Ratings based on 211 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Really enjoyable place to stay

Posted Sep 1, 2014
Pros: spacious room , handy for station excellent for families and had bedroom and living room....
Cons: some of the decor could do with a refurb
Location: right by the station but only short walk to toouristy area- would highly recommend les halles market..
Excellent location for the station and the city. staff happy to help, rooms have character and very spacious and well laid out with extra room at the side. pool whilst not huge was a lovely area to cool down/relax....would definitely stay again..
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Japan

Avignon hotel

Posted Aug 16, 2014
Location, room condition and especially staffs were excellent ‼ I wanted to extend my stay in the hotel and the town.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from N

Sad to only be a stopover.

Posted Aug 10, 2014
We are a family of five, with young children on our yearly trek to the Core D'Azur. We therefore only needed a stopover with room for 5. The suite at the Avignon Grand fitted the bill. The only thing I can fault it on was the lack of ability to make a tea or coffee in our room, no kettle, tea bags of coffee at all. Everything else was great, we arrived late after a long drive, the staff were great, the room was clean, there was hot water for five showers in the two bathrooms. I was concerned about noise from the busy street out front and train station at the back, but the air con was great and with the windows closed I didn't hear it at all! We wish we weren't just stopping over and could've seen something of the city too, it was obviously beautiful and one we shall have to return to with more space in our itinerary.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hong Kong

Excellent location and comfortable rooms

Posted Jul 20, 2014
The location of the hotel is excellent. It is just at the door step of the old town and next to the Avignon Central station. Hotels within the city wall of the old town are more expensive and noisy. Spacious and clean rooms are the most important merits. Yet the lift is very small and often be used by staff. It causes some inconvenience to the hotel residents.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Near the Town Wall

Posted Jun 27, 2014
Pros: The location was easy to find and close to everything in Avignon. The hotel has big comfortable rooms.
Cons: Was disappointed about the lack of laundry facilities.
Location: The location is near everything. Had a wonderful dinner at the Hotel St. Louis and a marvelous day on the Avignon Wine Tour with Francious.
The hotel is older but we'll kept and located facing the town wall of the old city. Easy to get to everything. Rooms are bigger than standard for Europe. We even had a sitting area. According to staff, they do not have laundry facilities but rather laundry services as advertised both by Expedia and their website. Regardless it is a comfortable and gracious hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Mark from Santa Clara, CA

Great Location

Posted Jun 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
Beautiful Hotel with a short walk to the entrance of the old city of Avignon. The staff was very helpful. Helped suggest a fantastic restaurant (5 Sens) and overall very friendly. Only complaint was that the internet was very slow.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Myrna from Colorado,USA

Great Hotel

Posted Jun 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
Only stayed there for 1 night since we missed the check in time at another hotel. Grand Hotel is a nice hotel. I would stay there again someday.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Lucille from London

Perfect location and lovely hotel

Posted Jun 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
We stayed here for a week, using it as a base for exploring Avignon and the region. The hotel was very clean and comfortable and our room had a lovely view of the garden. It's perfectly located just outside the city walls of Avignon for walks into the city, day trips via train or bus or even a walk over to Villeneuve. The wifi was a bit patchy from time to time but it is free so we weren't too bothered. I would recommend this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by John G from Maryland, USA

Great Place! I consider this a hidden gem!

Posted Jun 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
Wow, I was very impressed with this hotel - especially considering the prices we were paying. This is a great deal for a reasonable rates. First of all, the hotel is right next door to the train station. Let me tell you, it's very nice to walk off a train, round the corner and check into a hotel without dragging bags around the city. Never heard any noise from the trains either. The hotel is right across the city from the wall surrounding the city. Great view! Avignon is not a big town. It's a nice 20-25 minute walk from the hotel to the Palais des Papes and Pont Saint-Benezet. My family of four stayed here 3 nights and we would happily stay here again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Steve from Adelaide

Perfect location

Posted May 31, 2014 on Hotels.com
Very pleased with wheelchair access. Bedroom , lounge and bathroom spacious. Lovely view into courtyard. Appreciated being able to open the windows. Bed really comfortable. We're able to walk/roll easily to Popes Palace from hotel which is situated just outside the old city walls. No tea/coffee facility in room only negative