Ratings based on 35 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Alamos, NM

We loved this hotel and will go back!

Posted Oct 27, 2014
Pros: Stephan takes impeccable care of his guests.
Cons: I can't think of a thing!
Location: It is in lovely historical area just near the town square (dining, etc.) and it is a 2 minute walk to the bus stop that takes one to central Avignon.
If you're thinking it's only a 2 star, well, think again. This hotel is a gem and we were so glad to have stayed in Avignon Villeneuve. This hotel is the best of France; both historical and quaint/charming. Clean, comfortable and close to public transportation.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Newcastle, Australia

Fabulous boutique hotel in Villeneuve Les Avignon

Posted Sep 19, 2014
Pros: The personal service.
Location: Avignon, Palace of the Popes, Pont du Gard, wineries at Chateauneuf-du-Pape
We (3 couples) had a fabulous 4 night stay at L'Atelier. A beautiful old hotel, with the feel of a B&B. Our host (owner) Stephan was fabulous and very helpful. Nothing was too much trouble for him. Walking distance to lots of restaurants, and close to Avignon and other tourist areas, but Villeneuve is a lovely quiet village. We would definitely stay there again and will recommend it to friends who might be travelling in the area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cornwall

Charming hotel away from the bustle of Avignon

Posted Sep 7, 2014
Pros: The location and the welcoming atmosphere
Location: 5 minutes by very easy bus to Avignon, but also lots to do in Villeneuve and around.
We really enjoyed our stay at L'Atelier. Very friendly and helpful team at the hotel - lots of tips on where to go and advice tailored to our needs - we were made to feel really welcome. Characterful room and hotel in general - beautiful old building in lovely creamy sandstone, resident cat! Breakfast on the vine-covered patio away from the Provencal wind was a great way to start the day - fresh figs and plums as well as bread / croissants etc all made the experience feel very French. Lovely classical music and opera playing in reception area, making for a very relaxing stay. Felt like coming home at the end of each day!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel basesvin Villeneuve les Avignon

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Pros: Clean, friendly & helpful staff
Cons: Air conditioning
Lovely hotel based in Villeneuve les Avignon which is across the river from Avignon. It is a lovely historical village with a central square with three restaurants. Access to Avignin via the no 5 bus outside the Tourist office. Hotel staff extremely friendly &helpful. Speak English. Hotel itself was clean & well decorated. Has a back terrace with sun loungers. Room facilities adequate, however no air conditioning system which is a necessity during simmer months. Rooms had a plug in air fan which helped. I would recommend a visit .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Austin

nice surprise

Posted Jun 30, 2014
Pros: decoration, style.
when my husband said that there is no elevator in the hotel, that make me uncomfortable. but, the staff is very nice ,the hotel is charming. we really like that style of hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Spain

Don't stay in Avignon -- stay in Villeneuve!

Posted Jun 30, 2014
Pros: Location, location, location, its charming and helpful owner Stephan, its centuries old charm, the green, flower filled, sunny back courtyard...
Cons: Little...Stephan is planning to install air conditioning in time for the next summer season. In the meantime, he is improving the indoor public areas.
Location: Convenient acces to Avignon, but far enough away from its tourist hustle and shady types. Dedicate more time to Villeneuve, which is infinitely nicer.
My head said "monuments and museums in Avignon". My heart said "peace and quiet, good food, friendly hospitality, and good atmosphere". My guidebook said: when visiting Avignon, it's really better to stay across the river in Villeneuve-les-Avignon. So, I followed my heart and my guidebook when reserving, cheered by the good online reviews of the De l'Atelier. What I found on arrival at the hotel was an extraordinarily gracious, kind, and thoughtful young man, Stephan, who is the new owner of the hotel. He gave me an immediate, unsolicited, complimentary room upgrade to a superior room...which was perfectly comfortable, immaculate, and in great repair (including the bathroom)...which is no mean feat in a building that is many hundreds of years old. Stephan is making a few improvements to the aesthetics and amenities offered by the hotel, which will take a few months to implement. But the hotel already has a splendidly convenient location and a very charming back courtyard where guests can dig into a big breakfast at a reasonable price (it is Provence, after all, which normally means $$$$$$)...just as the hotel was reasonably priced (especially compared with the tourist hotels in Avignon proper). Many fine monuments, sights, and excellent restaurants were a short walk away. Parking near the hotel is tragic, because it is an old historic district, but the Bus 5 stop at the Office de Tourisme, a 5 minute walk from the hotel, goes to the Avignon train station and historic center.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Michaell from Melbourne, Australia

Great hotel with tremendous character

Posted Jun 23, 2014
Pros: Its location and look
Cons: Aircondiitioning
Location: Great location not far from most things but far enough away to be peaceful and quiet
Excellent quiet location in very nice town. Very helpful and welcoming host. Old building well kept with great charm .Was an enjoyable experience
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by miki from Japan

Feel the real province

Posted Jun 20, 2014
Cons: Nothing
Location: It is not in Avignon town. It is in Avignon vielleville. It is quite cosy town.But there is fortress and cathedral to see.
Wonderful! There is nothing to add. I don't want to recommend it to every viewer,because it is going to be full. Then I cannot make my next reservation. I could relax and enjoy the atmosphere away from the noise of Avignon. Especially,the petite garden was very nicely designed. I am sure I will go back. Thanks to the warm hearted staff and young nice looking owner!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

View Avignon from another perspective

Posted May 25, 2014
Pros: location, style
This is a quaint hotel will lovely staff( julie). It is across the Rhone from Avignon, and i think, the perfect place to settle when visiting the city across the water. You can look across the river and see the Pope's Palace and many of the sights of the city. After touring around, get away from the crowds and visit Villeneuve D'Avignon... and wonder why more people haven't discovered this hamlet. Its a 30 min walk from the old city of Avignon, and on a spring day, a lovely jaunt home.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Christine from Palo Alto, CA

Wonderful boutique Provence hotel

Posted May 4, 2014
My son and I had a wonderful 4 day stay at this charming boutique hotel. The village it is located in (Villeneuve des Avignon) is conveniently near to Avignon (and most of Provence) and is a lovely place to explore. With a rental car we were easily able to take wonderful day trips throughout Provence. On Thursday the village has a nice market in which to spend an hour and buy provisions for a picnic lunch. We learned that the hotel is very recently under new ownership and the owner Stephan was exceptionally gracious. He is very knowledgeable about the area and spent a generous amount of time making recommendations on where to explore. Our room was spacious, clean and very comfortable. The staff was friendly and highly accommodating. We will certainly return!!