Ratings based on 32 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel basesvin Villeneuve les Avignon

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Pros: Clean, friendly & helpful staff
Cons: Air conditioning
Lovely hotel based in Villeneuve les Avignon which is across the river from Avignon. It is a lovely historical village with a central square with three restaurants. Access to Avignin via the no 5 bus outside the Tourist office. Hotel staff extremely friendly &helpful. Speak English. Hotel itself was clean & well decorated. Has a back terrace with sun loungers. Room facilities adequate, however no air conditioning system which is a necessity during simmer months. Rooms had a plug in air fan which helped. I would recommend a visit .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Austin

nice surprise

Posted Jun 30, 2014
Pros: decoration, style.
when my husband said that there is no elevator in the hotel, that make me uncomfortable. but, the staff is very nice ,the hotel is charming. we really like that style of hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Spain

Don't stay in Avignon -- stay in Villeneuve!

Posted Jun 30, 2014
Pros: Location, location, location, its charming and helpful owner Stephan, its centuries old charm, the green, flower filled, sunny back courtyard...
Cons: Little...Stephan is planning to install air conditioning in time for the next summer season. In the meantime, he is improving the indoor public areas.
Location: Convenient acces to Avignon, but far enough away from its tourist hustle and shady types. Dedicate more time to Villeneuve, which is infinitely nicer.
My head said "monuments and museums in Avignon". My heart said "peace and quiet, good food, friendly hospitality, and good atmosphere". My guidebook said: when visiting Avignon, it's really better to stay across the river in Villeneuve-les-Avignon. So, I followed my heart and my guidebook when reserving, cheered by the good online reviews of the De l'Atelier. What I found on arrival at the hotel was an extraordinarily gracious, kind, and thoughtful young man, Stephan, who is the new owner of the hotel. He gave me an immediate, unsolicited, complimentary room upgrade to a superior room...which was perfectly comfortable, immaculate, and in great repair (including the bathroom)...which is no mean feat in a building that is many hundreds of years old. Stephan is making a few improvements to the aesthetics and amenities offered by the hotel, which will take a few months to implement. But the hotel already has a splendidly convenient location and a very charming back courtyard where guests can dig into a big breakfast at a reasonable price (it is Provence, after all, which normally means $$$$$$)...just as the hotel was reasonably priced (especially compared with the tourist hotels in Avignon proper). Many fine monuments, sights, and excellent restaurants were a short walk away. Parking near the hotel is tragic, because it is an old historic district, but the Bus 5 stop at the Office de Tourisme, a 5 minute walk from the hotel, goes to the Avignon train station and historic center.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Michaell from Melbourne, Australia

Great hotel with tremendous character

Posted Jun 23, 2014
Pros: Its location and look
Cons: Aircondiitioning
Location: Great location not far from most things but far enough away to be peaceful and quiet
Excellent quiet location in very nice town. Very helpful and welcoming host. Old building well kept with great charm .Was an enjoyable experience
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by miki from Japan

Feel the real province

Posted Jun 20, 2014
Cons: Nothing
Location: It is not in Avignon town. It is in Avignon vielleville. It is quite cosy town.But there is fortress and cathedral to see.
Wonderful! There is nothing to add. I don't want to recommend it to every viewer,because it is going to be full. Then I cannot make my next reservation. I could relax and enjoy the atmosphere away from the noise of Avignon. Especially,the petite garden was very nicely designed. I am sure I will go back. Thanks to the warm hearted staff and young nice looking owner!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

View Avignon from another perspective

Posted May 25, 2014
Pros: location, style
This is a quaint hotel will lovely staff( julie). It is across the Rhone from Avignon, and i think, the perfect place to settle when visiting the city across the water. You can look across the river and see the Pope's Palace and many of the sights of the city. After touring around, get away from the crowds and visit Villeneuve D'Avignon... and wonder why more people haven't discovered this hamlet. Its a 30 min walk from the old city of Avignon, and on a spring day, a lovely jaunt home.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Christine from Palo Alto, CA

Wonderful boutique Provence hotel

Posted May 4, 2014
My son and I had a wonderful 4 day stay at this charming boutique hotel. The village it is located in (Villeneuve des Avignon) is conveniently near to Avignon (and most of Provence) and is a lovely place to explore. With a rental car we were easily able to take wonderful day trips throughout Provence. On Thursday the village has a nice market in which to spend an hour and buy provisions for a picnic lunch. We learned that the hotel is very recently under new ownership and the owner Stephan was exceptionally gracious. He is very knowledgeable about the area and spent a generous amount of time making recommendations on where to explore. Our room was spacious, clean and very comfortable. The staff was friendly and highly accommodating. We will certainly return!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Uli from Zurich, Switzerland

Very Nice & Quiet Family Hotel Close to Avignon

Posted Oct 18, 2013
Pros: Just great
Location: Very nice small town above Avignon, worth a visit. Nice castle and monastery to visit, too.
Very nice and quiet hotel, still within walking distance (30 min) of Avignon. We had bikes, so getting to town was easy. You can take the car to one of the large parking lots close to Avignon. Hotel was very nice and quiet, at an affordable rate. very (!) friendly staff. Very nice breaktfast room with buffet. Can recommend this special hotel any time!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Colin from Auckland. NZ

Great location for a short break

Posted Oct 17, 2013
Pros: Good value and well appointed
We chose to stay at Villeneuve-les-Avignon and we are really glad we did. It's a 15 minute walk across the river, there are regular buses as well, and it was a really great experience. Great restaurants, friendly people and a nice quiet and quaint place to stay. I'm sure Avignon would have been nice as well but nowhere near as character filled as Villeneuve was particularly being away from the mainstream tourist bustle!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by viktoria from chicago

lovely hotel

Posted Oct 17, 2013
Pros: very authentic, not much luxury but perfect. AOC wine bar is very nice with pretty incredible wine list( around the corner.)
Cons: street parking but within 5 minute walk ( free)
Location: it's a tiny city, so everything is in close proximity. Grocery store, restaurants and caffes
We had the most amazing time in this little city! Hotel was perfect for truly experiencing this Medieval city! it would almost be wrong if the hotel was modern, and luxurious. The entire city looks like a movie set. Our room was on the 4 th floor and I don't think there was an elevator. The hotel staff helped us carry 2 heavy suitcases upstairs. I was surprised to find that shower was only separated with a room divider, but the toilet was in a private space. I loved our room and it felt very authentic. We kept our windows open all night as we were facing this beautiful 12th century church. The city gets very quiet at night and we loved walking to every corner - everything was just magical about it!