Ratings based on 316 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by peggy from nyc

Breakfast included with Room

Posted Apr 16, 2014
Pros: Location. It's close proximity to San Marco square. The breathtaking view of the grand canal.
Cons: Certain things in the room could be updated. Particularly the door frames, carpet and the doors. They are a bit dated.
Location: Gondola rides, vaporetto station, luxury goods shopping, San Marco, doge palace, accademia, Peggy Guggenheim, tourist office nearby, gelaterias.
Location was fabulous. I would rebook again with this hotel because of its location. Breakfast was great! Very good buffet with lots of choices, and the serving staff was really nice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jiu from Vancouver BC

Location, location

Posted Apr 14, 2014
Pros: great location. Grand Canal front complimentary breakfast.
Cons: hotel might need renovated. the traditional key can be replaced.
Location: Central located near by San Marko Sq. Brand name boutiques are just in front of the hotel. Private dock is convenient.
5 star hotel with a great location. Only complaint is that they attempted to charge 20$ fee for wifi, after complaint, they said they can offer free wifi. When login, actually no password is needed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by John from Belfast

Excellent hotel, centrally located

Posted Apr 13, 2014
Pros: Location, staff, high level of service.
Cons: Very little.
Location: Excellent location, in most historic part of Venice.
Stayed here for four days for wedding anniversary. It was a superb experience. We pre-booked a water taxi to and from hotel and the transfer was seamless. The staff in the hotel were consistently helpful. The location, just behind St Mark's Square and with a terrace facing onto the grand canal (on which we had breakfast every day), was equally hard to fault. Worth every penny.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by David from London

Hotel Bauer

Posted Feb 18, 2014
Pros: most everything
Cons: the bar at night lacks charm - not fun like the Gritti and certainly not tempting - a designer speaks - OH and pillows not great
Location: It's a case of "location, location, ,location!!" What to do? Just Venice
The charming welcome in the elegant lobby of the Hotel is a calming escape for the excitement of San Marco. The staff manage to tread that line between friendly charm and discretion without ever being intrusive. Breakfast in the best room overlooking the theatre of the Grand Canal where the decorated boats and their costumed occupants preparing to set off for the beginning of the Carnevale added further magic. A surprisingly warm February sun allowed for a delicious lunch on the terrace with "that view" plus the added extras of a constant stream of gondolas with masked and feathered occupants to keep both of us amused - all that and delicious food perfectly served.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Peter from London

Perfect new year break

Posted Jan 6, 2014
Pros: Location Quality of rooms Breakfast
Cons: The Wi-Fi...
Location: Most key sights are within walking distance, and if not both water taxis and gondolas are easily hired right by the hotel entrance.
Very comfortable hotel, well serviced and a warm friendly atmosphere. Location is perfect - a stone's throw from San Marco, and a short walk to the Accademia and the Rialto. Overall a lovely stay. Breakfast was good, with a fabulous view over the Salute church, and San Giorgio. Otherwise, we didn't eat in the restaurant as €600 per person for the New Year's Eve gourmet event was a bit rich, even for us British troughers... But with dozens of restaurants nearby, there really is no need to eat in the hotel. Our only niggle...the Wi-Fi costs €20 per stay, but was incredibly unreliable. We tried three different portable routers in the room to try and boost the very poor signal, but it was still erratic. Certainly something that should be fixed. The €20 charge was still on the bill when we chacked out, but was removed with little effort!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Excellent location in Venice

Posted Dec 21, 2013
Pros: Location, staff and ambience of Hotel.
Cons: Restaurant was very expensive.
Location: Superp location. Shops, gondola, sights and restaurants all in close vicinity.
Spent two nights at Bauer hotel for my daughther's 16th birthday. Arrived by private boat taxi to Bauer Hotel which was an excellent start. At check-in I was upgraded to next category of room. Had two connecting rooms on 5th floor which were very clean and spacious. All the staff were very helpful. The restaurant staff arranged a cake for my daughter's birthday. Overall, it was an excellent stay which we all enjoyed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 6, 2013
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by ana

Excellent

Posted Nov 19, 2013
Excellent location next to Marks Square, near the Vaporeto station that takes you around Venice and the other near islands, also near to the water transportation to the airport.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 12, 2013
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Janet from Houston, Texas

A Great Experience

Posted Oct 27, 2013
Pros: Service and location
Cons: Nothing
Location: Great location with St Mark's square and anything in the downtown was available by walking to it.
The service was exceptional, everytime we requested something, they provided it. It is in a great location, we could get anywhere we wanted to go within a walk. The hotel has been renovated and the rooms are very comfortable and bright!