Ratings based on 18 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ruislip, Middlesex, England

Great location but don't expect luxury!!

Posted Aug 17, 2014
Pros: Helpful staff, great selection for breakfast, fantastic location
Cons: The hotel is a little 'tired'. I assume this is to retain its Venetian charm but it could do with being spruced up just a bit.
Location: Water bus stops nearby to visit the Lidos, Grande Canal and a couple of islands. Walking distance to St Marks Square, Rialto Bridge & Bridge of Sighs
I am a great believer that when you go on holiday you have to compromise if you are on a budget - this hotel is not my home so it was never going to feel like home. It is difficult to find, carting heavy suitcases up the stairs is a pain and the rooms that we had are tiny. However, it is in a great location, the staff were really helpful and we enjoyed watching and listening to the gondoliers from our canal side rooms. Breakfast was more than enough - croissants, yoghurts, cold meats & bread, cereals plus coffee, tea and juices. The hotel is just 5 minutes walk from San Marco Vallarese & Giardinetti water bus stops and 6 minutes from San Marco Zaccaria water bus stop. It is also just a few minutes walk to St Mark's Square and 10 minutes walk from Rialto Bridge. The gondolier station is just seconds from the hotel. We stayed for 2 nights which was just about right because the rooms do become claustrophobic. My biggest complaint is that the hotel charges per device to access the wifi. So with two teenage boys, I had to pay double for them to have 2 hours to access wifi on their phones. When many restaurants are offering free wifi I think the Lisbona should review their charging policy. Tip: Ask the hotel to send you directions. They are quite accurate but just remember when you cross over the bridge at San Moise, turn immediately left and walk under the arch below the sign that says 'Hotel Violino D'Oro' and at the end is the Lisbona.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Salem, OR

Great location right near San Marco Square

Posted Jul 11, 2014
The staff was very helpful, especially with information about the best route to take when we needed to get to the airport early in the morning. The room was clean with a great view over the canal but so tiny there was hardly room to put our suitcase down and get around it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 9, 2014
The view overlooking the canal from our room was spectacular! I was a little worried that their would be noise in the evening that would keep us awake, but I was pleasantly surprised. We slept wonderfully. We loved the history and charm of Hotel Lisbona. I would definitely go back!! Thank you for your hospitality.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by Al from NJ

Wonderful location near San Marco.

Posted Jun 13, 2014
Pros: Breakfast was very good. Staff knowledgeable and helpful. Best was location, which was why we picked it.
Cons: Its old, of course. Our room was on top floor and no elevator. Room itself was small, just enough room to walk around.
Location: A terrific location for Doges Palace, Accademia, San Marco square, walks along Grand Canal
Very convenient location off San Marco and Grand Canal. Its an old hotel as most are in Venice so accommodations are basic in accordance with rating.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location poor service

Posted Jun 11, 2014
Pros: View and Loc atio.
Cons: Service
Location: Access to transportation and sightseeing was great.
We were met by James at the front desk who proceeded to show us to our rooms 41 steps up to the second floor without offering to carry a bag or help. Our group was two women and a 77 year old man. Not a great first immpression. Wi Fi was extra at 3 euros per hour. The rooms were small with very small bathroom facilities. On the positive side the location was great. Our two rooms had canal views and we were two or three minutes form St. Marks square. Ther was one employee, Christoforo who was very helpful with information and reservations for water taxi to the airport. Based on previous stays in Venice I would recommend looking elsewhere.
2 out of 5
by Denise from Birmingham, AL

Marginal hotel on a canal

Posted May 31, 2014
Pros: It was convenient to San Marco square.
Cons: The attitude of the breakfast server could use a huge improvement. Start breakfast earlier and provide coffee for early-rising guests at no charge.
Location: It is close to San Marco Square and not far from the Grand Canal, so it was not too hard to get to water transportation.
Our room was tiny, decor outdated and worn. The air conditioner was inefficient. There was no elevator and the staircase had no landings, making the trek up to our room a challenge, even for the fittest. The breakfast was disappointing with stale croissants on our second day. Breakfast was served at 8:00, and if one wanted coffee before then, there was an extra charge for it. For the price, this hotel did not live up to it description.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Great Location in Venice

Posted May 29, 2014
Pros: Location, staff, breakfast
Cons: Bed was a little hard.
Super location right on lively canal and minutes from St Marks Sq. Great staff. Nice Breakfast. Very small room. The queen size bed took up most of the space. Everyone was friendly and the desk staff gave us great recommendations for place to eat/drink.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Wonderful location and friendly staff

Posted Apr 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
The smallest hotel room I have ever seen and a teeny tiny bathroom that was newly remodeled. Clean and comfortable. No elevator and a lot of stairs. Lovely lobby and you can sometimes hear the singing from passing gondolas from your room, which was wonderful. The location is a block from San Marco Square and there are lots of restaurants nearby. I loved the location. The staff is extremely helpful. The breakfast was good, too. I would recommend it, but not for people who have trouble with stairs.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Great Location and a Great View

Posted Mar 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
This hotel was only a few minutes from Piazzo San Marco and was perfect for our needs, especially considering we only had a short time in Venice. Most (possibly all?) of the rooms have a great view overlooking a smaller canal. Our room was on the second floor and was much larger than expected. The bathroom was also very large and modern. Breakfast was nice and offered all of the usuals: pastries, fruit, cereal, meats and cheeses. The man at the front desk that greeted us (the owner I am guessing) was very nice and provided recommendations for dinner upon request. Really, the only downside I can think of is the fact that WiFi is not offered for free. This was not an issue for us since we only stayed one night, but it may be something to consider for longer stays. Overall, we were very happy with our decision, especially considering the price when compared with other options in Venice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Osmay from Miami, fl

Great hotel!!!

Posted Feb 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
Great location, friendly service and confortable, I will go back to this place!