faces, indicating its the ideal location for any group type. Loved our time in the local area and in the hotel, will definitely stay again in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Sam from United Kingdom

Helpful & friendly staff!

Posted Aug 20, 2013 on Hotels.com
As a family we all thought the hotel was very good. We enjoyed using the outside pool as the weather was very hot! Breakfast was nice but there could have been more of a selection as there were the same things everyday.Staff were friendly and helpful.The room was clean and comfortable.Overall we had a pleasant experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

An hotel from an age of elegance

Posted Aug 19, 2013
A very comfortable stay in a very elegant and traditional hotel. The rooms are large and full of old-world charm. A perfect antidote to the modern business hotels. An excellent breakfast with great views of the lake below. The only problem we experienced was our sat-nav directed us the wrong way, but the excellent reception staff were able to provide appropriate directions.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by karl from Dublin

amazing building terrible restaurant

Posted Jul 26, 2013 on Hotels.com
The building was very grand and a delight for me and my wife to stay in such a beautiful building on our honeymoon. However my wife described the woman at the reception to be like an old matron from boarding school how was lacking in customer friendliness We had the expensive dinner there which would have been fine only for the quality of the food and service was very poor. They initially told us that it was going to rain and that we should sit inside, the reason being that they were to lazy to make a table outside for us. I ordered veal for my main which turned out to be a cheap schnitzel . I had a tirmasu for desert and received a pineapple sponge with cream that was frozen in the middle. I complained that it was frozen in the middle and was told that it was correct. I asked why there was pineapple in the tirmasu and was told it was a fruit tirmasu i then asked where the egg yoke and mascarpone sauce was and was told the the ingredients were correct. So my advice would be stay well clear of the restaurant which treated me like i was just a tourist that wouldn't be back and therefore it was ok to throw out the leftovers from the bottom of the freezer.