Ratings based on 74 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Phoenix, AZ

Nice get away in Venice for a day!

Posted Jul 22, 2014
Overall nice hotel, the location is very close to Venice train station and bus to/from to the airport.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Best to avoid

Posted Jun 28, 2014
Pros: Decent breakfast(and generous take away breakfast when we checkout early) and super close to train station
Cons: So many things!
Staff was good but hotel is pretty bad. For example, broken shower and staff couldn't fix it during our stay.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Terrible stay

Posted Jun 27, 2014
There was no WiFi in the room despite the claim "Free WiFi" in the hotel description -- what they mean is free WiFi in the lobby area which was very tiny. Sitting in their lobby was unbearably hot as they had an A/C unit running with the door open, so it felt very hot. We arrived during a heat wave, and one of the reasons we went with this hotel was because of the advertised A/C. The A/C in the room was better than nothing, but it really was not very good, and it felt uncomfortably hot throughout the night. Venice hotels are very expensive, and maybe this hotel is just like the rest of the 2-star hotels in Venice, but I would definitely not stay at this particular hotel ever again. The only nice thing about this hotel was its proximity to the train station. We didn't have to go far or cross any bridges with our luggages to get to their front door. I'm a first time traveler to Venice, so again, I can't compare this hotel with others in the area. To me, it seems overpriced and falsely advertised.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 5, 2013 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Wuh from Los Angeles

Ok for a short stay

Posted Aug 16, 2013 on Hotels.com
Hotel is located very close to the train station. Just a few minutes walk. Hotel is kind of old and the air condition is not working very well, especially in a hot summer day. We were ok to stay just one night.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Barters from Cambridgeshire, UK

Very acceptable 2 star hotel in a great location

Posted Aug 14, 2013 on Hotels.com
Hotel florida is a pleasant, basic 2 star hotel located about 80m from the station. We had a 2 night stay in room 23 which is a decent size with an ensuite. The room's decor was dated but seemed 'very Venice'. The bathroom was very small with a strange shower in a 3 foot bath which I have no desire to ever use again, but it did the job and it was nice to have the ensuite facility in a 2 star hotel. The breakfast was basic continental. Crossiants and rolls with a plate of ham, salami and cheese. It was edible and the coffee was decent. The hotel staff were very pleasant, incredibly helpful and considerate. They provided a free map and lots of useful information. All in all I would recommend the hotel. It is very well located in Venice and the amenities are more than acceptable for a 2 star hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Amazing location but horrible bathroom

Posted May 29, 2013
Pros: The friendliness of the staff
Cons: The horrible bathroom!
Location: The location is by far the best thing about this hotel! Centrally located and a short walk away from the Grand Canal.
As far as location goes, this Hotel is located at an amazing location, a short walk away from the grand canal and lots of shops and restaurants. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The only part that was extremely disappointing was the bathroom - it was very small, the shower had mold and mildew on it, and it smelled bad, even though there was an air freshener in there. So it seems like what you're really paying for is the location of the hotel, which, once again, was amazing! The rest of Venice seems like a labyrinth and it's very difficult to find things, but this hotel was in an open area and very easy to find without much walking required.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Carol from Sutton Coldfield, West Midlands, UK

Convenient but not so comfortable

Posted Apr 21, 2013
Pros: Convenience, friendliness and pleasantness of the staff
Cons: The beds were so hard and uncomfortable
Location: Absolutely great - a couple of minutes from the station
The hotel is in a really convenient location; only a couple of minutes from the station. The staff are pleasant and helpful and you can leave your luggage after checking out. There are stairs to the rooms so this can be tricky with heavy luggage and, as with all 3 of the hotels & B&B's we used this trip, the beds are really hard and uncomfortable. This may just be an Italian thing but it is the only downside to our Venice visit. Maybe this improves if you can afford to step up your accommodation to the next level. I would recommend it from the point of view of location and convenience but perhaps it's better for younger visitors who don't suffer the aches and pains of sleeping on a hard bed!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Lisa from Snowy Mountains, NSW, Australia

Great little hotel for all adults.

Posted Feb 26, 2013
Pros: It's location.
Cons: The bed is not very comfortable, but good enough.
Location: Spot on! Walk out the train station, turn left past the first church, down the little alley. Maybe 150m max.
The Florida is a very charming hotel. It's chintzy appearance is what's charming. The staff are very welcoming and friendly. The location is great - right near the main train station, the boat transport for the Grand Canal and a good starting point for walking around Venice. There is no view, as it is up a small alley, but that is ok since you walk around all day admiring all sorts of views! There are also many good restaurants nearby, especially the one right next door - Il Sandolo - the food is so good for the price.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Robin from London, UK

Pleasant

Posted Feb 24, 2012
Pros: Staff, central heating, cozy
Cons: Twin beds in a (small) double room
Location: Nice and close to the station, walking distance to everywhere (as long as you don't mind crowds and bridges)
Very enjoyable place to stay with lovely staff. The hotel was charming but the room was a little bit on the small side.