Ratings based on 289 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Midlands, UK

Couldn't ask for much for

Posted Nov 18, 2014
Fantastic value for money. Perfect location, walking distance to pretty much everywhere. Very friendly staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Dublin

Loved it!

Posted Oct 27, 2014
Pros: Everything
Location: It is close by to everything in Venice.
I can't say enough about this hotel, we loved it, the staff were so friendly and professional and the location was perfect, just a 5 minute walk from St Marks Square, going to recommend to all my friends.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom London

Small hotel in great location.

Posted Oct 6, 2014
Location: Very close to Teatre Le Fenice and St Marks Square, also close to the grand canal.
If you have read even a few reviews you will already know to expect small rooms. Hotel Becher is adequate in size, but just ensure your expectations are realistic for a very small city trying to cram as much in. It has to be said that Hotel Becher is a small and basic hotel but it is in a great location and the staff are friendly and helpful. The breakfast is a small buffet but the chocolate croissants and muffins are amazing, and you can even have breakfast on their small decked area and watch the gondolas go by. If you are going to this city to stay in your hotel room then this probably isn't the hotel to do it, but if you want a great base to explore the city then you could do a lot worse. We had realistic expectations and were pleased with our choice. We had a pleasant stay and had no reason to moan at all.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Richmond, VA

Nice tiny hotel

Posted Sep 29, 2014
I did not understand this european thing for single and douple and ended up getting a superior single for me and wife! . It was extremely small for a couple but i think it should be just fine for a single guy/girl . Otherwise , clean room, super convinient location and helpfull staff ( they will keep your luggage after checking out to pick it up later ).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New York City

Great hotel in the heart of Venice

Posted Sep 10, 2014
We stayed in hotel Becher for 3 nights before our cruise and we loved it. Hotel in conveniently located in the heart of Venice, 5 min walk to San Marco square, 10 min walk to rialto bridge and academia museum. You can walk everywhere if you are staying in this hotel. The breakfast was very good and had good selection. The room with the canal view is small, but you have a nice view of the canal. If you don’t care for the view, the regular rooms are much bigger; the hotel has traditional Venetian décor, is very clean and has its own charm. The front desk staff is wonderful! They all are very nice, but especially Daniel and Anna are very helpful and very pleasant. They are very helpful with directions, give great recommendations for dinner and speak very good English. The hotel also has free wi-fi, just ask for password upon check-in. The hotel has its own pier, so the water taxi can drop you off and pick you up right from the hotel. It is the best value for you money given the location of the hotel and everything they can offer. We‘ll definitely stay there again
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom london

Great location for sight seeing

Posted Aug 30, 2014
The staff is very helpful and courteous. Unfortunately no tea or coffee making facilities in my room. Could do with more sockets ( I had a hell of a time trying to blow dry my hair; having brought my own hairdryer). My only complaint;lack of TV channels only restricted to 6 or 7 channels. Amazing enoteca close by. You can walk to Rialto and it's a lovely neighbourhood.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Tamworth, England.

Brilliant location, best nights sleep in ages!

Posted Aug 19, 2014
Cons: The breakfast room could have been bigger, but the staff managed it very well.
Location: Near to the old theatre to visit and lovely restaurants, shops and bars.
This hotel captured the essence of Venice, beautiful, comfortable and brilliant location. The staff were really helpful and pleasing. Views of the canal,bridges and the gondolas going past. We even used the hotel landing to board the speed boat to the airport on the last day....a God Send!. Thank you, we hope to visit again real soon....didn't want to leave.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom England

Lovely hotel next to the canals.

Posted Aug 16, 2014
Pros: Small traditional feel at the heart of main Venice attractions
Cons: Breakfast room down stairs cramped. Needs Tea and coffee facilities in room with some free bottled water rather than just the mini bar.
Location: Just walk down as many streets as you can and you will be surprised what you find much better than the main squares.
Lovely small boutique hotel overlooking one of the canals. A short walk from two Water bus stops close to the main St Marks Square but far enough away from the main tourist crowds. Staff friendly and helpful at reception allowed us into the room early. We paid for the room up grade overlooking the canal. Well worth the extra to be able to lean out of the balcony and watch the gondolas drifting by especially when the music ones came by. There is some noise in the morning with boats dropping off and collecting goods (we thought it made it unique - never thought watching the bin wagon could be so different). Good size room for the age of the building with decent sized bathroom and everything provided for. Room appeared traditional but still fresh and clean. Short walk to get to all the main tourist attractions, very handy on hot August days to walk back and cool down with the air conditioning (which you can keep on even when out of the room). Breakfast ok, served in a small room downstairs overlooking canal. Coffee could be better. Choice good for continental and effort made by hotel to meet Gluten Free needs. Can reserve a table outside by canal. No hot breakfast option.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Alabama

Definitely lived up to the hype.

Posted Aug 15, 2014
Pros: Everything
Cons: Extremely pleased, however they only accept cash as payment for taxes at the end of your stay. If I recall it is about 6 euros a day.
Location: Complimentary taxi from the hotel to Murano. Very easy to San Marco Plaza
Everything was great from checkin to checkout! Breakfast consisted of pastries, fresh fruits (sliced or whole), cereal, meats and cheese, fresh bread (with a toaster), juices and coffee. Pretty awesome for a continental breakfast. There was even a spot to sit on the canal and watch the morning traffic during breakfast. While I can't speak for all rooms, I was lucky enough to get the jr, suite. The pictures on the net don't do it justice. It was beautiful. We had a balcony that allowed us to enjoy the canal traffic all the time. It was a little noisy at night due to the gondola traffic not stopping until after 11pm, but what do you expect from a hotel built in the 1700's or later? All in all it was great, and for a surprise gift to my wife for her birthday, I don't think I could have found a better option for the price. I will definitely consider this hotel again should we return to Venice in the future. On a side note, there is a complimentary very nice taxi ride to and from Murano at one of the glass factories. Be prepared for pushy sales people. You don't have to buy anything from them, but they will try to sell you something. You don't have to take the ride back if you don't want to. Feel free to walk around the island after enjoying the demonstration and the glass factory show room. If you want to buy, feel free, but there are many other glass blowers on Murano that are much less expensive. If you turn down the ride back, you will have to pay to get back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Great hotel, close to everything

Posted Aug 12, 2014
Pros: Small & friendly hotel, great staff
Cons: Small breakfast area but loads of breakfast choice
Location: Location fab for St Marks Square, Railto Bridge and all waterbus stations with great access to Murano, Burano and Lido. Easy to get to from airport
Friendly, knowledgeable staff, especially Anna. Great location for St Marks Square, Railto Bridge and all waterbus stations with great access to Murano and Burano. Would definitely stay again.