Ratings based on 228 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Nice Hotel in gorgeous Avignon

Posted Jul 29, 2014
Pros: This is a quaint hotel with loads of character. Staff are so helpful and attentive.
Location: Very well located with no distance to walk everywhere.
A very good choice of hotel in the centre of the old town in Avignon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Adelaide, South Australia

Excellent location in the heart of Avignon

Posted Jul 23, 2014
I stayed at the Hotel de l'Horloge for 5 nights and found it to be a comfortable, clean and friendly place. My stay was during the Avignon festival and considering this hotel is right on the main square I was expecting there to be some noise issues - I heard barely anything from the street! My one small - and it is very small - complaint about my room was that it was very bright. The curtains didn't block out the street light so the room was never dark, even in the middle of the night. Still, this was the only (slight) negative in an otherwise great stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NJ

Avignon

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Pros: location - location - location cosmopolitan city within ancient walls
Location: Visited the Pope's Palace, toured the Chateauneuf-du-pape wine region and the village for wine tastings. No time for the Pont-du-Gard. will return
A hotel in the center of the town with easy walkable access to the train station and the port. Our cruise ended in Avignon and my husband and I walked with our carry ons through the ancient walls to the hotel, about 15 to 20 minutes easy walk. Small but clean accommodations and a helpful and friendly staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from m

Great location!

Posted Jul 8, 2014
Really nice hotel in the heart of Avignon. Right next to horloge plaza and the palace of the popes. Handy to shops as well as tourist sites. Rooms were small, probably just enough to put your bags down and not much more. There was a bathroom a few steps up. Mini bar with fridge to keep your drinks and food cold. Supermarket down the street. Everything that you need to explore Avignon. Hotel staff, particularly the man on check in was great!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by CJCJ from Boston

great location

Posted Jun 22, 2014
Pros: Hotel front desk was very responsive in guiding us through the French rail strike problems (unlike other hotels).
Cons: Room was small and outdated.
Location: Hotel faces the historic Avignon square and about 2 blocks from Pope des Palais
Our room faced the historic Avignon square and about 2 blocks from Pope des Palais--but wasn't noisy despite all the outdoor restaurants nearby.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by Sandi from Tucson, AZ

Location is excellent for exploring Avignon proper

Posted Jun 21, 2014
Pros: Location, service, room.
Cons: Grab bars near the bathtub, some nonslip covering the bottom of same
Location: Centrally located for visiting the museums, Pope's Palace, shops, restaurants.
Had stayed at this hotel 11 years ago and was pleased to be able to book it again for this visit. Love to walk about the city and explore different areas, do some shopping and people watch from one of the cafes dotting the Place de l'Horloge near the hotel. The interior of the hotel is a little quirky as it comprises parts of different buildings joined together so there are short hallways and stairways to connect the hotel rooms. The staff was pleasant and efficient, I appreciated the laundry service offered.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by heather

Overall a good hotel

Posted May 11, 2014
Pros: Location
We had no Hot water our second morning, which was not the hotels fault although they were unable to give us any info about how long it would take to fix the problem, asked for some coffee to be sent up to the room which seemed to be a bit of a hassle for them. Other then that frustrating moment the room was clean, the hotel was in a great location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Kent couple from UK

Central location with character.

Posted May 10, 2014
Pros: Character, comfort & location. Very comfortable bed. Friendly helpful staff.
Cons: Poor TV reception for UK channels. Shower curtain or screen would be useful in bathroom.
Location: Near to all of Avignon's historic sites, the adjacent Place de L' Horloge full of excellent restaurants & near shops.10 minute walk to train station.
Spent 2 days exploring the historic sights of Avignon. Enjoying the French food & culture. Hotel ideal as so central. No problem when it rained & we needed to go back to our room for our coats. Quiet comfortable hotel with character.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A. from NYC

Good

Posted May 8, 2014
good location, helpful staff, parking w/ discount: nearby
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Room with a view

Posted Mar 30, 2014
Pros: Very good location. Very pleasing to be able to open the window and enjoy the bustle of the square below from the comfort of ones own room.
Cons: Reception staff did not make much effort to be welcoming or friendly.
Location: Excellent location near Palais des Papes, the river and shopping, restaurants.
Pleasant hotel in a great location with lovely view of the square.