Ratings based on 245 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Idaho Falls, ID

Downtown Avignon

Posted Aug 20, 2014
Pros: Nice atmosphere and decoration. Very pleasant breakfast buffet. Very quiet for a downtown location.
Cons: Weak air conditioning. Rooms were not ready at check in time (3PM); we had to wait 45 minutes for the first room and one hour for the other one
Location: Palais des Papes, pont d'avignon
We needed a nice place where to stay in downtown Avignon for a visit to the Palais des Papes, and a very fine dinner. Overall this is a very nice hotel with pleasant decoration, a nice breakfast buffet, and a superb location.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Town centre hotel

Posted Aug 19, 2014
Hotel is in a busy central area in very touristy town. Parking wasn't straightforward and proved to be very expensive as a very rude security guard wouldn't let us enter the car park where the hotel offered a discount. The hotel is fine, the room very small but clean and reasonably well equipped. We stayed overnight only and didn't eat there, but it was convenient for exploring the historic areas of Avignon.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Berkshire

A few steps to everything

Posted Aug 14, 2014
Pros: The staff are very accommodating and friendly and willing to help you. The breakfast room was light and airy and the food adequate.
Cons: The bedroom was a superior room yet we found it squat and claustrophobic. It was very dark with looking our to the main square.
Location: Position is fantastic and easy walk to everything. Its location and staff is what made the hotel recommendable to others.
The hotel is ideally placed for everything including shopping, bars and restaurants and of course the sites, at least the main ones including The Pont. I was worried about the hotel not having a restaurant or bar. It does have a nice breakfast room. There are bout 20-30 restaurants and bars of different cuisines to suit everyone a short step form the hotel. Ice cream parlours are also in abundance. So walking around helps burn up those extra calories. When we approached the city my thoughts were "what a dump" but as you come through the entrance to the city through its ancient walls its like going into a different time zone and place. Its quite enthralling.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Incredibly Central Location!

Posted Aug 13, 2014
Pros: Avignon's Old Town is such a perfect size for walking around, and this location is on a Plaza with access to everything.
Cons: "Breakfast" room was reminiscent of a Holiday Inn. Skip it, there are lots of legit cafes just a few doors away.
Location: If it's worth seeing in Avignon then it's walking distance from this hotel.
A lovely boutique style hotel. Typical of France there were a lot of stairs and accessibility issues. However, their elevator is right in the lobby and all was great once we moved to a room that did not have stairs required after stepping off the lift. Great location for all the historical sites plus the the added benefit of being around the corner from an urban street. And just a ten minute walk from the train station!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Nice Hotel in gorgeous Avignon

Posted Jul 29, 2014
Pros: This is a quaint hotel with loads of character. Staff are so helpful and attentive.
Location: Very well located with no distance to walk everywhere.
A very good choice of hotel in the centre of the old town in Avignon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Adelaide, South Australia

Excellent location in the heart of Avignon

Posted Jul 23, 2014
I stayed at the Hotel de l'Horloge for 5 nights and found it to be a comfortable, clean and friendly place. My stay was during the Avignon festival and considering this hotel is right on the main square I was expecting there to be some noise issues - I heard barely anything from the street! My one small - and it is very small - complaint about my room was that it was very bright. The curtains didn't block out the street light so the room was never dark, even in the middle of the night. Still, this was the only (slight) negative in an otherwise great stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NJ

Avignon

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Pros: location - location - location cosmopolitan city within ancient walls
Location: Visited the Pope's Palace, toured the Chateauneuf-du-pape wine region and the village for wine tastings. No time for the Pont-du-Gard. will return
A hotel in the center of the town with easy walkable access to the train station and the port. Our cruise ended in Avignon and my husband and I walked with our carry ons through the ancient walls to the hotel, about 15 to 20 minutes easy walk. Small but clean accommodations and a helpful and friendly staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from m

Great location!

Posted Jul 8, 2014
Really nice hotel in the heart of Avignon. Right next to horloge plaza and the palace of the popes. Handy to shops as well as tourist sites. Rooms were small, probably just enough to put your bags down and not much more. There was a bathroom a few steps up. Mini bar with fridge to keep your drinks and food cold. Supermarket down the street. Everything that you need to explore Avignon. Hotel staff, particularly the man on check in was great!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by CJCJ from Boston

great location

Posted Jun 22, 2014
Pros: Hotel front desk was very responsive in guiding us through the French rail strike problems (unlike other hotels).
Cons: Room was small and outdated.
Location: Hotel faces the historic Avignon square and about 2 blocks from Pope des Palais
Our room faced the historic Avignon square and about 2 blocks from Pope des Palais--but wasn't noisy despite all the outdoor restaurants nearby.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by Sandi from Tucson, AZ

Location is excellent for exploring Avignon proper

Posted Jun 21, 2014
Pros: Location, service, room.
Cons: Grab bars near the bathtub, some nonslip covering the bottom of same
Location: Centrally located for visiting the museums, Pope's Palace, shops, restaurants.
Had stayed at this hotel 11 years ago and was pleased to be able to book it again for this visit. Love to walk about the city and explore different areas, do some shopping and people watch from one of the cafes dotting the Place de l'Horloge near the hotel. The interior of the hotel is a little quirky as it comprises parts of different buildings joined together so there are short hallways and stairways to connect the hotel rooms. The staff was pleasant and efficient, I appreciated the laundry service offered.