Ratings based on 197 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from marietta, ga

Nice resort hotel away from the hustle bustle.

Posted Oct 29, 2014
Pros: Everything
Cons: My only recommendation would be to upgrade the hairdryers. Everything else was perfect.
Location: Not much nearby, but free shuttle to and from main attractions.
Our 25th Anniversary was great. We had a spacious sea view room and a surprise delivery of strawberries and champagne for our special day. Exceptional staff, especially the concierge, Anna, who recommended cafes and sites and travel arrangements. Kudos!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Scotland

Four blonde ladies celebrating 60 years

Posted Oct 21, 2014
Pros: Helpful staff, beautifully appointed, comfortable, private, peaceful.
Location: Easy access to Venice and all islands in lagoon. Shuttle runs regularly to heart of city. Travel by bus and train to other cities easy.
First impressions arriving in the dark by water taxi the hotel looked luxurious. Check in was smooth and fast. Reception were very helpful. Rooms were spacious, well decorated and clean. Foyer is airy and comfortable. Sea views wonderful. Choice of breakfast food was amazing. Function room restaurant magnificent. Complimentary water taxi from Excelsior to San Marco is a blessing. Temperatures usually dip in October however we were lucky experiencing a high of 24 degrees. Lounging at the pool was a very pleasant experience. Clean and heated. Great to swim in. Well appointed gymnasium. We were obviously booked in just out of season. The Lido is quiet. Given the still warm conditions, unfortunately, the air conditioning had been turned off. Bad management decision. They did provide fans when we complained of stuffy rooms. No ironing facilities in room a drawback. Drinks and food in hotel very expensive. A few good restaurants within walking distance. It is a bit more expensive for transport to and from airport but worth it in our opinion. Our 6 day holiday was a great experience. Would definitely return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from W

Lovely hotel out of the heticness.

Posted Oct 20, 2014
Wonderful hotel with transfers to st Marc's square perfect location, clean and organised. Room was a good size and very clean with a great view of Venice in the distance ... I'd 100 percent recommend this hotel. Venice was a beautiful city with amazing buildings history and food!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Hotel - Relaxing in Style

Posted Oct 14, 2014
Pros: Peaceful and clean
Cons: A little bit pricey
Everything is fantastic about this hotel - except for the mosquitos. Be sure to grab mosquito repellent from the front desk as my husband and I got eaten alive in our sleep.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia, PA

First class service and room!

Posted Oct 13, 2014
Pros: Good size room with a balcony looking towards Venice. You can also get a room with a beach view. We stayed in Venice on our return from cruise.
Cons: Pricing on food and the size of a martini. Other than that, my wife and I have already decided to return to Venice and stay here.
Location: The location is right on the beach. There are some shops and restaurants a block away. But even better are the shops and restaurants further inland.
Our first visit to Venice was great thanks to our stay at the Excelsior on the Lido. Not too many people are aware of the Lido which is good if you want to avoid crowds. We stayed here in early October when most people are gone because it is off-season. The temp was 75 degrees, the beach beautiful and it was the best hotel in the area. The hotel provides a convenient free shuttle boat to San Marco every hour which runs until midnight. Then only negative is the restaurant. The food and drinks were good but WAY overpriced and martinis were very small. A short walk to town gets you better food and pricing.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 17, 2014 by Hotel Management, Hotel Management
Dear John, thank you for your review and your stay with us! We are glad that you enjoyed our hotel and its privileged positions and we are sure that for your next visit you will find the most suitable for you food and beverage service between the ones vailable within the hotel itself. With best regards. Hotel Management.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Nice but remote

Posted Oct 3, 2014
Pros: Location on Lido
Cons: Reduce prices for food and drink.
Location: Location remote and nothing to do really
Stayed for four nights - lovely hotel and great position on The Lido but no other restaurants/bars in the near locality. Food and drink obscenely expensive and really not worth the cost. Free shuttle to St Marco very reliable. Building and style of common areas very good but lacks any atmosphere in the public areas as no one seems to eat/drink there - probably due to the cost. Outdoor pool is stunning and very warm to swim in
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, Canada

Beautiful hotel on the beach...

Posted Oct 2, 2014
Pros: Beach access and complementary water taxi to San Marco
Location: Walk from the Hotel along the beach, or thru the neighbourhoods, to the Lido shopping district with its shopping, bars and restaurants - about 20 min.
The hotel has the fantastic, sandy Lido Beach on one side with complementary water taxi access to San Marco on the the other side. The setting is stellar...a short water taxi ride away from the hustle and bustle of Venice with all the amenities of a luxury beachside resort.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 16, 2014 by Hotel Management, Hotel Management
Dear LW, thank you for your review: we are happy that you enjoyed our hotel and its privileged position! We look forward to welcoming you back! With best regards, Hotel Management.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

End of sept 2014

Posted Sep 30, 2014
We had a surprisingly good weekend at the end of sept. We were especially pleased with the size and comfort of the room not to mention the bottle of Prosecco offered by the hotel. But what really made it for us was the great breakfast spread, great swimming pool and the boat service to the mainland gave it the film star touch! A slight negative would be the confusing organisation at the hotel reception. - no matter who you asked for anything, it was always someone else's job - do you had to ask someone else! Bar and restaurant are over priced.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, BC

Staff are not so friendly

Posted Sep 30, 2014
Pros: Everything but not the staff
Cons: Hire Professional staff who knows how to deal with people
Location: Everything is near by , Private boats , and great experience with things around
Hotel Facilities are awesome , Over all this is a resort with all what you need with a great location , but if you don't deal with the staff , you will feel great in this place
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 26, 2014
Pros: Easy access with hotel shuttles and a quiet sandy beach to enjoy
Quiet from all the crowds of San Marco, yet only a quick complimentary boat ride away. Good buffet breakfast.