Ratings based on 24 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
5.0 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

Quite simply superb!

Posted Jan 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
I booked the Modus as a result of reading the reviews here. I was in Varna visiting a family member who has moved there and I have to say this is one of the best hotels I've stayed in anywhere (and I stay in loads). Contemporary design, spotlessly clean, professional, friendly and courteous staff, a great location just a couple of minutes walk from the city centre and beach and a 10 minute walk from the 3 Lions Pub to watch some football. The rooms are very well appointed and there may have been a blizzard blowing outside but it was very warm and cosy inside. Excellent breakfast also. Thoroughly recommended, thank you everyone at the Modus for a great stay!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by James

Close to beach and city for business and Holiday

Posted Jan 11, 2014
Great room, food and a very good wine cellar
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Matt from ATLANTIC CITY ,N.J.

Varna 2013

Posted Nov 29, 2013
Best place to stay while in Varna ,just across from the sea garden.This is my 5th year here .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Richard from St Ives , Cornwall

OUTSTANDING

Posted Oct 14, 2013
The Hotel Modus is situated in the centre of Varna close to many restaurants, bars, and shops. It is a modern beautifully designed hotel with excellent facilities. The rooms are scrupulously clean and the restaurant offers excellent evening meals and a great breakfast. The reason that this hotel is far superior to any I have stayed in in Eastern Europe is the attention to detail. Everything is immaculately clean and the staff are efficient and very friendly. They really did everything to make sure that my stay was enjoyable; supplying an umbrella if it was raining and arranging any taxi’s or trips I wished to make. A fresh apple and chocolate by the bed each day was a very nice touch. Price wise it is excellent value. I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough. Many congratulations to all the staff. Keep up the excellent and welcoming service.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Dmitry from Moscow, Russia

Nice hotel

Posted Oct 3, 2013
Pros: It's very cozy, compact and comfortable hotel in the center of the city.
Cons: I guess all the staff should speak english, and may be russian languages.
Location: The hotel is close to the city's tourist center, park and public beach. In two hundred meters there is navy museum.
First of all the hotel manager didn't give us the room we prepaid, and my wife even needed to call Expedia to solve the problem. It was only one negative moment, all the rest were fine. The room was very nice and clean. The hotel's restaurant was the best around of the city.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Chris from Bournemouth, England

Nice hotel in a central location

Posted Sep 25, 2013
Pros: Central Location, friendly helpful staff.
Cons: Nothing in particular
Location: Near the town, near the beach, near the sea gardens nice for a walk.
Very nice stay did everything we expect from a hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Linsay from England

Exceptional hotel

Posted Sep 17, 2013
Pros: Everything
Cons: Tea and coffee in the rooms (although I didn't see this in any hotel in Bulgaria so I don't think it is done).
Location: Beach, shops, park
We arrived in Varna at 05.30am on an overnight bus from Istanbul, tired and uncomfortable. I had contacted this hotel in advance to ask if we could drop our luggage off early when we arrived so we turned up the morning BEFORE our reservation and as our room was free, they let us in there and then! We were SO grateful that we could get some quality sleep that I was always going to review this hotel as excellent...........fortunately, everything else about it was perfect as well: Clean, modern, lovely room. Excellent facilities - complimentary water, chocolates, apples, L'Occitane toiletries, lovely robes, slippers and fresh towels. Attentive and helpful staff who looked up our onward travel online for us. Free use of small gym and excellent sauna. Great location, easy walking distance to beach, shops, etc but not too noisy. Sound-proof windows and blackout curtains. Beautiful breakfast. Thanks so much.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Alex from Boston, MA

Great Hotel!

Posted Aug 21, 2013
Pros: Location, Attention to detail, simple but modern and interesting, clean, friendly staff.
Cons: Rooms are slightly small.
Location: The hotel is steps from shops and night life - no taxi needed ever.
This is a very nice, modern hotel right next to Varna Center. Close to shopping and beach. It has a lot of character and there is great attention to little details everywhere. Good for the price also. Highly recommended!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Business stay at Modus

Posted Jul 30, 2013 on Hotels.com
Great hotel and very helpful staff. Most rooms look onto a noisy street but windows are sound proof and do a good job. Breakfast is OK. Plenty of tourist bars and restaurants nearby. Will stay there next time I'm in Varna.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Keith from Scotland

GREAT STAY FOR CENTRAL VARNA

Posted Mar 28, 2013
Pros: SITUATION
Cons: LOW BEDS
Location: EXCELLENT LOCATION FOR CENTRAL VARNA AND SEA GARDEN
HAVE STAYED MANY TIMES AT MODUS AND ALWAYS FOUND IT VERY GOOD. THIS VISIT AIR-CONDITIONING IN ROOM WAS OFF OR FAULTY SO ROOM WARM. AS I AM GETTING A BIT OLDER I AM FINDING THE BED RATHER LOW. OTHERWISE GREAT HOTEL.