Ratings based on 314 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New York

Great Hotel on the Grand Canal

Posted May 3, 2015
Pros: Not for those trying to do it on the cheap but great room, great restaurant, great location, great service, what's not to like?
Cons: Really, while I am sure there is something, I didn't discover it.
Location: Located on the Grand Canal and virtually on Saint Mark's Square. Very convenient to everything.
This was my first trip to Venice and my friend, with whom I was traveling, recommended this hotel though he was staying elsewhere. It was relatively, but not exorbitantly, expensive. The room was large, particularly I am told, by Venetian, European standards. The staff was very attentive and accommodative. Housekeeping was incredible. The hotel had a tremendous restaurant where you can dine outdoors on fabulous food with a great view. Overall, the stay was wonderful and, in my opinion, well worth the price.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New York

The location is great

Posted Apr 27, 2015
Pros: Location, location, location
Cons: see above
Location: Perfectly situated for Vaporetto and St Marks etc.
But it does not [any longer] rate 5 stars. It has been a number of years since I last stayed here but attention to detail seems to have gone away with the old management. A number of small deficiencies add up to a more annoying experience than necessary. Our arrival was marred by a surly receptionist and a "can't be bothered" attitude by the concierge. Subsequent staff shift were much better but we got off on the wrong foot to be sure. Room was quite adequate but at these prices "little" things should not have to be remarked: bathroom door refused to close properly; black mold in bathtub; wifi sporadic at best; room temperature can not be adjusted by tenant; sink stopper non-operative. All deserving of 3 stars were it not for the presumed grandeur of the house itself.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Frankfurt

schoenes hotel in direkter Naehe zum Markusplatz

Posted Mar 20, 2015
Pros: Elegant,schoene Zimmer,Ambiente des Hotels sehr gut.
Cons: Bei diesen Preisen sollte man in kleinen alles okDingen etwas grosszuegiger sein.
Location: alles ok,Lage ist sehr gut,alle Sehenswuerdigkeiten sind gut zu Fuss zu ereichen.
Personal sehr aufmerksam und zuvorkommend. Restaurant sehr gut,aber teuer. Trotz Fruehstueckspreis von 25 Euro musste ich zusaetzlich noch ein Boiled egg bezahlen,finde ich kleinlich. Da meine Frau wegen einer Diaet nur Kaffee trank,wurde dies mit 8 Euro berechnet.Kleinlich. ein Teil des Personals sprach oder verstand nur unzureichend englisch.Fuer ein Hotel dieser Klasse verbesserungsbeduerftig.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Kuwait

Location, Cleanliness, Comfort & Staff

Posted Mar 6, 2015
Pros: Close to attractions, restos, shops and just about everything.
Cons: Eveything is excellent.
Location: Nearby St. Mark's Basilica/Square, Doge's Palace, restos, cafes and shopping
Hotel has entrance (harbor) from the Canal. Our motorboat dropped and picked us up right at the hotel "doorstep." Checking-in/out was quick. Shops, attractions and restos/cafes are walking distance. reception staff ( especially Nicola) and the housekeeping staff are all efficient. We will definitely stay in this hotel next time we go to Venice and will encourage family and friends to do so too.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom London

Fantastic stay

Posted Mar 4, 2015
Pros: staff, location and comfort. Great bar to have drinks in the evening, and beautiful decking overlooking the canal.
Cons: Bar/restaurant is very expensive which put us off eating there.
Location: San Marco square is literally round the corner with loads of the main sites. Everything else is a short walk away
The hotel was a fantastic location, decorated really nicely and really comfortable. The staff were really helpful and friendly. We went on a short break as a couple and couldn't have faulted anything.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Surrey

Fabulous Location.

Posted Feb 27, 2015
Pros: Couldn't be more central friendly staff We go to Venice every year to different hotels and the location is amazing.
Cons: The rooms and the bar..
Location: You are virtually on St.Marks Square can walk to Rialto Bridge very easily.
I have stayed in this hotel before but was disappointed in the room. For that reason I upgraded to superior which was not much better. I blame Expedia the picture you showed of the room I was told was a junior suite. If that is the case it is misleading.I think with deals which was a good one they always give you the worst room in that category. Superior it certainly was not. Bathroom was terrible. We asked for the bathroom to be sorted 3 times. I complained when I left and to be fair they took off 3 breakfasts where we had fried eggs and orange juice. A nice gesture but our holiday was not comfortable considering we expected a room shown on the picture. You really must sort that out...........
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Raphaelfrom Bruxelles

Très bel hôtel idealement situé

Posted Feb 21, 2015 on Hotels.com
Joliment rénové, alliant ambiance vénitienne et modernité ... Cet hôtel est idealement situé à quelques minutes de la place St Marc. Belle vue sur le Grand Canal. A recommander !
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Cecilia Matilde

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 20, 2015 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Stoney Lake Ontario

Great location. Close to everything

Posted Feb 19, 2015
Pros: Location, cleanliness, helpful staff and view of the Grand Canal. It is also located right at a water bus stop which is very helpful for first timers.
Cons: I would say they could improve their linen. It was a bit harsh, but not too rough on the skin. Not much else to complain about
Location: Very close to the more expensive shopping areas and the main Square by St Marks. The water bus stop is right there and only 30 minutes to the airport
We have never been to Venice, so all our bookings were made by info from looking on the internet. Our visit was in February, and we had heard there can be flooding. We were lucky to have missed that by 2 weeks. From the moment we arrived, we were met with friendly and very accommodating staff. They made the stay so easy... all we had to think about was exploring Venice, no wasting time worrying about anything else. The room we were in at first was exactly what we booked, a classic double room. It was very small and did not have a view of the Canal, but it was clean and comfortable. We moved to a larger room overlooking the canal (highly recommended if you can afford it) for the last two nights. It was also clean and comfortable, also much larger and the view was spectacular. The sheets were a bit harsh, but not hard on the skin. I don't know what the food was like at the hotel in the evening, as we did not dine there, but they have a beautiful patio and the view is fantastic. The hotel made our stay in Venice perfect. Highly recommended!
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Lotharfrom Österreich

Licht und Schatten nahe dem Markusplatz

Posted Feb 17, 2015 on Hotels.com
Die Lage des Hotels ist Top. Das Hotel selbst ist in die Jahre gekommen. Das Zimmer relativ klein. Das Fenster ließ sich nicht schließen. Der Brauseschlauch war kaputt. Nach einer Reklamation war der Zimmerservice innerhalb von 10 Minuten mit einem neuen Schlauch zur Stelle. Die Decken- Bordüre über der Dusche wird demnächst runterkommen. Im Restaurant ist die Qualität der Speisen und des Service Top. Der Preis leider zu hoch. Ein normales Abendessen mit Wasser und 1 Flasche Hauswein für 2 Personen € 243.-- haben wir schon besser und günstiger bekommen.