Ratings based on 318 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Glimrende velfungerende med en god beliggenhed.

Posted Jul 19, 2015
Pros: klasse
Location: top beliggenhed lige i solar plexus
Vi var glade for det velfungerende hotel og det venlige og professionelle personale.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from J

Lovely hotel

Posted Jun 8, 2015
Fantastic hotel in superb position. River taxi drops/picks up at hotel steps and staff are friendly and cannot do enough for you. Would love to go back to this hotel again and again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NJ

Not sure why this hotel is rated high

Posted May 30, 2015
Pros: Central location, impressive lobby
Cons: Honor all reservations, dont overbook the hotel Buy all new beds and bedding!!
The start of my stay at this hotel was bad..... I arrived at 3pm and was told there was an issue and they couldnt honor the reservation i had made with expedia (and paid in full in advance). They didn't have a room for me, and I had to move to their (cheaper) related hotel for my first night and then move back to this hotel. While they did upgrade my room slightly bc of the issue, I was majorly mad they had overbooked the hotel and I was inconvenienced. So, I got to experience two different rooms run by this chain. Both rooms lacked comfort! The beds were both lumpy and the sheets were stiff, scratchy and felt like burlap. I actually wore full sweatpants to bed to minimize how much of my skin would touch the sheets. The shower in the Hotel Grand was awful too.... the shower curtain kept touching me while I bathed bc the area was so small and the curtain moved with the air vents. Also, this was the first hotel I have stayed in for many years that did not have a hairdryer in the room already. The lobby, staff and location were all great...that is the only reason for 2 stars. I would never stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Great Hotel on the Grand Canal

Posted May 3, 2015
Pros: Not for those trying to do it on the cheap but great room, great restaurant, great location, great service, what's not to like?
Cons: Really, while I am sure there is something, I didn't discover it.
Location: Located on the Grand Canal and virtually on Saint Mark's Square. Very convenient to everything.
This was my first trip to Venice and my friend, with whom I was traveling, recommended this hotel though he was staying elsewhere. It was relatively, but not exorbitantly, expensive. The room was large, particularly I am told, by Venetian, European standards. The staff was very attentive and accommodative. Housekeeping was incredible. The hotel had a tremendous restaurant where you can dine outdoors on fabulous food with a great view. Overall, the stay was wonderful and, in my opinion, well worth the price.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

The location is great

Posted Apr 27, 2015
Pros: Location, location, location
Cons: see above
Location: Perfectly situated for Vaporetto and St Marks etc.
But it does not [any longer] rate 5 stars. It has been a number of years since I last stayed here but attention to detail seems to have gone away with the old management. A number of small deficiencies add up to a more annoying experience than necessary. Our arrival was marred by a surly receptionist and a "can't be bothered" attitude by the concierge. Subsequent staff shift were much better but we got off on the wrong foot to be sure. Room was quite adequate but at these prices "little" things should not have to be remarked: bathroom door refused to close properly; black mold in bathtub; wifi sporadic at best; room temperature can not be adjusted by tenant; sink stopper non-operative. All deserving of 3 stars were it not for the presumed grandeur of the house itself.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Frankfurt

schoenes hotel in direkter Naehe zum Markusplatz

Posted Mar 20, 2015
Pros: Elegant,schoene Zimmer,Ambiente des Hotels sehr gut.
Cons: Bei diesen Preisen sollte man in kleinen alles okDingen etwas grosszuegiger sein.
Location: alles ok,Lage ist sehr gut,alle Sehenswuerdigkeiten sind gut zu Fuss zu ereichen.
Personal sehr aufmerksam und zuvorkommend. Restaurant sehr gut,aber teuer. Trotz Fruehstueckspreis von 25 Euro musste ich zusaetzlich noch ein Boiled egg bezahlen,finde ich kleinlich. Da meine Frau wegen einer Diaet nur Kaffee trank,wurde dies mit 8 Euro berechnet.Kleinlich. ein Teil des Personals sprach oder verstand nur unzureichend englisch.Fuer ein Hotel dieser Klasse verbesserungsbeduerftig.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Paolo Pietro from milano

week end veneziano

Posted Mar 18, 2015 on Hotels
tutto molto bene hotel perfetto
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kuwait

Location, Cleanliness, Comfort & Staff

Posted Mar 6, 2015
Pros: Close to attractions, restos, shops and just about everything.
Cons: Eveything is excellent.
Location: Nearby St. Mark's Basilica/Square, Doge's Palace, restos, cafes and shopping
Hotel has entrance (harbor) from the Canal. Our motorboat dropped and picked us up right at the hotel "doorstep." Checking-in/out was quick. Shops, attractions and restos/cafes are walking distance. reception staff ( especially Nicola) and the housekeeping staff are all efficient. We will definitely stay in this hotel next time we go to Venice and will encourage family and friends to do so too.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from London

Fantastic stay

Posted Mar 4, 2015
Pros: staff, location and comfort. Great bar to have drinks in the evening, and beautiful decking overlooking the canal.
Cons: Bar/restaurant is very expensive which put us off eating there.
Location: San Marco square is literally round the corner with loads of the main sites. Everything else is a short walk away
The hotel was a fantastic location, decorated really nicely and really comfortable. The staff were really helpful and friendly. We went on a short break as a couple and couldn't have faulted anything.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Surrey

Fabulous Location.

Posted Feb 27, 2015
Pros: Couldn't be more central friendly staff We go to Venice every year to different hotels and the location is amazing.
Cons: The rooms and the bar..
Location: You are virtually on St.Marks Square can walk to Rialto Bridge very easily.
I have stayed in this hotel before but was disappointed in the room. For that reason I upgraded to superior which was not much better. I blame Expedia the picture you showed of the room I was told was a junior suite. If that is the case it is misleading.I think with deals which was a good one they always give you the worst room in that category. Superior it certainly was not. Bathroom was terrible. We asked for the bathroom to be sorted 3 times. I complained when I left and to be fair they took off 3 breakfasts where we had fried eggs and orange juice. A nice gesture but our holiday was not comfortable considering we expected a room shown on the picture. You really must sort that out...........