Ratings based on 59 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from scotland

Fab hotel in great location

Posted Aug 10, 2014
Fantastic location and great breakfast bar:very satisfied
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Decent hotel in Venice in a good location

Posted Apr 7, 2014
Cons: Our only complaints were that our room (Room 104) didn't have good wi-fi and that it was a bit noisy late at night from bars next door to the hotel...
This hotel was adequate for a few day stay in Venice...
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Conveniently located for prime places to visit

Posted Mar 24, 2014
Pros: It was OK. The staff were friendly and helpful.
Cons: The TV and satellite did not work -no news! Coffee/tea making facilities but never any milk, which we had to beg for each day.
Location: Not much to do close by - a bit of a hike to find traditional and attractive places to eat. Prime places to visit all in reasonable walking distance.
We loved Venice. This was our first visit but certainly not our last as we now want to really get to know the place. There are more menus to try and many fine buildings and antiquities that need more of our time. Venice is a wonderful experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Djuro from Houston, TX

Nice location, you are close to everything

Posted Mar 18, 2014
Pros: Location middle in the city, near a lot of famous places. Venice is always beautiful, and this hotel was good enough to enjoy it.
Cons: A lot. It is not really a 4 star hotel, but it is convenient for a stay over weekend.
Location: Theatre, churches, St. Marc plaza, galleries, extra luxury shopping, if you have a lot of money to spend, or just to look around...
The water bus is around the corner, St. Marc plaza in walking distance, as well as churches, galleries restaurants. Everybody knows that Venice is overpriced, exactly like this hotel. Everybody knows that 4 star in this city means for a lot of hotels only three ones. The location is hidden in a small street, but not unattractive. The breakfast was nice, the hotel staff pleasing and professional. For same price I had better hotels in Venice, but this one was all right. I enjoyed my time.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jason from London

Remarkable Value

Posted Jan 31, 2014
Pros: Room dize, location, efficient service
Cons: The "English" breakfast
Location: Very close to St Marco Piazza and to the water bus at San Angelus made this perfect
We chose this unseen. We were expecting a standard room, but must have been upgraded for it far exceeded our expectations - spacious and well appointed. The location was ideal - although initially difficult to find - and all the main sights were within a short walking distance. Breakfast was varied and plentiful, even if the bacon, egg and sausage were not of British standard. But paying less than £60 a night for bed and breakfast including a superb room for two in the heart of San Marco was remarkable - we have paid more for less in some not very exciting English towns.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Dmitry from New York

great value for money

Posted Dec 13, 2013
excellent location 20 m from La Fenice opera - when lost or coming for the first time just ask directions to the hotel and once you face the hotel, take the street to the right and it will lead to the hotel . the brkf was good , the room very decent and well appointed. it takes 5 min to San Marco sq and few min to good restaurants which are nothing to compare to the prices you will be charged next to San Marco. I will stay again with no hesitation for this price.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 21, 2013
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by traveldefect from London

Friendly and good service.

Posted Nov 7, 2013 on Hotels.com
The staff at reception gave us maps, directions and suggestions - this was very helpful. The rooms are also nice, but (too) bright and colourful, which could be a Venice thing? The TV is rubbish, the screen is fixed at an angle & Sky sports is blocked and maybe the service in Venice itself is patchy. Overall loved the place, especially the location. Thanks.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by june from newport on tay

Perfect location for seeing Venice.

Posted Oct 20, 2013
We were able to walk to everything and lots of lovely little restaurants and shops within 5 mins. Perfect location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Chris from Newcastle, England

Exellent hotel in a great location

Posted Aug 28, 2013
Pros: Helpful staff, clean and comfortable rooms, great breakfast and great surroundings.
Cons: The rooms could be a bit lighter, but that's difficult given the area and surrounding buildings.
Location: Excellent location very near St. Mark's Square but far enough to be away from the crowds. It's also not far from Rialto Bridge.
We had stayed in a hotel to the north of Venice the previous night with the same star rating, however hotel Ca' Alvise was so much better than the hotel the previous night. The staff were very friendly and helpful and also very courteous. The rooms were small (which is the norm for Venice) but well kept and had the modern conveniences you needed. The breakfast was excellent and the room was also lovely. I couldn't fault this hotel and would stay there again when visiting venice.