Ratings based on 126 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 6, 2014
Great place, great staff. It is only 10 minutes from the train station with luggage. That is if you can navigate Venice like a pro :). Would strongly recommend it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Nice hotel in good location

Posted Aug 4, 2014
Pros: Clean, well presented with helpful, friendly staff. Good location, loved the beautiful old stone staircase and view from the upper lounge balcony.
Cons: Would have liked socket closer to dressing table and a clear mirror also some English speaking TV channels as all were in Italian so couldn't watch it
Location: Good location by canal were fruit is sold from boats. Handy for shops, restaurants, wine bars and waterbus. Easy walking distance to places of interes
Had a pleasant week at hotel, though the room was a little smaller than I had expected and it didn't have much of a view also it appeared to be dull even when the sun was shining outside. There wasn't a lot of draw space and the dressing table mirror was old and tarnished so it could not be used, also couldn't use the TV as none of the channels were in English. There was no electric socket near the dressing table so I had to use a socket on the other side of the room, this meant that to use my hair straighteners I had to stand with everything resting on my suitcase while using the mirror on wardrobe door. The room was clean, air conditioned and featured a beatiful painting of cherrubs on the cieling. The hotel was clean, well presented and has some lovely original features, the nicestest of which is a beautiful winding stone staircase found just inside the enterance, it must be at least 500 years old. The staff were helpful, friendly and able to speak English which was a big help also the self service breakfast was plentiful and nice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 22, 2014
Hotel Pausania was clean, convenient and had character - a nice way to spend our last night in Venice.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

We left Pausania forfeiting 4 days prepaid rent

Posted Jun 28, 2014
Pros: Hotel Pausania is in a small 14th century palazzo. Best feature: the original entrance court and piano nobile sitting room overlooking the canal.
Cons: Breakfast room, breakfast, garden. If our room was anything to go by, the rooms need redecorating and the bathrooms updating.
Location: Pausania was in a rather crowded and run down part of the Dorsoduro. No good for shopping, plenty of restaurants.
The hotel belies its brochure and the online photographs : 1) Our "double room" too small for the large bed and tea stains down the wall. The wardrobe was too small, the "mini bathroom" had a cracked and broken lavatory seat, broken cracked dirty and ungrouted tiles and a soap dispenser as a health hazard. 2) The garden was a mess quite unlike it's online photos and depiction in the brochure. 3) Both breakfast and breakfast room were unsatisfactory, even pathetic
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Hotel Pausania in Venice Italy

Posted Jun 17, 2014
Pros: Location. Access to airport, access to St. Mark's square, access to Rialto bridge. Authentic Italian hotel. Nice staff.
Cons: Size of shower. Possibly elevator, but that is part of what makes this hotel have the character it has.
Location: See above. Good location
This is a very nice hotel in a quiet part of Venice. Excellent staff. Excellent access to water bus on the Alilaguna line to the airport also. There is a very nice square a couple of hundred yards away with local restaurants with local patrons. The room was clean and overall nice. The main concern I had was that the shower in the room we stayed in was very short - if you are probably 5 ft 8 inches or taller, you have to bend over. Also, no elevator, so you have to carry bags up stairs yourself. These really were not huge issues during our stay, may be an issue for some patrons. Overall, nice hotel and nice location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by dafinci from Melb. Australia

Nice hotel in quiet area.

Posted Jun 5, 2014
Very good location away from tourist masses but still easy walking distances to main attractions. Plenty of quality local restaurants nearby. Waterbus stop nearby also. Compact room and nice breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by John from Shrewsbury, Shropshire

Great position away from the hords

Posted May 16, 2014
Pros: The location. The very friendly helpful staff. The size and cleanliness of the rooms. The lovely atmosphere and character
Cons: Hot water takes a time to flow!.
Location: The Dorsoduro is a fascinating area - close enough to walk to all the main "must see's" but with enough distance from the endless lines of flag tours.
We loved the hotel - it was on a quiet but accessible canal very near to fascinating ( and "local") squares and shops. The room we had - a "Superior" room, had lots of space, comfortable beds and good storage. Towels were changed every day and the overall service was absolutely excellent. Breakfast was very adequate - juice, cereals, breads, ham. cheese, tea, coffee all self service in a lovely garden flanked room. Access to the rest of Venice was so easy - vaparetto from Ca Rezonica took you to any No.1 destination on the Grand Canal. The nearby local Supermarket provided us with Prosecco and nibbles - upstairs in the supermarket offered an amazing range of cheeses, olives etc.A nearby sandwich shop with excellent filled rolls and Rice Balls for lunches. We had excellent dinners at La Furatola, Calla Lunga San Barbara and Locanda Montin, S. Travaso, Fondamenta Eremire - both offering superb sea food and great service and atmosphere. Well worth searching out!. It has been a really brilliant trip.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by n from chester

Lovely staff

Posted Apr 20, 2014
Pros: Staff, decor of rooms, traditionally Venetian
Cons: A toaster at breakfast
Location: Near academia bridge, easy for water bus from airport, close enough to Rialto bridge, St Marks square, close to restaurants and a supermarket.
Very nice staff, arranged for us to have an early breakfast on day of departure. Close to everything. Lovely Rome, very Venetian decor.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel in a lovely location

Posted Apr 17, 2014
Pros: Location was great and staff were very friendly
Cons: The breakfast was fine and there was lots of it however it would have been nice to have had some fresh fruit especially as there was lots around.
Location: The location was great. You could easily walk to all the sights and restaurants.
We had a really enjoyable holiday at this hotel. We are a family of 4 with a 15 year old and 20 year old. We had a lovely 4 person room ehich had lots of character.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Robin from Cornwall

Great Location just off the Grand Canal

Posted Apr 15, 2014
Pros: Perfect location !!
The location of the hotel was perfect, just a few minutes walk from the Vaporetto stop on the Grand Canal and from two squares (Campo Santa Margherita and Campo San Barnaba) with bars and restaurants on the door step. After the hustle of Piazza San Marco it was great to return to the relative calm of Dorsoduro and enjoyed evenings at the "Al Profeta" restaurant with great food, atmosphere and wine! The hotel was clean, staff friendly and helpful and the breakfast choice adequate with great coffee. We loved finishing our evening with a beer and a glass of Prosecco at the little bar at the foot of the Ponte Dei Pugni. Perfect end to every evening! The hotel was clean and the staff were very helpful. Very quiet location with only the sound of church bells to wake you.