Ratings based on 76 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing and way over priced

Posted Oct 2, 2014
The location of this hotel is excellent. It is close to the train station, Piazzale Roma and the water buses. Breakfast is included in the price and is very good. It is however, way over priced for a 2 star hotel. It is a 2 star accommodation. The room is small and needs remodeled. The toilet seat was broken in our bathroom and was never repaired despite alerting the hotel staff. The lobby is small, the carpeting on the stairs very worn and no elevator to the upper floors. We were awake most of the night fighting off the mosquitoes. It might be that in Venice that is the going rate for 2 star accommodations, and if that is the case it makes you wonder if you really want to go to Venice at all at those prices!! I felt that I had been ripped off staying at the Hotel Florida and will never stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Phoenix, AZ

Nice get away in Venice for a day!

Posted Jul 22, 2014
Overall nice hotel, the location is very close to Venice train station and bus to/from to the airport.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Best to avoid

Posted Jun 28, 2014
Pros: Decent breakfast(and generous take away breakfast when we checkout early) and super close to train station
Cons: So many things!
Staff was good but hotel is pretty bad. For example, broken shower and staff couldn't fix it during our stay.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Terrible stay

Posted Jun 27, 2014
There was no WiFi in the room despite the claim "Free WiFi" in the hotel description -- what they mean is free WiFi in the lobby area which was very tiny. Sitting in their lobby was unbearably hot as they had an A/C unit running with the door open, so it felt very hot. We arrived during a heat wave, and one of the reasons we went with this hotel was because of the advertised A/C. The A/C in the room was better than nothing, but it really was not very good, and it felt uncomfortably hot throughout the night. Venice hotels are very expensive, and maybe this hotel is just like the rest of the 2-star hotels in Venice, but I would definitely not stay at this particular hotel ever again. The only nice thing about this hotel was its proximity to the train station. We didn't have to go far or cross any bridges with our luggages to get to their front door. I'm a first time traveler to Venice, so again, I can't compare this hotel with others in the area. To me, it seems overpriced and falsely advertised.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by strapple from Australia

Great location - near train station

Posted Jun 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
I booked this hotel last minute whilst on my European holiday. I booked this hotel because it was close to the train station (as I didn't want to take the water bus). The hotel was quite old and did not have lifts. Luckily I was placed on the 1st floor. The room itself was clean, however all the furniture and fittings required updating. The bathroom was small but it was big enough to cater to 1 person at a time. There were shower curtains (my pet peeve in a hotel room) had an odd smell to it. The hotel didn't have an facilities so there wasn't much to do at the hotel. I only stayed here for 2 nights and was great as a base to put my luggage and explore Venice the entire day. I would not stay here for any longer than that.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 5, 2013 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Wuh from Los Angeles

Ok for a short stay

Posted Aug 16, 2013 on Hotels.com
Hotel is located very close to the train station. Just a few minutes walk. Hotel is kind of old and the air condition is not working very well, especially in a hot summer day. We were ok to stay just one night.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Barters from Cambridgeshire, UK

Very acceptable 2 star hotel in a great location

Posted Aug 14, 2013 on Hotels.com
Hotel florida is a pleasant, basic 2 star hotel located about 80m from the station. We had a 2 night stay in room 23 which is a decent size with an ensuite. The room's decor was dated but seemed 'very Venice'. The bathroom was very small with a strange shower in a 3 foot bath which I have no desire to ever use again, but it did the job and it was nice to have the ensuite facility in a 2 star hotel. The breakfast was basic continental. Crossiants and rolls with a plate of ham, salami and cheese. It was edible and the coffee was decent. The hotel staff were very pleasant, incredibly helpful and considerate. They provided a free map and lots of useful information. All in all I would recommend the hotel. It is very well located in Venice and the amenities are more than acceptable for a 2 star hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Amazing location but horrible bathroom

Posted May 29, 2013
Pros: The friendliness of the staff
Cons: The horrible bathroom!
Location: The location is by far the best thing about this hotel! Centrally located and a short walk away from the Grand Canal.
As far as location goes, this Hotel is located at an amazing location, a short walk away from the grand canal and lots of shops and restaurants. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The only part that was extremely disappointing was the bathroom - it was very small, the shower had mold and mildew on it, and it smelled bad, even though there was an air freshener in there. So it seems like what you're really paying for is the location of the hotel, which, once again, was amazing! The rest of Venice seems like a labyrinth and it's very difficult to find things, but this hotel was in an open area and very easy to find without much walking required.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Carol from Sutton Coldfield, West Midlands, UK

Convenient but not so comfortable

Posted Apr 21, 2013
Pros: Convenience, friendliness and pleasantness of the staff
Cons: The beds were so hard and uncomfortable
Location: Absolutely great - a couple of minutes from the station
The hotel is in a really convenient location; only a couple of minutes from the station. The staff are pleasant and helpful and you can leave your luggage after checking out. There are stairs to the rooms so this can be tricky with heavy luggage and, as with all 3 of the hotels & B&B's we used this trip, the beds are really hard and uncomfortable. This may just be an Italian thing but it is the only downside to our Venice visit. Maybe this improves if you can afford to step up your accommodation to the next level. I would recommend it from the point of view of location and convenience but perhaps it's better for younger visitors who don't suffer the aches and pains of sleeping on a hard bed!