Ratings based on 266 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Elaine

Posted Jun 30, 2015
Pros: It was nice being by the water, the pool was large, there two jacuzzis, ping pong and more with no extra charges to use them.
Cons: Workers entering your unit with out any notice.
Location: We did ventre out but traffic coming and going to popular sites was terrible spent alot of time in car.
I enjoyed everything about the hotel except for the constant invasion of workers entering our room even when we had the do not disturb sign up. (installing a throw rug, adding a base to a dresser, saing they had to check a loss smoke detector) they didnt even call to inform of these entries. did not feel confortableabout leaving the unit.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, GA

Nothing to write home about

Posted Jun 13, 2015
Pros: The staff and the beach were the best features of the hotel,
Cons: The cleanliness of the beach. The pool/beach chairs could use a spruce up.
Location: Fabulous restaurant, Zafra, at the Plantation View Resort. Arborio and La Terrazza were also good places to eat.
We don't usually write reviews, but wanted to make others aware before booking this hotel. Half of the complex is in total disrepair and is "blocked off" so that you cannot get access to it, which is a good thing because our first impression was, "Oh, no. What have we gotten ourselves into?" It looks like they may be doing some renovations, but not sure. There were large bags of garbage stacked at one end of the parking lot, and a rusty tractor trailer parked in the lot, too. We stayed in a 2 bedroom unit, which was plenty of room for our family of 5, but there was an odor that we couldn't seem to get rid of. It even followed us home until we washed everything! Also, the cleanliness of the kitchen appliances left much to be desired, and everything could certainly have used a facelift. On the positive side, the staff was very pleasant, and the small beach/pool bar/restaurant was nice. We enjoyed many nights sitting at the bar and listening to the ocean waves. The pool and beach area were decent, although the beach could use a little cleanup. The fitness facilities were sufficient and they were adding a new piece of equipment when we were checking out. Also, there isn't really anything close by to do, i.e. water sports, etc. You have to travel to San Juan or Isla Verde, which are about 30 minutes away. I certainly would not say that this hotel is 4 out of 5; more like a 2.5 to 3 out of 5.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chester, NY

Wonderful facilities

Posted May 18, 2015
We enjoy our stay at Hacienda del Mar. The facilities were excellent. We had everything we needed to enjoy our 50th Wedding Anniversary
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CT

Hyatt Hacienda Del Mar

Posted May 17, 2015
Pros: Hotel staff was very friendly. It felt like I was staying with family. 1 large pool, 2 Jacuzzis, and access to a bar/diner with a view of the beach
Cons: We noticed that the room isn't cleaned everyday. They refer to it as a tidy service. We bought our own cleaning supplies and cleaned it thoroughly.
Location: On-site golf, gym, day spa, tours, and gift shop, nearby restaurants (fast food and fine dining), groceries, pharmacies,
While I was visiting for two separate funerals, my visit was very relaxing. I would love to return under better circumstances to really benefit from everything the hotel and surrounding locations have to offer.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Ronald from San Juan

excelent for childrens

Posted Apr 28, 2015 on Hotels
couple with a baby, perfect for our needs.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Deborah from Boulder, CO

Great facilities - lap lanes in the pool!

Posted Apr 12, 2015 on Hotels
We really enjoyed our stay. The staff was great - very accommodating. I loved the location because it was far enough from San Juan to be quiet and easy, but close enough to drive in for a few hours of wandering around old San Juan or head the other way to Isabela or Rincon. The building is a bit older, but it was very clean and they were painting the outside while we were there which made it look newer. The view from the balcony in our room was fantastic and the pool/beach area is absolutely wonderful. The bed was comfortable and it was quiet and peaceful. I didn't realize there would be full lap lanes in the pool (5 of them!). I was thrilled to be able to swim a mile or more every morning before the pool started to get busy - so great to get in a workout on vacation in an outdoor pool and then just head down to the beach to enjoy the sun and ocean after.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by joyce from San Juan

Familiar

Posted Apr 9, 2015 on Hotels
I Loved The Hotel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hong Kong

Right on the beach but no restaurant really

Posted Apr 4, 2015
Pros: Not much. Staff was nice.
Cons: Almost everything.
Location: Nothing really except within the resorts.
Underwhelming. Staff was very nice but the hotel is old and there's really no restaurant to speak of other than a little beach cafe with limited menu. Also, the area around the hotel (Dorado) is on complete lock down. Every other restaurant is behind a high security gate and you are NOT getting in without a reservation. There's virtually no resort shopping anywhere. Plantation Village is not open to the public and doesn't really have shopping or dining facilities anyway. The only food or shopping nearby is a strip mall with American fast food. There isn't much to do in the way of water sports because this side of the island seems to get too much wind and waves.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Im coming back

Posted Mar 25, 2015
Excellent and i have a great experience and coming back
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by TEOFILO from Tampa FL

Overnight Stay at Hyatt

Posted Mar 21, 2015 on Hotels
We were returning to San Juan March 17th to fly back to Tampa FL March 18th. Was in Puerto Rico to attend a funeral in Ponce. Found great deal for room at this hotel on hotel.com. It was what we needed for the overnight stay. However, I wouldn't stay there for an extended period of time because the hotel is very Dated. Old appliances, TV, furnishing. I heard they are remodeling and maybe if we had been placed in an updated room, we would choose to stay here when we return for a vacation in July 2015. The staff customer service was off the chart!!! Outstanding. Especially Gieng (?) who was working the front desk the evening of (March 18, 2015). He stayed on the telephone with us (we were lost) right up until we arrived at the front gate. The restaurant and gift store were a let down, but the ocean view is outstanding.