Ratings based on 47 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

good

Posted Jul 24, 2014
I got breakfeast more than expected in IT................................................................................................
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
breakfast staff were fabulous, desk staff spoke less italian than i do.Hotel was clean and two of our beds were comfy, the other two were almost foldaway camp beds.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 31, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
by Sally from Cheltenham, UK

Beautifully peaceful setting but lacks comfort

Posted Apr 9, 2014
Pros: The serenity; the sense of peace and quiet that prevails over the whole of the Lido. The plentiful and convenient breakfast. The easygoing staff.
Cons: Carpets would be great in the rooms instead of laminate flooring. Beds should be proper double beds. Door was difficult to open and lock.
Location: The beach is just around the corner which must be great in summer. A little way up the street there are restaurants and bars. Whole island is lovely.
This hotel is situated on the Lido which is wonderfully peaceful and quiet, especially after spending a day in the hustle and bustle of central Venice. Lovely views out the back window onto the terrace, with small balconies. Breakfast very convenient, help-yourself style which suited us great - plenty of choice, whether you want cereal, bread, cheese, meats, fruit. Friendly and helpful staff, especially the breakfast waiter who we really liked. Unfortunately my first impression of the hotel wasn't great as we'd spent the whole day travelling and just wanted somewhere comfortable to come to at the end of it. The room at first sight was disappointing: two single beds pushed together as a double, cold, laminate flooring, and the whole room just a bit bare and cold. Over the course of our four nights there, though, we really warmed to the place - bed actually quite comfy. Just wish there were carpets instead of laminate flooring. Hotel is in easy walking distance of the pier for boats to Venice, which take about 15 minutes.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Kathy from California, USA

Everyone was so nice and helpful, above of beyond

Posted Oct 15, 2013
Pros: They greeted us with open arms. Gave us a plate of assorted breads, muffins, croissant and pastries, tea bags to take to the room, and offered us a f
Cons: NOTHING, EXCEPT OPEN MORE HOTELS WITH THE SAME OWNER AS THIS ONE IN OTHER COUNTRIES!
They greeted us with open arms. Gave us a plate of assorted breads, muffins, croissant and pastries, tea bags to take to the room, and offered us a free ride to a restaurant for both lunch and dinner, and waited for us and took us back. Oh my God! I will return to just stay with them and tour around the City. The next morning before taking us to the airport, which we paid for, round trip, cause they picked us up there and were returning us a total of 20 Euros for two coming and $15 returning @ 7am, but the buffet brunch was complete ready @ 6:15am. Too much! Several types of meats, both hot and cold, eggs both boiled and scrambled, potatoes, yogurt, 3 different types including Greek, 8 types of fruit, assorted breads, croissant, muffins, cookies, cute little pastries with jelly or cream centers, 3 types of juice, 2 types of milk, plus rich cream for coffee or cereal, which there were 3 types of cold and 2 types of hot cereal, waffles, pancakes, of course coffee, hot chocolate, and tea; and I have probably left out some choices.WOW! WONDERFUL!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel well positioned for beach, main high st

Posted Sep 29, 2013
We had a lovely stay just one staff member when standing in for breakfast lady was grumpy but it made us laugh all other staff were really helpful and pleasant, lovely location close to beach and high st and water buses, just short of tea and coffee in room facilities but the fridge was a nice surprise
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Grace M from Auckland

Great stay at the Hotel Byron

Posted Sep 21, 2013 on Hotels.com
We booked two nights to stay at Hotel Byron before our cruise in mid September. Unfortunately owing to flight arrangements, we arrived a day late and changed our booking to one night. Although it was not Venice the island itself but it turned out to be a great choice. We got to the hotel by Alilaguna water bus from the train station. It was an easy15 minutes walk from the stop. Reception explained could not give us the room we requested due to our change of booking. However, upgraded us to the apartment which was even nicer. Since we got there late, hubby needed to finish work with Internet before the cruise we just bought simple take away food and have it in the room and have a really good night sleep. Breakfast was simple continental breakfast but the setting at the garden was nice. We went to the beach in the morning, greeting the locals, a great start for the day! We would love to stay longer in Lido and Hotel Byron if we could have more time. We look forward to go to Venice again and stay in Lido and Hotel Byron.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by searle from london

Nice hotel near the beach

Posted Sep 14, 2013
Cons: Perhaps a little updating of the rooms.
Location: Te beach, jogging or walking on the promenade.
The Hotel Byron is an ideal locale for people who want a quietly elegant stay on the Lido. It is just behind the old Hotel Des Bains, 1 minute from the beach. The walk from the water bus station is about 10 minutes. The hotel suited me because the location is quiet, adjacent to the promenade, with a lovely courtyard for breakfast. This is not a hotel for those who like all their modern creature comforts, but if like me you enjoy simple old fashioned elegance and friendly staff, this is for you.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by ftma from venice, italy

Nice hotel close to the beach

Posted Aug 26, 2013
It was nice hotel with great location, just a few steps to the beach and the grandviale. The staff were friendly. I defenitly would recommend this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Paula from Boston, MA

A gem in Lido

Posted Jun 24, 2013
Pros: Amazing, kind and helpful staff, generous breakfast, tranquil and convenient location, comfy room, did I mention the people are wonderful?
Cons: Would be nice if wifi signal were stronger and if it was included in the room rate. Stronger fans in rooms. Only reason for 4 stars and not 5.
Location: Near the main drag in Lido so tons of shopping and dining, near the beach and beach bars, in a quiet neighborhood, 10-min walk to vaporetto terminal.
Hotel Byron is a gem, especially because of the courtesy and professionalism of its entire staff, always greeting us with a smile, immediately seeing to our needs. Someone sitting the desk 24/7. Bright, clean hotel. Belle epoque style with updated facilities. Room comfy and spotless, with shower, nice bed, big windows, mini-fridge, television and a fan. (Be aware, no air conditioning.) Housekeeping was great. The hotel is beautiful, rich carpets, marble floors, elevator, tree-shaded patios, new furniture, gorgeous breakfast room. A full cold breakfast with tea, coffee, cocoa, juice, fresh pastry, cheese, cold cuts, cookies, cereal, fruit and yogurt. 5-min. walk to the public beach and several little beach bars, 10-minute walk through a pretty neighborhood to the vaporetto. Staff readily helped with everything from directions to the grocery store, recommending wine, directions to the airport, and providing extra towels. Luggage room. Our 6-day stay was delightful. True hospitality. Minuses, only one - 7 euros a day for wifi (you can also pay 3 euros for an hour.) Technically wifi is in the rooms but the lobby is where the signal is. But the lobby is a lovely place to be, and it didn't stop us from having a fantastic time. Lido is a good getaway from the tourist crush of Venice, much calmer and laid back. A cheaper choice and you get the beach on top of everything else. Romantic and relaxing as all get-out