Ratings based on 201 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Room with a view

Posted Mar 30, 2014
Pros: Very good location. Very pleasing to be able to open the window and enjoy the bustle of the square below from the comfort of ones own room.
Cons: Reception staff did not make much effort to be welcoming or friendly.
Location: Excellent location near Palais des Papes, the river and shopping, restaurants.
Pleasant hotel in a great location with lovely view of the square.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ted from Toronto

Avignon

Posted Mar 22, 2014
Pros: Location was great.
Cons: Our room layout was odd and a little small. The W/C was very tight.
Location: The location is right in the middle of town and Avignon is all about the "Papal Palace" which was just up the street.
Hotel was central to all tourist sites. The room layout was tight but the breakfast was excellent with lots of choice and fresh offerings.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Rob from Maine

Excellent location - thoughtfully updated

Posted Mar 17, 2014
Pros: The staff support and the character of the accommodations.
Cons: We did not eat the breakfast buffet since we felt it overpriced at 18 euros.
Location: In the heart of Avignon on a central plaza. The Palais of the Popes is very close to this hotel, as is the famous bridge and pedestrian shopping area.
The accommodations are tastefully modern without interfering with the age and character of the building. The staff was outstanding in their responsiveness to questions and in making suggestions. We were staying for four days and were given a free upgrade as a result. There can be noise from the Place de l'Horloge at night which did not bother us but could be an issue in summer.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Alan from London

Nice hotel near Avignon centre

Posted Feb 3, 2014
On a side street next to the Hotel de Ville (City Hall) and near the Papal Palace. Very convenient. Friendly staff and clean quiet rooms.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Simon from London

Amazing location. Could be quieter.

Posted Jan 6, 2014
Pros: Location, location, location. Staff could not do enough.
Cons: Staff not always up to date with information, i.e. asked for travel advice, which was wrong when compared with bus and train timetable.
Location: Lots
The Church bells i could live with. The delivery van(s) at 6am with music blaring I could not. Nor the cars, or the recycling etc. Very noisy, even on side street Location could not be better. Room was either too hot, or needed windows opened, so making very cold and allowed every sound in.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by David from California

Excellent hotel right in the center of Avignon

Posted Dec 2, 2013
Pros: Comfortable, charming, easy close to everything, pleasant and helpful staff, croissants available around the clock, excellent breakfast, holiday decor
Cons: Nothing comes to mind
Location: Central location right in Place de l'Horlage, several minutes walk to Palais de Papes, Pont du Avignon, restaurants, shops, churches, etc.
From the warm welcome to the excellent customer service to the lovely, comfortable room, my stay at Hotel de l'Horlage was delightful! Awaking each morning, the sonorous tolling of the bells of St. Agricol informed me of the time, then and throughout the day! It is so nice not to have to consult one's watch.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Anon

A nice hotel in Avignon.

Posted Oct 14, 2013
We enjoyed a stay of two nights at the Hotel de l'Horloge. Our room was comfortable and quiet, even though it faced onto the Place de l'Horloge, the busy square in the centre of the old town. The staff were very pleasant and provided good restaurant recommendations. The hotel was a short walk from the Palais des Papes. We didn't ever eat breakfast in the hotel, choosing to have our breakfast at one of the many cafes on the Place de l'Horloge.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida, USA

Nice hotel in Avignon

Posted Sep 27, 2013
Pros: it is in the center of Avignon plus walking distance to the buses going to Gare Avignon TGV and the Gare Avignon Centre.
Location: We walked to the Pope Palace and many shops nearby. For breakfast, we went to a Bakery nearby.
I read from previous reviews that it is very hard to find. In reality, it is very easy to find, follow directions going to Place l'Horloge and there it is. The room we got (room 110) is very spacious and the bathroom as well, very clean and comfortable bed. Our friends got room 112 and they were not as lucky as we are, they got a small room but of course their room rate was cheaper. I understand now what the reviews I read said that it being at the plaza, you need to request for a room in the higher floor, we were on the 1st floor, so we heard a lot of noise. For us, the noise was in the early morning. At 5:30, we heard the garbage truck, the cleaning truck, the delivery trucks and the restaurant below hosing the street. If you are an early riser or deep sleeper, it is fine. But otherwise it was a pleasant stay. The restaurant beside the hotel (Lou Mistral) have great food and reasonable price.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Bon from Cornwall

central location in Avignon

Posted Sep 11, 2013
Pros: Apart from all the above comments,the check out time was 1200 hrs with the facility to store luggage for a later departure.
Cons: Would not need to change anythig
Location: ,Popes Palace, garden,Cathedral.Pont St Benezet.( go on, dance on it!) lunch boat cruise to Arles. Pont du Gard.Nimes(take train for half day)
The hotel was about 15 minutes walk from the central station(not the TGV station 15 mins bus ride away!) Right on the corner of the square only a few hundred yards from the Palace des Popes.Bear in mind some european hotel star ratings can be less than Uk, ie 2* in Paris are more like broom cuboards! We upgraded to superior and were very pleasently surprised at the room size and facilities. All the staff spoke wery good english, were curteous and very efficient. e mail contacts were also very efficient(Thank you Kevin!) Didn't haave their breakfast but used the shop on the opposite corner called 'Snacking' .good english spoken and cakes to die for. Sit outside with a 'Grand Cafe' and watch the city go to work. Find the indoor market, Les Halles with it's vertical garden, buy your own bread and make your own snacks. Also the Carrefours supermarket is best for everyday provisions. its on the main street which runs right from the station to the square.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful Hotel in a great location

Posted Aug 15, 2013
Pros: The bed and location
Cons: Staff was not real friendly
Location: Avignon is amazing...shops and restaurants all over...a beautiful city
Stayed at this hotel for three nights recently...it was beautiful, and in the heart of the city center...great bed and very quiet...we loved it!