Ratings based on 218 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Room with a view

Posted Mar 30, 2014
Pros: Very good location. Very pleasing to be able to open the window and enjoy the bustle of the square below from the comfort of ones own room.
Cons: Reception staff did not make much effort to be welcoming or friendly.
Location: Excellent location near Palais des Papes, the river and shopping, restaurants.
Pleasant hotel in a great location with lovely view of the square.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ted from Toronto

Avignon

Posted Mar 22, 2014
Pros: Location was great.
Cons: Our room layout was odd and a little small. The W/C was very tight.
Location: The location is right in the middle of town and Avignon is all about the "Papal Palace" which was just up the street.
Hotel was central to all tourist sites. The room layout was tight but the breakfast was excellent with lots of choice and fresh offerings.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Rob from Maine

Excellent location - thoughtfully updated

Posted Mar 17, 2014
Pros: The staff support and the character of the accommodations.
Cons: We did not eat the breakfast buffet since we felt it overpriced at 18 euros.
Location: In the heart of Avignon on a central plaza. The Palais of the Popes is very close to this hotel, as is the famous bridge and pedestrian shopping area.
The accommodations are tastefully modern without interfering with the age and character of the building. The staff was outstanding in their responsiveness to questions and in making suggestions. We were staying for four days and were given a free upgrade as a result. There can be noise from the Place de l'Horloge at night which did not bother us but could be an issue in summer.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Alan from London

Nice hotel near Avignon centre

Posted Feb 3, 2014
On a side street next to the Hotel de Ville (City Hall) and near the Papal Palace. Very convenient. Friendly staff and clean quiet rooms.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Simon from London

Amazing location. Could be quieter.

Posted Jan 6, 2014
Pros: Location, location, location. Staff could not do enough.
Cons: Staff not always up to date with information, i.e. asked for travel advice, which was wrong when compared with bus and train timetable.
Location: Lots
The Church bells i could live with. The delivery van(s) at 6am with music blaring I could not. Nor the cars, or the recycling etc. Very noisy, even on side street Location could not be better. Room was either too hot, or needed windows opened, so making very cold and allowed every sound in.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 8, 2013 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by David from California

Excellent hotel right in the center of Avignon

Posted Dec 2, 2013
Pros: Comfortable, charming, easy close to everything, pleasant and helpful staff, croissants available around the clock, excellent breakfast, holiday decor
Cons: Nothing comes to mind
Location: Central location right in Place de l'Horlage, several minutes walk to Palais de Papes, Pont du Avignon, restaurants, shops, churches, etc.
From the warm welcome to the excellent customer service to the lovely, comfortable room, my stay at Hotel de l'Horlage was delightful! Awaking each morning, the sonorous tolling of the bells of St. Agricol informed me of the time, then and throughout the day! It is so nice not to have to consult one's watch.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Pierre

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 17, 2013 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 1, 2013 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Anon

A nice hotel in Avignon.

Posted Oct 14, 2013
We enjoyed a stay of two nights at the Hotel de l'Horloge. Our room was comfortable and quiet, even though it faced onto the Place de l'Horloge, the busy square in the centre of the old town. The staff were very pleasant and provided good restaurant recommendations. The hotel was a short walk from the Palais des Papes. We didn't ever eat breakfast in the hotel, choosing to have our breakfast at one of the many cafes on the Place de l'Horloge.