Ratings based on 35 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Courtney from Kenilworth, UK

Good hotel with great staff

Posted May 20, 2014
Pros: The staff were EXCELLENT
Cons: Screens in windows to keep out mosquitoes might be a good idea, if possible.
Location: It is down an alley on the main road, just about 400 meters from the train station. It is about a 20 min walk from St. Marco's Square. Good location
I had a bit of trouble finding the hotel at first...it's down a little alley down the main street. When I arrived, I was promptly checked in. I speak no Italian, so it was nice to deal with hotel staff that were fluent in English. The location of the hotel was great, only about a 5 min walk from the train station, so that was nice. The breakfast was good as well. My only complaint is that I got eaten alive by mosquitoes in the night, I ended up with about 20 bites on my arms, hands and neck in the first night due to sleeping with the windows open. (I went in mid-May, so it wasn't too hot, but it is something to keep in mind when travelling to Venice overall, I think). Also, there were a few ants in the bathroom, but overall, the cleanliness of the room and hotel was adequate.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Great hotel

Posted Sep 26, 2013 on Hotels.com
The staff was very helpful! Location was nice and close to the train station.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by John from upstate New York

Two nights in Venice - September 2013

Posted Sep 24, 2013
Pros: Location was convenient for our short stay in Venice, given that we arrived and departed by train.
Cons: Be aware that there is no elevator in this hotel. This was not an issue for us as we travel with minimal luggage.
Location: The hotel is 5 minutes from the vaporetto stop in front of the train station. From there you can go anywhere in Venice.
We arrived in Venice by train and this hotel is 5-10 minute walk from the St. Lucia train station. Make sure to get the walking directions from the hotel web site. I think that the room was good value for Venice. Breakfast was excellent and the hotel staff was very helpful, giving us some excellent restaurant recommendations and, in general, taking care of us
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Matthew from Toronto

Fantastic Venice Hotel located in ideal location!

Posted Aug 29, 2013
Pros: Location, helpful and friendly staff that can speak English, the level of cleanliness, comfort, spaciousness, and "homey" feel of Hotel Caprera
Cons: We had a fantastic stay, so we have nothing negative to say!
Location: 10 minute walk to Venezia Santa Lucia Train Station and Piazza. located right off Lista di Spagna.
The staff of Caprera were extremely kind and attentive, speaking English very well for North American guests. They were very helpful and always greeted my girlfriend and I with a friendly smile and greeting. The room was extremely spacious, the most spacious room we have had during our entire 21 day stay in Europe this summer. The room also had a balcony and air conditioner, which was amazing considering the August heat. Our private washroom was the largest one that we had encountered while in Europe, with a shower large enough by North American standards, with space to move around in, unlike most European showers. The hotel was extremely clean and quiet, we had no issues during our stay. The location was amazing because it is a 10 minute walk to the main train station, just off the main tourist street; it is close to main attractions, without the noise or chaos of "touristy"areas, located on a small and quiet side street. This hotel was worth what we paid for it, as the service, accommodations, and location were ideal, especially as we were only visiting Venice for 3 days. We would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants a great location, friendly and helpful staff, and clean and spacious accommodations. We will definitely visit Hotel Caprera when we visit Venice again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to train station

Posted Aug 23, 2013
Pros: Staff, location.
Cons: breakfast could start earlier.
Location: Many things to do in the city. Just take the boat bus and go to san marcos plaza or other islands quickly.
Nice place with helpful staff. Just what we need after one spectacular day in the city.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by KC from USA

Cozy but comfortable

Posted Aug 11, 2013 on Hotels.com
Great location in that its an easy walk from train station, but keep an eye out as it is down an alley. Room was very small, but good enough for 3 since we only slept there. Clean room and bathroom. N.B. there is no lift/elevator.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Nova Scotia

Small room but nice

Posted Aug 7, 2013 on Hotels.com
Our room came with air conditioning. We had a choice between two rooms and chose the small room to have air conditioning over the bigger room that had no air conditioning. This room was okay. If you have heavy luggage and have a hard time lifting or carrying that you may not want to select this hotel as they do not have an elevator and it's a long way to the third or fourth floor with heavy luggage. Breakfast was included a small continental breakfast which was nice. Staff were very friendly gave a map to assist us in getting to the square.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by AR from Seattle, WA

Good cheap hotel in Venice near train station

Posted Jul 28, 2013
Pros: Hotel staff, breakfast, proximity to the Venice train station, restaurants. (Although you can find restaurants in Venice everywhere)
Cons: Directions to reach the hotel, some signs along the street from the station should also help.
Location: Venice train station, grand canal, Gondola tours, water taxis, restaurants
The hotel is 2-star but we certainly thought the hotel was more like a 3-star. The staff was really helpful and provided us great directions on things to do in Venice. The breakfast was good and there were lot of good restaurants near the hotel. The only challenge we had was finding the hotel. It was located in one of the alleys on Lista Di Spagna and was very close to the train station. However, google maps had messed up the directions and it took us around 30 mins to find the hotel. Further, when we asked around, no one seemed to be knowing about the hotel. Apart from the initial setback, the rest of the experience at this hotel and in Venice was great. Definitely recommend the hotel especially because Venice has a lot of interior paths and its easy to get lost, so a location close to the station is always helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler from Rio de Janeiro

Great Location

Posted Jun 29, 2013 on Hotels.com
The hotel is located in an alley off the main road where it is listed so it took me a few back & forths to find it. If you arrive by train it is 5 minutes away from St Lucia and you wont have to lug your suitcases across town which is extremely taxing because of all the bridges and stone pavement. Very close to several vaporetto stops and the main bus terminal too. Venice is a walking city so you must walk (a lot) wherever you go so Hotel Caprera is very fair when it comes to price vs location. The room is very basic but clean, with a modern bathroom. No AC though, so if you come in summer get ready to sleep with a small electric fan cooling you down. The staff was super helpfull and nice. I must say that it has the feeling of a small family run business that cares for their guests. The were professional and quite cordial, from the front desk to the cleaning lady. Breakfast had all the basics to start the day and was very fresh. I would recommend it and stay there again. No elevators so be ready to carry your luggage upstairs.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Jane from Calgary

Posted Jun 19, 2013 on Hotels.com
Really liked the close proximity to the station and the ability to drop bags off early and also leave them there during the day. Breakfast could be a bit better.