Ratings based on 13 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by Chris

Nice private house

Posted Dec 25, 2013
Pros: Roomy nice apartment with wi-fi
Cons: The mark up of 40 euros after we arrive from the guaranteed price on Expedia.. They owners of this private house did give us an option to cancel.
This was my third time to Venice and was not planning to spend the night. I had visiting family members who wanted to stay an extra day so I used the Expedia mobile app (love the app) to book this private house. If you have never been to Venice you should go. It is a collection of islands and you travel by water ferry or water taxi. Walking is really the only way to get around. There is a 24 hour parking garage near the bus terminal that will cost you 27 euros a day. That being said you are not going to drive and find parking at any hotel in Venice. This was a private house that is almost impossible to find at night and with GPS. First the address Sestiere Castello 1985 is a little misleading Sestiere Castello is a area of Venice not a street name. When you do find 1985 there is a little sign over the doorbell of the private house that you get the keys from. That is the only indication you are at casa MIA. When we arrived they added 40 euros to the booking price because it was Expedia incorrectly. For the extra price we probable would not have chosen this house.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Judy & Al from Boston

A casa mia (B&B)

Posted Aug 18, 2013 on Hotels.com
This place has pros and cons, but we recommend it for overall value in a city where most hotels are 2-3 times the cost. Not really a B&B as no meals, but it had a well-appointed kitchenette nicely stocked with tea & coffee. Room was spotless, bath was lovely, but overall there was too little space. Room was too small for queen bed and bed needed better mattress. This was, however, pleasantly off the beaten path in a charming neighborhood with great cafes, good restaurants, a lovely park, and friendly locals. It was a slice of living in Venice vs. a tourist hotel. Owners could not have been more helpful or charming! Word of caution: it's a bit of a hike (with stairs at bridges) from the closest vaporetto stop.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Pleasant good value B&B

Posted Jun 25, 2013
This B&B is located in Castello, away from the crowds and a pleasant stroll home each night. It is clean, bright and comfortable. They provided excellent instructions and map for finding it, and provided me with a helpful city map upon arrival (although I still got lost a million times, it's par for the course). I shared a bathroom with another room, but I never saw them and it was no trouble. Good value. Highly recommended. I had a room without breakfast, which worked well for me because it is close to a main street and it was easy to go grab (delicious) coffee, fruit and brioche. They are not allowed(?) to provide fresh fruits etc with their set breakfasts, so I don't think it's a big loss not to have breakfast included.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London, UK

Hard to Recommend

Posted May 20, 2013
My girlfriend and I stayed here when we visited Venice in May. We booked through Expedia and the payment conditions were that my credit card would be a guarantee and payment taken on check out. We got off to a bad start when rather surprisingly, the money was taken from my credit card a month before arrival and I was charged in GBP rather than Euros so paid a hefty commission on the balance. We arrived at 22:30 and paid a 50 Euro 'Late Fee' (this is charged if you check in after 9PM) and received a frosty reception from one of the hosts who told us to keep the noise down when we greeted her. We were also told there was no breakfast. I don't think we expected breakfast but I would maybe suggest the venue should not be called a 'Bed and Breakfast' to avoid any confusion. The room itself was clean and the bed was reasonably comfortable. We shared a bathroom with other guests. The bathroom itself was fine although having to take a key to the bathroom every time we used it was slightly annoying by the time we left. When we checked out the hosts allowed us to leave our bags as you would expect. When we returned to pick up the bags we asked to use the toilet (public toilets are rare in venice) and we were refused on the grounds that other guests had checked in. We thought this was rather unreasonable and left a bad taste. On the whole we enjoyed visiting Venice but would struggle to recommend staying at 'A Casa Mia'.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by jacob

close to colleseum

Posted Feb 19, 2013 on Hotels.com
Room was clean but they didn't have the double twin bed I requested. So I had to share a queen. Room was clean, staff was helpful, and it was close to sights. Hotel was not labled, the only way we found it was because of the picture on the website.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Katherine

Posted Nov 1, 2012 on Hotels.com
Thanks to Google maps were found it without too much difficulty-need to appreciate property numbering system rather than worry re street names. Small room but had everything we needed and of good quality. Breakfast could be better. Were concerned that location was a bit out of the way, but having taken boat bus along grand canal to get there from bus station (50 min) appreciated opportunity to view city this way. Wandered back to see St Marks square taking in meandering walkways between canals; would be easy to get lost. Plenty of reasonable cafes en route.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 24, 2011 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Great Britain

venice a casa mia

Posted Sep 19, 2011 on Hotels.com
it was exactly where we wanted to be. It was a shame no-one was there to meet us and I had to call although as requested they were aware of timings and we were pretty exactly on time. \Good job I had the number! Very brief intro to the place and the microwave never worked and we had only 2 knives and forks and a redundant Z-bed cluttering the room up along with broken coathangers. I say all this because it was not cheap and it was so nearly there just needing a bit more tlc and concentration on the details. I would reccommend this place but I would be careful who to. The position was so exactly right for us that it worked and we greatly enjoyed it . Quite close to perfection and taken on board these comments could make it so
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Meh

Posted Sep 15, 2011 on Hotels.com
This is an apartment to rent not a hotel, so you get no hotel amenities. The bed was not very comfortable at all. The location is ok, about a 15-20 minute walk to the main square. The apartment was fairly clean... but some hairs in the bathroom and we found a lot of ants.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Shan from San Diego, CA

Off the beaten path but close to San Marco

Posted Aug 14, 2011
We thought it would be hard to find the B&B but it was actually quiet easy. We had a hard time dropping off our luggage as our phones didn't work and no one was usually at the B&B, but we did manage to drop off luggage a few hours before check-in. Piero & Sylvia are both friendly and courteous; apparently I told them we would be arriving at 5pm so we weren't allowed to check in until then (even though check in is 3-9pm). We had a room above the kitchenette area, and had the entire floor to ourselves, which was nice. The kitchen area had an instant coffee machine (espresso, mokachino, cappacino, etc), a very mini refrigerator, library shelves, and salt/condiments. For breakfast, they put out a basket with our name on it with pre-packaged croissants, cookies, pastries etc. No fresh fruit or fresh baked goods, so its not a "traditional B&B" but they did still provide snacks. The bathroom has all updated fixtures and is done really well. The bedroom had AC and a king-sized bed. If you walk on the main waterfront area, its about a 10-15 min walk to San Marco Basilica. The B&B is in an area called Castello, which is not too far from the main area but its nice because its a little quieter and in a residential area so you get to see another side of Venice. Overall, we would stay there again and would recommend this B&B to others. Oh, in case you have allergies, they do have a cat in the house, but it mainly stays upstairs in Sylvia & Piero's quarters.