Ratings based on 338 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Great location and great staff.

Posted Jul 28, 2015
We stayed here for three nights in the junior suite with our three year old. The heat and the many bridges in the city meant we found it hard to walk around too much with the buggy in tow. So whilst we saw much of the city in a water taxi and did a fair share of walking we spent many hours in this lovely hotel. Yes it expensive but u get what you pay for. The hotel is not too large to be just another face and there was a definite personal touch. The met restaurant whilst pricey the food was good and the service impeccable so thank you Micheal who went the extra mile to accomadate my daughter. And there was a nice vibe in the orient bar who had the most lovely staff who's names I can't all remember but thank you Bruno. The staff are a credit to this quirky well furnished hotel and I would most definitely recommend it.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Rotten smell in room, bad service

Posted Jul 27, 2015
After a couple of hours the room started to smell rotten. The smell increased over time until it was unbearable. We had to pack our stuff and ask the hotel for another room. They were aware of the issue and gave us a free upgrade. In the new room which was a suite, the toilet didn't work. So we had to call the hotel and have them repair it. We then went to their Michelin rated restaurant "The Met". The food was absolutely disgusting, we couldn't eat it. We have been to countless of michelin restaurants before and this was the absolutely worst one we've ever been to. When we were about to pay, they charged everything double. As trusting as I am in michelin rated restaurants I signed the receipt without looking. I then felt that something was wrong so I went back to the restaurant to fix it. And yes they charged everything twice. This major mistake from them and that bad food and not even offering som sort compensation. Completely useless. Menu is poor. The waiters are just running around performing theatre. Food is bad. Breakfast is below average. Reception is arrogant. I rate this hotel 1 out of 5.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK london

enjoyable

Posted Jul 21, 2015
Great hotel. Busy location. Clean rooms and excellent staff. BUT not 5 star as you are lead to believe. I'd say UK 4 star.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from USA

Beautiful hotel on the Grand Canal

Posted Jul 19, 2015
The Metropole hotel and our experience there was perfect. The hotel is on the Grand Canal near one of the Alilaguna/treghetti stops, so you can easily walk from public transportation from the airport. They have their own water taxi dock as well. The hotel itself is like a museum. It's like staying in an ancient but updated Venetian home. Service was impeccable. The employees are friendly, helpful, competent, and nice. The room was beautiful and clean. We didn't have much of a view, and the window was small so the room was dark. Room servicing was great. It was serviced twice a day. Facilities were clean and worked. We had breakfast there, and again the experience was perfection. We just wanted to spend the day sitting there, munching on fresh yogurt, fruit, pastries, and the best mozzarella balls anywhere. The hotel is also about a block from St. Mark's Square, and there is an ATM about 1/2 a block away. The street is lined with restaurants. This prime tourist area. Pack light if it's your first trip to Venice, there are no motorized vehicles in the city so you schlepp your bags...or take a water taxi and get dropped right at the hotel's doorstep. Loved this place.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Eufaula, AL

Very nice hotel in front of the lagoon in Venice

Posted Jul 19, 2015
Pros: The location and accommodations. It could be categorized as a boutique hotel with modern up to date amenities.
Very well located hotel in Venice, 5 minutes away from St. Marks's square.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from london

It seems 5* in Venice = 2 star elsewhere.

Posted Jul 8, 2015
Hotel is fine if a bit dingy. Room service food is not too good at all but bearable. Main complaint was antiquated ineffective air con and dismissive and sometimes plain rude staff. There were 2 power cuts and no apology. It is a bit of a common theme in Venice and maybe not fair to single out this hotel but for 5* they were pretty incompetent and sometimes hostile. They laughed at basic requests and seemed completely oblivious to the normal level of service 5* hotels usually provide e.g. refused to help pack souvenirs for the trip back and didn't ring back when they said they would. they had an over inflated view of themselves and probably think they are an elite hotel - they are not; our 4* in Rome was far superior, relaxed but with amazing personal service. this was the opposite we couldn't wait to leave.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ox

Great location facing lagoon

Posted Jul 5, 2015
Was looked after excellently made to feel welcome and that they were concerned that we experienced everything All staff were fantastic
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from moscow

We had absolutely wonderful times

Posted Jun 14, 2015
Lovely romantic place in the heart of Venice , perfect for couples. Service was excellent and people were friendly and very helpful. Great weekend away
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A Compromise Between Luxury and Convenience

Posted Jun 7, 2015
This hotel wreaks of opulence from another era and is truly quirky in its display of furnishings and artifacts. It is very heavy-handed on Venetian silk brocades and the lighting stays dimly lit in the main salon, creating the feel of an elegant bordello. My room, though tiny, was a welcomed sanctuary at the end of long days perusing the Bienalle and museums and galleries. The rooms vary in colour and I was fortunate to have one of the more subdued ones in the beige tones. A stone's throw from San Marco and close to multiple vaporetta stops, the hotel offers a compromise between luxury and convenience. My major objection is that it is situated on a major pedestrian walkway with crowds of tourists that don't let up until the evening. There are rows of public benches right in front of the entrance that attract a crowd of tourists every night and it can be noisy especially during the hot summer. For those who want peace and quiet, ask for a room facing the garden in the back. There is a power generator for the air-conditioning next to the garden which can be annoying, but the sound proofing on the windows works well.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Perfectly located hotel

Posted Jun 3, 2015
Perfectly located and just minutes walk to the popular sights of Venice. It's really easy to arrive from the airport and the taxi drop off is a few 100 metres away. The breakfast was very expensive and consisted many of pastries and nothing hot and cooked. Not good at all for someone with a wheat allergy. There are no tea and coffee making facilities which really let's the hotel down. To order these on room service was about €10 each drink. The hotel decor was fun and querky and that garden was lovely. The staff are really friendly and always helpful.