Ratings based on 11 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.9 out of 5
55% of guests recommend
3.0 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
2.6 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by Joe from Massachusetts

Sincerely disappointed!

Posted Mar 18, 2014
Pros: Its proximity to the Rialto Bridge.
Cons: Too much to mention.
Location: It's Venice!!!!
I am sorry to report that, having brought a small group to this hotel in October, we all had a ghastly time. It is true that one draw for this hotel is the fact that it is only several yards away from the Rialto Bridge. That is the only draw. It is rated 3 stars, but doesn't deserve more that 2 stars. Not having an elevator is nearly unforgivable for a 3 star hotel, but the stairs leading up were disgusting and in disrepair. The rooms were shabby, and one of them could only be entered by crossing through an outside hallway filled with dirty debris. I would like to report that the breakfasts were satisfactory, but they weren't. Since the hotel is connected to an upscale restaurant, we thought we would be getting good brakfasts. What we got was insufficient and sometimes stale. The coffee maker was broken for 3 of our 5 days (only once was it fixed). Although the desk help was usually pleasant, the porters did not have enough English. A final insult was being told that getting our luggage to a taxi only 30 feet away, would cost $7 per piece. I have always enjoyed bringing groups to Venice, but this hotel was an unmitigated disaster. Stay away.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Fantastic location

Posted Oct 7, 2013 on Hotels.com
Fantastic location one street back from Rialto Bridge. Friendly staff, nice room and hotel overall, lots of steps to room, but we expected that being Venice - helps to burn off the pasta and gelato! Restaurant excellent, try the Sea Bass! Only suggestion would be to have more power points in the rooms.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Hughes' from NYC

Great Service!

Posted Oct 1, 2013 on Hotels.com
Young Married couple from NYC. Wifi signal was quiet week, a usual problem for hotels I think though. We we arrived we were told there was a problem with our room and so the provided use with an apartment just around the corner. They offerd to take our bags there and then the next day whilst we were out to move our bags to the room at the hotel for our second night. I wasn't too happy about this, and after a mad dash through the crowds with the bags we had a fantastic Italian apartment which probably would have cost 3 times as much as our room! It was on a quiet alley just a few blocks away and was v modern with quirky decor, a lovely fireplace and kitchenette. The location of the hotel was great, right next to the Rialto Bridge but down a little alley so was not noisy whatsoever. Finding your way is hard in Venice but close by there was a mosaic on the pavement which pointed you in the right direction to the hotel. They also had a lovely modern reception and attached restaurant (although we didn't eat there it looked v nice). The room itself was over the top Italian decor, just what we expected! I would definitely stay there again. 24hr reception also.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sutton Coldfield, West Midlands

Convenient location. Hotel needs updating. Breakfast poor.

Posted Sep 15, 2006
2 rooms, 1 week. Superior 18 (double) & 21 (twin), 4th floor (no lift). Rooms small & cramped, little storage space, dated decoration, comfy beds, small ensuites, showers work, old but working TVs, no tea/coffee facilities. 18: small terrace & effective A/C. 21: no terrace & A/C not as efficient. Showers need big clean, dirty. Shower door in 21 broken. Convenient, quiet location down alley (no view). Rialto Bridge close. Lobby has A/C but not always on. Deposit boxes in lobby. Staff polite & friendly. One receptionist smokes, lobby air unpleasant when on duty. Breakfast room tiny, cramped & hot, insufficient tables. Once queued for15 mins. Bfast food poor. Bread, cereals & coffee OK. Horrible red drink masquerading as juice. Tinned fruit in syrup, bland tasting sliced cheese & pots of sweetened yogurt. Over Rialto Bridge is great food market, wonderful fresh fruit etc, why none available at breakfast (instead of tinned apology for fruit) is a mystery. Needs redecoration on stairs & communal areas. Carpet threadbare & dirty, needs replacing. No lounge or restaurant. Couldnt find smoke alarm in rooms. Couldnt see smoke alarms on every floor. No fire escape plans. Fire hose on wall & think we had fire doors. Could escape to terrace from R18 but from R21 you would be stuck. Fire engine couldnt get down small alley. Assume arrangements in place to put out fires & rescue people! Not value for money. Needs update to todays standards & to address possible fire safety issues.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Will not go back

Posted Sep 6, 2006
Staff was not helpful at all, if you come back to the hotel after midnight it seems a burden to get the porter to open the door. Staff was more interested in selling you services from it seems like partner businesses as opposed to giving advice on transport to hotel that is practical and economical. Had to get my own info outside of hotel. Room was old and run down, mold in the shower and shower door broken. There are better hotels for the price, right in Venice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from South San Francisco, CA

Ciao Italia!

Posted Jun 27, 2006
This hotel was nice. It was hidden back in an alley behind the Rialto Bridge, but very easy to find! Our room was on the top floor, five flights of stairs up! Although the room was small, as we've heard most rooms are in Italy, it was quite nice. There was a little bouquet of orchids on the bed when we arrived. I thought I was on my honeymoon again! The breakfast room was pretty and they made an awesome cappuchino! I miss Italy already!
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 29, 2006
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, GA, USA

Better than most

Posted Jan 11, 2006
By European hotel standards, this was better than average. The location was ideal being right next to rialto bridge. Breakfast buffet had everything, the room had everything. It was a nice stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 26, 2005
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NJ

A Graspo De Ua

Posted Nov 13, 2004
Room did not match description on expedia site. What they say on the site as room description is not what you get. Rooms are dirty. Hotel is centrally located but in a back alley. Out the window you have a view of nothing but some dirty restaurant kitchens. Would not recommend staying here.