Ratings based on 240 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Convenient, Affordable Hotel Near Train Station

Posted Jun 22, 2015
We were looking for a moderately priced hotel within walking distance of the train station, and settled on Hotel Alle Gugli. Location is excellent: less than 10 minute walk from train station and water taxis, lots of convenient shops, produce stands directly outside hotel. Our room was quiet and we did not hear any outside sounds. Very good WiFi. Outside shutters nicely block out the AM sun in you wish to sleep in. Be forewarned there is no elevator. We were on the top floor of a walk-up, but Luca very kindly carried my suitcase to the room. :-) Room is clean, functional and pleasant. The hotel staff are super nice and did a great job to make our stay comfortable. One caveat: the shower stall is *extremely* cramped with very sensitive handles. It is very easy to accidentally turn the nozzle to the extreme hot or cold, so be careful! That said... 1) the water pressure is excellent and 2) there is plenty of hot water. Also, the tap water is very clean, so no need to purchase bottled water. Finally, there is a very nice breakfast included in the stay, which consisted of: croissants, toast, cereal, quesadillas, variety of yogurt, and coffee/cappuccino/tea. I was very pleased with this hotel and absolutely recommend it for anyone who is looking for a clean, safe, convenient and affordable place.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vancouver

Smelly

Posted Jun 2, 2015
While the staff were amazing and the room was clean and what we expected in terms of size, there was a distinct smell of what seemed to be bug spray. The room smelled like RAID spray. Also, when the toilet was flushed, stinky sewer water gurgled up from the floor drain. If it weren't for these two faults, it would have been a pleasant stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from L

굴리에 역에서 가까움

Posted Jun 2, 2015
바닥을 밟을 때마다 소리가 큼 옆방 코고는 소리가 어마어마함 조식은 굿!!!!!!!!! 두세가지 파이랑 스프레드 치즈 요거트 간단하지만 괜찮았어요 굿굿
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from maine

Excellent Value. Friendly staff

Posted May 28, 2015
You can't beat the location!! Easy to find from the train station. There is no lift and our room was a 5th floor walkup. Hotel staff was very accommodating and knowledgeable. The room and bathroom was very clean. Considering it is on a busy street, it was amazingly quiet for sleeping. Good mattress, firm pillows. Breakfast was beyond expectation with coffee, fruit, pancakes, croissants, juice and many more items. And if that's not enough, there is a fruit and vegetable market immediately in front of the hotel. I would recommend without hesitation.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 15, 2015
Nice hotel for the price. Only negatives were tiny shower & wifi was ok.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Why we were disappointed with Hotel Alle Guglie

Posted May 12, 2015
Pros: We liked the location of the hotel, the reception staff were good, the breakfast was good.
Cons: The first room we were shown to should not be allocated to paying guests under any circumstances. It was the worst hotel room I have ever been in.
Location: Location was great
We had booked a triple room and we did not have expectations of anything too grand but upon our arrival we were shown to a room which was totally unsatisfactory. The room was so small with the three beds so close together that we had virtually no room for anything else on the floors. The 2 windows opened into a dark air shaft and brick wall so there was very little in the way of natural light. The bathroom was also very small with a miniscule shower that could hardly fit an average sized adult in it and it was impossible to turn around if you did get inside or to close the doors properly. Extremely unhappy we asked the receptionist if there was another room that we could move to instead. Yes, she said but it is next door and has a 66 step climb. The new room was lighter and airier and actually turned out to be fine apart from the fact that the shower was the same size as the first room. On our last night we went out to dinner and we checked with receptionist to make sure someone would be there to let us in but when we returned at 10.10 we found we were locked out. When the night porter finally came to let us in, after many attempts to get him, he was quite rude and yelled at us. We found this behaviour shocking and unacceptable and were very glad to be leaving the next day.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Melissa from Las Vegas

Old

Posted Apr 3, 2015 on Hotels
This hotel is very very old. The TV is in an odd corner and when I asked the front receptionist about the TV remote control they stated the guest before us stole it. They should have had a universal remote control and who is the say the guest before us stole it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sondrio

Economico e molto gentili

Posted Mar 27, 2015
L'unico difetto era che stanca estanca sotto il tetto ed essendo io alto ho picchiato un po di testate in bagno (dove diventava basso). Ottima posizione, Gente molto cordiale, pulito
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Luis from Sao Paulo

Bom hotel

Posted Mar 16, 2015 on Hotels
É um bom hotel. Quarto confortável. Pessoal atencioso. O ponto negativo é a falta de elevador. Ficamos no 3° andar e tivemos que subir com as malas super pesadas pela escada íngreme.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 18, 2015 on Hotels