Ratings based on 14 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Less than 5 minutes from Rialto

Posted Jul 26, 2014
The staff was wonderful, the room was clean & tidy. Mattress was a little lumpy but I still slept well. Closer to Rialto than San Marco & no bridge to cross with suitcase to go to airport. Close to everything including Mister Sandwich at Rialto - excellent "picante" sandwich!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Calgary, Canada

Nice conveniently located hotel.

Posted Jul 24, 2014
Unique hotel located close to both the Rialto Bridge and St. Mark's square. Clean with friendly staff that had great English skills. Our main bed was very comfortable, the kids beds were standard cots so not that great, but average for cots. The shower attachment to the wall was broken so you had to hold the wand, but that was just a small inconvenience.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

A nice Hotel close to the Rialto Bridge

Posted Jul 15, 2014
Pros: Cleanliness and comfort of the rooms
Cons: It is quite good overall for a hotel of this star rating
Location: Location is fabulous so close to the Rialto water bus and NO bridges to cross with your luggage on arrival. Lots of choices for eating around here.
Really nice and clean room although I did get the smallest single bed! The bathroom is also really small but that is Italy. bed was certainly comfortable and the staff friendly and very helpful with information. the restaurant on the ground floor is fine dining and expect to pay a lot for a small Amount of food on your plate. You will do better in the restaurants and eateries around the hotel. The only downside is that the restaurant is open until midnight every night and the music and noise will disturb your slumber if your room is above the enterance. Overall a nice stay in Venice and this hotel Liliana Australia
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Ramon, CA

Nice little hotel

Posted Jul 11, 2014
Pros: Cleanliness and décor.
Cons: Breakfast was just ok and stairs up to our room were very narrow so hard to maneuver with luggage. there is no elevator.
Location: Everything is within walking distance so location is great.
Nice hotel and very clean. Staff was helpful and friendly. We got a quad room and still there was enough space for the luggage
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location once you get oriented

Posted Jul 9, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: More lighting in the rooms
Location: Turn one way and in five minutes you are on San Marco square, walk the other way, the Rialto bridge!
Helpful and friendly staff. Clean room and good breakfast
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location; great value

Posted Jun 27, 2014
The location is excellent and the room was clean. The room itself was charming, but very small. Overall a good experience considering the affordable price.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tennessee

Wonderful staff, great location

Posted Jun 25, 2014
Pros: The staff
Location: Central location in Venice, easy walk to St Mark's square and Rialto Bridge. Plenty of eating and shopping within short walk.
Central location in Venice, easy walk to St Mark's square and Rialto Bridge. Staff was wonderful--very helpful in helping us schedule taxi, getting us early breakfast before we had to leave for our flight, and even making arrangements, promptly, to ship us back a couple of items we left there.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jon from London

Nice and simple hotel in a great location

Posted Jun 22, 2014
Pros: Location was excellent, the staff were very warm and welcoming, and the room ticked every box that needed ticking.
Location: Midway between Rialto and San Marco, with easy access to vaporetto and airport boat. Short walk to practically everywhere, but vaporettos are useful.
After practically ruining a trip to Rome last September by choosing a poor (but far from cheap!) hotel, I did better research this time and it paid off. The Al Gambero is halfway between the Rialto Bridge and Piazza San Marco, with a step-free walk of about 5 minutes to the vaporetto and airport boat stop at Rialto. The hotel is above a restaurant, and as such you have a flight of stairs to negotiate to get to the reception, with more inside the hotel (there doesn't appear to be a lift) so it is perhaps not recommended for those who are less able. The staff were very welcoming and helpful, although anyone expecting a modern business-type hotel elsewhere may find the old-fashioned ways of doing things here amusing. My single room (407) was small but well-appointed, and more than adequate for my needs. It had great views over the rooftops to the bell tower at San Marco, with the pleasing sounds of those bells to ease me into the morning. The window had shutters and sealed well, so both light and outside hubbub could be easily banished in the name of sleep. The room was air conditioned, and had a nice modern bathroom with a good shower. The buffet breakfast on the 1st floor (2nd floor if you are American) was nothing spectacular, but with a choice of pastries, cereals, fresh fruit, yoghurts, cold meats and cheeses, plus some less appetising offerings of bacon and scrambled egg, it was perfectly satisfactory. This is a good spot for a base in Venice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jon from London

Nice and simple hotel in a great location

Posted Jun 22, 2014
Pros: Location was excellent, the staff were very warm and welcoming, and the room ticked every box that needed ticking.
Location: Midway between Rialto and San Marco, with easy access to vaporetto and airport boat. Short walk to practically everywhere, but vaporettos are useful.
After practically ruining a trip to Rome last September by choosing a poor (but far from cheap!) hotel, I did better research this time and it paid off. The Al Gambero is halfway between the Rialto Bridge and Piazza San Marco, with a step-free walk of about 5 minutes to the vaporetto and airport boat stop at Rialto. The hotel is above a restaurant, and as such you have a flight of stairs to negotiate to get to the reception, with more inside the hotel (there doesn't appear to be a lift) so it is perhaps not recommended for those who are less able. The staff were very welcoming and helpful, although anyone expecting a modern business-type hotel elsewhere may find the old-fashioned ways of doing things here amusing. My single room (407) was small but well-appointed, and more than adequate for my needs. It had great views over the rooftops to the bell tower at San Marco, with the pleasing sounds of those bells to ease me into the morning. The window had shutters and sealed well, so both light and outside hubbub could be easily banished in the name of sleep. The room was air conditioned, and had a nice modern bathroom with a good shower. The buffet breakfast on the 1st floor (2nd floor if you are American) was nothing spectacular, but with a choice of pastries, cereals, fresh fruit, yoghurts, cold meats and cheeses, plus some less appetising offerings of bacon and scrambled egg, it was perfectly satisfactory. This is a good spot for a base in Venice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Graham from Perth Western Australia

Good location

Posted Jun 5, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: A lift would be desirable but the building design would not allow for this
Location: St Marks Square and the Grand Canal very close by plus many bars and eating places.
The hotel is in a good location and good directions provided by the hotel via email of how to get there from the airport, car and train station. The facilities were good but the main problem was the stair access - no lift - to my room on the 4th. floor.