Ratings based on 273 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Monterrey, Mexico

Just location

Posted Jul 8, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: You must be young and healthy to choice this hotel.
Location: Good restaurants near here.
The stairs at the entrance is an attraction in Venice. Terrible attitude of staff at the restaurant.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect tourist base for exploring Venice

Posted Jul 4, 2014
Cons: Avoid the coffee - it was awful - and pop accross the street on your way out to the bakery for a fab proppert Italian espresso for a bargain 1 euro.
Had a few doubts about this place having read all the reviews, but the price and location combination appeared to be the best on offer for a 4 night stay at the end of June. The hotel was well run, and the staff friendly and spoke good English - like pretty much everyone in Venice it seemed. The room was perhaps unorthadoxly decorated (dark marroon striped cloth wall covering), but it was neat and tidy, a reasonable size, clean and cleaned daily. It had air con - very useful in the summer heat. And shutters, and the window opened if you wanted some fresh air. Our room was at the back of the hotel and was pleasently quiet. Breakfast was a buffet affair, with cerials, fruit salad, pastries, bread rolls, hams, cheeses, yoghurts, etc - perfectly acceptable. Check out was at 10am, but we left our bags in the hotel till we needed to leave for our flight - there was no charge or deposit for this. In fact, other than the local tax (24 euros for a 4 night stay) there was no additional charges to pay to the hotel at all. I thought the place was pretty much perfect for exploring Venice. Close enough to the station and bus station, easy access to the vaparetto to St Marks square, and the local area is stuffed full of coffee bars, shops and restaurants. Head north into the Jewish area for some great value restaurants.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel was clean but some of the staff were rude

Posted Jul 3, 2014
Pros: Location was good,rooms cleaned really well
Cons: Staff. It would be a good idea to of had a kettle and tea and coffee facilities in the room
Location: Centrally located
A particular lady on reception was rude and not friendly.I would for this reason not recommend this hotel. We gave our keys in to reception and 3 times she slammed them on the desk.Did not speak and was unhelpful.. The continental breakfast was the same every day and repetitive. The staff in the breakfast room were miserable and unwelcoming
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Clive from Cape Town

Convenient to transport

Posted Jun 29, 2014
Very pleasant stay. Helpful Staff. Quiet room. Stairs to the reception on the first floor difficult for the disabled.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from michigan

works fine for a few days

Posted Jun 28, 2014
Pros: The hotel was very close to where the taxi dropped us off and where our outgoing train was. Also, we had a double bed and 2 singles to fit us.
Cons: The breakfast quality and variety could use major improvement. Also, better control of the mosquitoes.
Location: It was close to the taxi drop off and the train station. It was also walking distance to anywhere we wanted to go.
Hotels in venice seemed particularly pricey for a family of 4 and accommodations were not easy to find. This hotel offered a room with a double and 2 singles which worked for our family. The room was small but the beds comfortable. The breakfast was lacking but the hotel staff was friendly and helpful, especially the porters and front desk people. It was located on a very busy street so we would on a future trip try to find something a bit less full of people. The biggest downside was the mosquitoes in the room. We literally killed over 50 of them.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Paul from Gold Coast

easily accessable to railway station.

Posted Jun 24, 2014
Pros: Close to all transports, not expensive for venice standards.
Cons: Breakfast could be a little broader in offerings but its not a significant issue.
Location: Location 200 metres from railway station. Lots of shops, cafes, restaurants, grand canal nearby.
Stayed here for 4 nights, Chose it because of closeness to railway station and bus to airport. I enjoyed my stay very much. One word of caution, it didn't worry me but for some people it might, there is a steep set of stairs to arrive at the reception desk, from there is a lift to the rooms.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Vera from Toronto, Canada

Near train station

Posted Jun 20, 2014
The hotel was in a good location. There is a long flight of stairs to get to the lobby (no elevator there). The shower was the tiniest I have ever seen.....each time we used it we washed the whole bathroom. The front desk staff were helpful in figuring out how to do things.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by JK from Vancouver, BC Canada

Convenient hotel near the bus/train station

Posted Jun 13, 2014
Pros: Great breakfast included in price. Porter service to help take luggage to your room
Location: Convenient location, easy to find hotel b/c it is on main path to St. Marco. Near Vapporatti stop, lots of restaurants nearby
Old building, lots of steps at entrance. We're first assigned a room at the back that you have to go up to the second floor and then twist and turn and go down stairs again. We wanted to change back to the main building and was given a smaller room in the middle of the second floor. Room was quiet but very small. Washroom was very small too but very clean. Air conditioning is comfortable. You need to leave key at the front counter every time you go out, but you don't need to show ID to get your key when come back, wonder if they recognize every hotel guest.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mike from London

Good Location

Posted Jun 11, 2014
Pros: Location
Location: As mentioned above, a very good selection of restaurants nearby offering much more variety and better value than those around St Marks Square
The hotel was very clean and quiet but the rooms small with tiny shower room. The beds were comfortable and being quiet allowed good sleep. The buffet breakfast offer was good. Pleased with the location offering better value and good selection of shops and restaurants away from St Marks Square and great connections for railway station, bus station and ferries.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sue from UK

Excellent hotel

Posted Jun 3, 2014
Pros: The location was excellent, staff helpful and rooms clean and comfortable.
Location: Loads of shops and restaurants on the Main Street. The major tourist attractions are within walking distance and gondolas are everywhere.
The hotel was ideally located in the northern area of the Venice Island close to the bus and train stations. There were plenty of restaurants and shops on the Main Street and these were much cheaper than in the southern part of Venice. All major attractions were within walking distance but the vaporetto stop is close by if you don't want to walk far. The hotel staff were very polite and helpful and the rooms were cleaned daily, were very comfortable and surprisingly quiet for being so close to a main street.