Ratings based on 14 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Hotel Fontana Venice

Posted Jul 13, 2014
Pros: Good location - basic amenities but fine!
Location: 2 mins from San Marco/Zaccaria waterbus stop. @ mins from St Mark's Square etc, so very central.
Recommended to us - we recommend it on to anyone else!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Friendly hotel, close to San Marco

Posted Jul 9, 2014
Pros: The staff were very welcoming and friendly. It was a clean and pleasant place to stay.
Cons: The breakfast was a little drab, with coffee from a machine, but that is a minor gripe (there were plenty of places nearby to grab an espresso)
Location: It's very close to San Marco, and the Zattare traghetto stop, but still feels like an escape from the tourist masses. An ideal spot to explore Venice
We stayed at Casa Fontana for three nights. It's a small, unpretentious place that perfectly fitted our needs. The staff were friendly and helpful. We had no complaints at all. The location is superb - it's about three minutes walk from San Marco, but still feels a comfortable distance from the tourist hordes. It's also very convenient for the Zattare traghetto stop. Our room overlooked a small square, with some pizzerias and bars, but we didn't get any noise during the night. I would definitely recommend the hotel, and we would be happy to stay there next time we're in Venice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Pat from Chicago

Kind helpful staff/great location

Posted Jun 15, 2014
Pros: Charm and location
Location: Easily accessible from boat docks and near San Marcos.
On our first day in Venice, my companion fell and broke her leg at a nearby museum. The hotel staff was so kind and helpful--especially Mr. Davide. So, this charming boutique hotel is more than just conveniently located near San Marcos; it is staffed by wonderful people.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 24, 2014 by Diego Stainer, Hotel Management
Dear Madam, thank you very much for your positive comment. I very well remember what has happened to your companion, very sad, and I hope she's well now. Hotel Fontana Staff and me (Diego, not Davide) really appreciate you words.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice hotel, good location, expensive

Posted May 29, 2014
Pros: location, stuff, cleaning
Cons: wifi to the rooms as well, not only at the bar
Location: very good location, you can walk all your way in venice
good hotel, i could recommend. no wifi in the rooms. good location
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Richard from Birmingham

Nice hotel would stay here again

Posted May 24, 2014
Pros: The excellent location and apart from the sound of the local church bells the hotel is reasonably quiet. Breakfast was great.
Cons: This is not a cheap hotel but it is cheaper than some and does provide good value for money.
Great location so close to San Marco square. Nothing was too much trouble for the hotel staff. I had a problem with the Air Con which was resolved immediately. Was also advised on where to get a great meal for a reasonable price. Very useful as some of the touristy restaurants charge an arm and leg but do not always provide great service and cuisine.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Great Service Great Location

Posted May 8, 2014 on Hotels.com
Hotel Staff very friendly and helpful Breakfast was good
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Bob from Houston, TX

Friendly hotel in great location

Posted May 5, 2014
Pros: location was great and the staff very helpful
Cons: breakfast was good and served early, but it didn't have as many choices as some other hotels we stayed at in Italy.
Location: very close to St. Marc's square and the water bus, so you are close to most everything.
Family owned hotel with the owner working the desk during the days. Very friendly and helpful. He made some excellent restaurant recommendations. The location is excellent. 2 minute walk to St. Marc's square and only a 2 block walk from the water bus.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by JMG from Bucks, England

Great location

Posted Mar 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
Friendly, family-run hotel. Very quiet central location, despite being opposite three restaurants and small bar, less than five minute walk to St Mark's Square. Easy to get to from vaporetta stops. Our room had a small balcony but it was too cold in March to sit out there. Small room, but comfortable for two people. Comfortable bed (twins pushed together), clean room. Sky TV had to be paid for if required. WiFi only available downstairs in small bar area. All in all a very enjoyable stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Nanette from California

Great location!

Posted Mar 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
Great location, helpful staff spoke good English, nice breakfast, better than average sized shower. Not far from vaporetto stop. Free wi-fi in bar area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

At home in Venice

Posted Feb 24, 2014
I spent a week at the Casa Fontana and was sad to leave. The best thing about the place is the location - just a couple hundred yards from Piazza San Marco on one side and the San Zaccaria vaporetto stops on the other, yet in the more serene Castello neighborhood, which is mostly free from the tourist mobs and has a real Venetian feel. There's a great little bar (Becaro Risorto) right next door and an excellent coffee shop across the street, both of which I made sure to visit every day. The hotel is family-owned and operated and the staff could not be more friendly. My room was simple, quiet, and comfortable, with a nice view of the white facade of San Zaccaria in the morning sun. Breakfast was simple but more than adequate. Wi-fi is available only in the bar area. In many ways, I felt more like I was staying with a favorite aunt than staying at a hotel. I hope to get back to Venice soon, and if I do, I will be back at Casa Fontana.