Ratings based on 290 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom West Midlands, UK

Short but sweet

Posted Feb 21, 2015
Pros: The room décor, not as garish as anticipated from other reviews, the friendly staff and the delicious breakfast
Cons: opening time for room service, we arrived late and would have liked something to eat
Location: Beautiful location, right near St Marks and the vapporetti stop to get around the island and to the train station/airport
We were only in Venice for two nights and arriving late on the first night. Although we didn't get to the hotel until after 12, the staff were friendly and chirpy ready to check us in. The bar did close earlier then advertised, but they still prepared us some drinks. The room was so venetian is was beautiful, a lovely place to sleep on our honeymoon. Breakfast was a stunning buffet, but expensive. We ate at a local bar for the other day. We didn't eat at the restaurant as we were only there one day really. Check out was easy and they provided excellent information for getting the vapporetti back. Overall a really lovely luxury stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom São Paulo, SP

otima localização

Posted Feb 21, 2015
Muito bem localizado. Próximo à praça San Marco e a vários pontos de interesse. Perfeito o atendimento de todos os funcionários e com um bom café da manhã. Chegasse de táxi por uma porta lateral, direto ao canal. O hotel é livre de cigarro mas respeita os ainda fumantes com quartos com terraço. Se for seu caso peça um assim na reserva, pois são poucos.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom calgary canada

Excellent hotel in superb location

Posted Feb 14, 2015
Pros: Staff, breakfast, room, common areas, location all excellent.
Cons: Can't think of anything, really.
This hotel is unique, well built, furnished, and equipped. The staff are exceptionally helpful. The view of the seascape of Venice on walking out the front door is breathtakingly beautiful. Can't say enough good things about the hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Pennsylvania

Elegant hotel conveniently located

Posted Feb 2, 2015
The hotel service is professional, attentive, and warm welcoming. The hotel is clean and tastefully decorated with fine antiques. We plan to stay at the Metropole on our next visit to Venice, as this trip was most memorable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom DK

Flot "gammelt" hotel, tæt på Marcus pladsen

Posted Jan 25, 2015
Meget flot hotel med en lille udstilling på hver etage. Ligger 2 min. gang fra Marcus pladsen.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

very disappointing

Posted Dec 31, 2014
Pros: first three floors and lobby were very beautiful, breakfast was elegant though expensive
Cons: redecorate the fourth floor in the same style as the rest of the hotel, buy comfortable mattresses (and put a king in the balcony suite as advertised.
This is a wonderful location, with some great perks but our stay was very disappointing. We actually stayed for a total of 6 nights as part of a belated honeymoon and rented the suite on the top floor with a balcony overlooking the grand canal. The hotel is lovely covered in very Venetian decor with lots of dark red velvet and glass chandeliers - just as you would hope. Unfortunately this only holds true for the first three floors, and the fourth floor is decorated out of the 1970s- mixed wood panels, weird chrome inlays, carpet with swirls and polk dots, and white space chairs- not what we were looking for in Venice. Our balcony was small but the view was absolutely lovely, but unfortunately the king bed was two twins pushed together with a sheet over them and they were incredibly hard- e.g. my arm was sore the next day because I slept on my side. I asked for a mattress pad or another comforter to sleep on and they only had two fleece blankets. Their toiletries were actually very nice- Gilchrist and Soames, but there was no shower curtain so if you showered in the american style everything gets soaked. Breakfast was lovely and elegant with hams, cheeses, salad, fruit, and cereal, as well as scrambled eggs and fresh bread (though it is 30 euros a person if it is not included- so be careful since it is just a buffet, no eggs cooked to order or anything like that). The staff for the most part were very friendly and their restaurant recommendations were good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom new york ny

Great hotel, service and location

Posted Dec 29, 2014
Pros: The location, the style, classic Venetian with comfort, the service
Cons: The style is perfect
Location: Perfect location, near and far enough from the touristic places. Overlooking the lagoon. In front of the public transportation.
Venice is my favorite city in the world. I go there once a year, and every time I try a new hotel, and the district depends on the season. In winter I like to be in San Marco, and this hotel is the perfect location between the touristic plaza and the Arsenale. This wonder is filled with collections of everything from corals, crucifix, screwdrivers, fans.....and these objects are part of the charms of this hotel The breakfast buffet is somptuous and the staff very kind, polite and helpful. I had a junior suite on the lagoon, with an impeccable servic and morning and night. there is a one star Michelin restaurant The Met, and the Oriental Bar where I had some drinks or dinner, in a very nice atmosphere. I would recommend this place, and I will come back another time. This place perfect for Xmas.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom chicago il

Breakfast horrible , expensive and the coffe worst

Posted Dec 28, 2014
I was expecting a neat classic hotel , but restaurants are very bad and pretentious the staff it's full of air in the head , be elegant don't mean be a jerk , the furniture makes you feel in grandma house .they have to throu lots of """antiques ""
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great atmospheric hotel

Posted Dec 27, 2014
Loved this hotel Stayed over Christmas and it was magical Staff very friendly and helpful Will go back
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Romantisches Hotel, ideal für Paare

Posted Dec 19, 2014
Pros: Ein unübertroffene zentrale und gleichzeitig ruhige Lage mit Blick aufs Wasser und die schönen Inseln.
Es war einfach wunderbar, besonders die Einrichtung mit Antiquitäten und die angenehme Stimmung im Haus. Alles ist sehr fein abgestimmt, mit sehr viel Sinn für Stil und Farben. Einfach passend für diese Stadt! Das Frühstück ist sehr empfehlenswert, kaum ein Wunsch bleibt offen. Das Personal ist sehr freundlich und hilfsbereit.