Ratings based on 62 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Worcestershire

Shame about its lack of attention to detail

Posted May 1, 2015
Pros: good friendly staff. Good restaurant and hotels location
Cons: Room cleanliness and improvements
Location: Central Dorsodoro
We first stayed at the Messner Hotel two years ago on an Easy Jet package and found it excellent value for money, well-placed, clean and with friendly staff, so we had no hesitation in returning this year on a British Airways package for a four-night stay. This time we were in a building just around the corner that I assume is mainly used for groups of students. The key to the main door wouldn’t work properly, so a large stone was used to prop it open. We were in room 22. It was desperately in need of some tlc. The “wardrobe” was behind the beds and to hang anything up it was necessary to stand on the beds. Inconvenient, but it gave us a laugh as it would be more suitable for Olympic Trampolinists! At least the air-conditioning unit worked as the room was rather warm. The bathroom was scruffy but functional, but the mould or discoloured layers of caulk around the shower were off-putting, the top of the tap was missing and limescale encrusted. The bedside light above my head had the glass missing, but it worked and the words “Guy was here” were inscribed in felt tip on the unit. There was also a dirty towel left on the radiator. However, on deciding to leave our valuables in the safe, we found it was not screwed on to anything and was completely portable so not very good for our passports etc. The bed was firm but comfortable, there were spare blankets and pillows, but we decided to ask if we could be moved the next morning. The man on reception was extremely plea
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Meurchin France

Hotel bien placé à prix très raisonnable.

Posted Apr 27, 2015
Pros: le décor d époque et le calme
Cons: Pour les long séjour un choix de restauration différentes
Location: La proximité de la place saint Marco et du vaporetto.Le prix des transports vaporretto sont excessifs
Hotel bien placé pas trop loin du centre ni des vaporetto.Confort raisonnable sans exces,cependant la literie de 180 cm est super et de bonne qualité. Nous étions dans l annexe est bien au calme.Marc Angelo est très acceuillant à la réception et parle également bien le français.Restauration sur place pratique cependant la même carte tous les jours finit par nous lasser.Un plat du jour serait le bien venu pour les séjours " long "
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Toronto

Reasonable accomodation

Posted Apr 17, 2015
Pros: Close to the action but lower on price. A very short walk from the waterway bus stop on the main line.
Hotel was quite dated. Some care could go into it to make it nicer, such as washing the bug splatters off the ceiling. Actual curtains instead of light cloth would have meant the neighbors didn't see straight into the room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Utrecht

Goede locatie, keurig hotel!

Posted Mar 18, 2015
Pros: Locatie, prijs, kamer, allemaal hartstikke goed! Echt een aanrader!
Cons: Nadeel aan Venetië is dat het eten vaak de Italiaanse standaard niet haalt. Het hotel kan ik geen serieuze op- of aanmerkingen over bedenken.
Location: Tip: Secret Tour in het Dogenpaleis, restaurant Al Storica da Crea aan de zuidoever van Giudecca (entree via de scheepswerf) met prachtig uitzicht.
Prima locatie op zo'n 200 meter van Vaparetto-stop Salute, dus je bent in no-time op San Marco of waar dan ook aan het Canal Grande, ook Giudecca is met een overstapje zo bereikt. Het personeel van het hotel is uitermate keurig en beleefd. De kamers zijn ruim met enorme spiegel en tv. Badkamer ook helemaal prima. Hooguit een tikkeltje schimmel in de douche. Toen we zelf een extra deken op het bed hadden gelegd, werd dat bovendien meegenomen in het opnieuw opmaken van het bed. Het ontbijt is, zeker voor Italiaanse begrippen, erg ruim en keurig! Ondanks de fikse korting die je als 'hotelbewoner' krijgt voor het bij het hotel behorende restaurant, raden we dat af. Eten daar was erg slecht, personeel ook matig. Wij kiezen volgende keer weer voor Messner!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 17, 2015
Camera gradevole in una zona centrale ma ancora vivibile
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Kleines Hotel am Kanal

Posted Jan 28, 2015
Nettes, sauberes Zimmer, nur etwas beengt, zumindest im Winter wäre eine dickere Decke schön, vielleicht auch noch ein Schreibtisch.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Kerrifrom Saskatoon

I'd agree- a 2 star- but do-able.

Posted Jan 12, 2015 on Hotels.com
Was pretty leary of staying here at first- and I would say it may not be for everyone- but the location is very convenient and the breakfast was great ! Our room was crammed as we had a set of bunk beds squeezed next to our double bed- and we never figured out the heating in our room- so we doubled up on blankets - but we should have maybe asked for help- especially as it was unexpectedly cold in Venice the week we were there. It truly felt like an annex. Apparently others enjoyed the other main section of the hotel better. Definitely not new. But very close to the vaporetto stop- so nice location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Barcelona

Muy bien ubicado y silencioso.

Posted Jan 9, 2015
Hemos tenido una estancia muy agradable en Venecia. El hotel es pequeno y acogedor aunque el personal es un poco frio.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by sandrafrom barcelonnette

joli sejour en amoureux

Posted Jan 3, 2015 on Hotels.com
sejour très agréable..le personnel est super...très bon petit déjeuner hotel bien situé ...à quelques pas du pont de l'accadémia.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 3, 2015 on Hotels.com