Ratings based on 287 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from USA

Good location but old hotel and a small room!

Posted Sep 13, 2014
Had to walk back to our room a long way to a very small room. Dated hotel with ok breakfast. Nice staff. Old, small room but easy bus access to airport, which was nice. Good A/C. Small old room.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from liverpool,England

From hero to zero

Posted Sep 3, 2014
Pros: To its credit it was clean and the breakfast was good
Cons: The rooms need updating and a hairdryer in the room would be advisable, you have to ask at reception for one now.
Location: The location is excellent not far from the bus station and the water bus. Lots of shops, restaurant's and things to
We have stayed at this hotel twice in the past, the last time in 2011,and always found the experience good. This time however we where very disappointed. I don't know if it had been a long summer, but he staff could not raise a smile. The room was possibly the smallest double room we have ever stayed in.The room had twin beds a wardrobe, two tiny bedside cabinets and a chair. When we where in the room we had to put the chair in the corridor to stop banging in to it.The bathroom was also small. When sitting on the toilet my knees where nearly touching the wall, and I am only 1.73 m tall. The shower was at the end of the bathroom and had a curtain which meant you flooded the bathroom when you had a shower, also you had to have a shower if you wanted to wash your hair as the shower hose was so short.As we said we have stayed at this hotel twice before and although the rooms where small they where well thought out and not this small.I have recommended this hotel in the past but would not now for fear of them getting this room,room 174 by the way.I know space is at a premium in cities,but this room should only be used for travellers staying one night.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel Nazionale

Posted Sep 1, 2014
Pros: The working a/c and clean washroom
Cons: everything.
Location: It's Venice everything is within 20 minutes walking distance.
Only redeeming quality is close to both bus and train station. Rated as a 3 star really just a 1 or 2 at best. I understand most hotels in Venice are old and rooms are small, but this is tiny, It also has some type of wall covering like a padded room, with very dark red wall paper over top. The good part is the bathroom is clean and functional and the a/c works well. If you are only looking for a place to sleep and wash up this should suffice. Don't eat the breakfast there the coffee is vile everything else is stale. Do yourself a favour walk about 1 block away from the train station to the piazza near the church, great cafe's with fresh croissants.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Torquay, Devon UK

Handy for the Station

Posted Aug 30, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Breakfast and Bathrooms
Location: The location was straight on to a street with plenty of restraunts and bars on the door step, as well as retail opportunities.
A short walk (200 metres ish) from Venice SL station without the use of a water taxi/bus or Porter service The reception process was excellent, althougth it was quite a number of steps up from street level. The room was small but adiquate. The bathroom was compact - too much stuff fitted in to a small space. Could not swing a mouse. you could almost touch all walls without moving. Breakfast was poor to average with limited options. Orange juice was squash rather than "Juice". Gipfli and rolls were kept "warm" in a warmer which did not really add anything. Usual yorgarts, meats and cheese were available of good quality. The selection of jams were of the lower end of the quality. The staff were howerver very friendly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient to train station

Posted Aug 16, 2014
Pros: Easy to get to the hotel on arrival and to the station on departure, price reasonable.
Location: It's a walk from here to the Rialto, San Marco, etc., but an interesting walk. Walking is a better use of time than waiting for a waterbus/
Stayed for 4 nights. Staff were generally helpful although the night desk fellow was not.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel to explore Venice

Posted Aug 13, 2014
Nice hotel to explore Venice.. Comfortable and clean
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Nice Hotel centrally located.

Posted Aug 13, 2014
Pros: Central location, air conditioning, friendly staff.
Location: Situated close to railway station and water bus station, 15 minute walk to Rialto bridge. Plenty of reasonably priced restaurants nearby.
Enjoyed staying at this hotel and would recommend to others. Room was pleasant enough, clean, tidy and air conditioned with en-suite bathroom. Hotel staff were very helpful and friendly. Breakfast was self service continental and there was plenty of choice. Hotel also allowed us to leave bags there after we checked out as we had a late flight back to UK, which gave us an extra day of sight seeing.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Monterrey, Mexico

Just location

Posted Jul 8, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: You must be young and healthy to choice this hotel.
Location: Good restaurants near here.
The stairs at the entrance is an attraction in Venice. Terrible attitude of staff at the restaurant.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect tourist base for exploring Venice

Posted Jul 4, 2014
Cons: Avoid the coffee - it was awful - and pop accross the street on your way out to the bakery for a fab proppert Italian espresso for a bargain 1 euro.
Had a few doubts about this place having read all the reviews, but the price and location combination appeared to be the best on offer for a 4 night stay at the end of June. The hotel was well run, and the staff friendly and spoke good English - like pretty much everyone in Venice it seemed. The room was perhaps unorthadoxly decorated (dark marroon striped cloth wall covering), but it was neat and tidy, a reasonable size, clean and cleaned daily. It had air con - very useful in the summer heat. And shutters, and the window opened if you wanted some fresh air. Our room was at the back of the hotel and was pleasently quiet. Breakfast was a buffet affair, with cerials, fruit salad, pastries, bread rolls, hams, cheeses, yoghurts, etc - perfectly acceptable. Check out was at 10am, but we left our bags in the hotel till we needed to leave for our flight - there was no charge or deposit for this. In fact, other than the local tax (24 euros for a 4 night stay) there was no additional charges to pay to the hotel at all. I thought the place was pretty much perfect for exploring Venice. Close enough to the station and bus station, easy access to the vaparetto to St Marks square, and the local area is stuffed full of coffee bars, shops and restaurants. Head north into the Jewish area for some great value restaurants.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel was clean but some of the staff were rude

Posted Jul 3, 2014
Pros: Location was good,rooms cleaned really well
Cons: Staff. It would be a good idea to of had a kettle and tea and coffee facilities in the room
Location: Centrally located
A particular lady on reception was rude and not friendly.I would for this reason not recommend this hotel. We gave our keys in to reception and 3 times she slammed them on the desk.Did not speak and was unhelpful.. The continental breakfast was the same every day and repetitive. The staff in the breakfast room were miserable and unwelcoming