Ratings based on 304 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent location

Posted Nov 1, 2014
Pros: Location. Staff. Price. Cleanliness.
Cons: A bit more variety at breakfast maybe?
Location: Excellent. Opposite St marks square. Enjoy a nice walk along zatterre
This hotel was an excellent choice for my first time in Venice. Great location, friendly staff and clean.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 30, 2014
Front desk helped us always even direction of our next destination with a clear English and good patient.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom UK

Great location

Posted Oct 11, 2014
Pros: Clean and comfortable
Cons: The minibar charges are HORRENDOUS, a real rip-off unfortunately. Even the receptionist looked embarrassed.
Location: The hotel is in a quiet spot, but very handy for the vaparetto and also the ferry to the airport, and a reasonable stroll to St Marks etc.
I stayed for four nights while exploring, and had a great time until I got the minibar bill ... OUTRAGEOUS! A bottle of water and two packets of crisps - 20 Euros. An unfortunate note on which to end a really enjoyable holiday.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom uk

Very good hotel in Academia, Venice.

Posted Oct 4, 2014
Pros: Clean, welcoming, friendly and an ideal location.
Cons: For me it is an ideal hotel to stay in and I am very happy with it just as it is. Thank you.
Location: Academia is a quiet location which includes the Guggenhime museum. There are a number of good restaurants within easy walking distance.
I first stayed at the American Hotel in Venice 10 years ago and booked here again as I had enjoyed the previous stay. Once again I found the hotel to be ideal for a short stay in Venice. It is ideally situated in a quiet area of Academia and perfect for walking to most areas on the two main islands. The blue line water bus from the airport stops a convenient five minutes walk away. The standing of the hotel exceeds the star rating in my opinion. The staff are also friendly and helpful. Even a stay in the annex right next to the main building is a real treat with spacious rooms and a courtyard garden.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location and wonderful service in Venice

Posted Aug 28, 2014
Pros: Service, location - away from the crowds but close to everything
Cons: nothing -
We had a wonderful experience with this hotel. Our third trip to Venice and the best accommodations were here at Hotel American Dinesen. The location very close to the Accademia bridge, very friendly and helpful staff. The hotel is old and charming - the buffet breakfast, which was included in our stay, was wonderful. There is a waiter there to serve coffee/beverages and to provide anything else you need. He was a smiling face welcoming us each morning. We recommend this hotel highly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by HarryJfrom Scarborough

Great hotel

Posted Aug 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
We stayed three nights at the American Dinesen and loved it. Lovely modern hotel in a great location, yet far enough away from the mad crowds.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Toronto, Canada

Quirky but decent hotel in Dorsuduro

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Pros: It was quirky and in a great - but off the beaten track - area.
Cons: It was fine for the rate.
Location: Great local wine bar within 2 min walk as well as the lovely promenade on the south of the island.
Overall, we found this a quirky and good place to stay. We walked easily to everything. It was quiet at night. Some of the hotel staff were exceedingly friendly (especially the man who brought up our luggage and worked in the breakfast room). It is close enough to the public water buses to walk with luggage on your way to/from the airport. The bathroom was clean. The bed comfortable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Ohio

Perfect.

Posted Aug 16, 2014
Location was lovely. Room with small balcony over canal made my trip. Great restaurant out the door. Would definitely recommend
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Oak Harbor, WA

Great location!

Posted Aug 14, 2014
Pros: Great location, spotlessly clean, comfy bed, large breakfast buffet.
Location: Location is great! Short walk to the Accademia bridge and vaporetto stop, and from there, easy to get anywhere.
Loved Venice! Next time, we'll skip the expensive and not-very-good restaurants in the city and just pick up food to go.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 7, 2014 on Hotels.com