Ratings based on 118 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.3 out of 5
66% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Indianapolis, IN

Needs more than a fresh coat of paint

Posted Jun 30, 2014
The first room I received smelled disgusting and like smoke. I went to the front desk. She reluctantly gave me a different room. She told me that they do not allow smoking so it was a non smoking room as requested. Also she gave me a room with four beds in it, which I ironically had originally requested and was told there were none. Therefore I had to rent two rooms. However come to find out there was one available! The walls are filthy and have not been painted nor cleaned in decades. Also there is not a shower. There is a hole in the bathroom floor with a PVC pipe and shower curtain hanging around it. So when you "shower" the bathroom floods. Additionally the bathroom walls and tile are moldy. Floors and walls are filthy and the carpet is at least 3 decades olds. Truly...find another hotel. The staff are unpleasant. The circuit in our room blew when we turned both lights on. And the "free" wifi only worked if you are willing to re-register with the network every 5 minutes. Never ever ever staying here again!!!!!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 22, 2014
Location: Good location close to train station with simple access to Venice.
Good location near train station & 15 min ride into Venice. Hotel was a bit disapointing walls very thin and made for very noisy nights and mornings. Shower in the bathroom flooded the floor and ran into the bedroom.
2 out of 5
by Ron from Australia

Good location

Posted Jun 2, 2014
Pros: Not much
Location: Good bars and restaurants close by.
Room much too small, no tea or coffee facilities. Breakfast very good and reception staff very helpful. Aircon not switched on as they said we didnt need it?.. No English channels on TV.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Dulip from UK

Good, Cheap, No Wifi

Posted May 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
Close to station and Pisa tower, Cheap, Really good breakfast, small and old condition, No wifi in 1st and 2nd floor
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by James from London

Nice hotel and staff, not as far away as you think

Posted Apr 25, 2014
Pros: Clean, quiet, cheap, comfortable. Great staff
Cons: Breakfast wasn't appealing however cafes are around. Park you have to walk past had some dodgy characters one night. No trouble though, just wary.
Location: Didn't really explore the area. Saw some nice bars and cafes we didn't get round to visiting.
Clean and comfortable for a place to sleep. Staff all friendly and helpful except one man who isn't un-helpful I suppose but in juxtaposition to the rest who are really nice and helpful he seems a bit abrupt. Special mention to the guy who checked us in. He got out a map and wrote down a brilliant one day itinerary with directions and transport tips which we followed and had a great day. In case you're wondering, Murano in the morning avoiding the crowds, Burano for lunch as it's cheaper and charming and then back to Venice for early evening and night time trip down the grand canal. I'm actually glad we stayed in Mestre. The hotel is 5 minute walk to the train station, we we're always on a train within 15 mins of getting to the station both ways and it was only 2.50 euros for both of us. Takes about 10 - 15 mins. For a London commuter that's very quick and cheap. The reason I'm glad is constantly I saw people struggling with suitcases through the streets and over the bridges of Venice. Struggling to get them off and on the crowded Vaporettos. Where as our coach from Treviso airport dropped us at Mestre train station in 30 mins and we had a quick walk to the hotel. Never once did I think the Hotel was far away or a pain to get to. Also Venice is a labyrinth. This hotel is very easy to find in Mestre. Yes it would have been nice to have a view over the grand canal and a water taxi up to the door but if you can afford that you would not be looking at this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Alan H from Morecambe

Not bad, but not great.

Posted Apr 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
Small rooms, but accommodation round Venice does not come cheap particularly during Easter. The breakfast was OK, and the small bar quite comfortable.If you are using public transport, get a Venice Card before you arrive; you then 'key in' the code at any of the machines; there is one outside Mestre Station, and you can travel all over Venice without paying 7 Euros every time you step onto a Vaporetto. Don't let them put you in the 'Annex'. the rooms are 'naf' and it's a hundred yards down the road.
3 out of 5
by Jenniffer from Guatemala

Not great but close to the train station

Posted Dec 9, 2013
Pros: It was close to the train station.
Cons: Staff should be more friendly, if they don't like to deal with people they should not work in a hotel.
Location: Close to the Mestre train station, that's it.
The neighborhood is not that touristic so there is nothing much to do close to the hotel. We only chose it because it was 2 blocks away from the Mestre train station, that we would be using the next day. The guy that was at the reception when we arrived was not polite at all (which we found to be a common issue in most italians). When we got to the room, the light wouldn't turn on, so we had to go downstairs (the room was in a fourth level but the elevator just gets until the third), the guy never looked at us at our faces and he just said oh just look on the top of the door, there's a switch that you need to turn on. That was all of his help. So then we had to go back with our luggage back to the room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Rich from Essex

A very good base if visiting Venice

Posted Dec 9, 2013 on Hotels.com
The location, although not being in Venice itself it's very easy to get to by train and takes less than 10 minutes. From the station itself the hotel is very easy to find. Room was clean and tidy only problem really was how small the bathroom was, but it wasn't really an issue. For the price, it's definately recommended.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 23, 2013
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great option for staying just outside of Venice

Posted Nov 1, 2013
Cons: In one room I stayed in, the bathroom was too small.
If you find a good price (the price seems to jump up and down), I strongly recommend staying here. The location is great -- very close to the Mestre train station. Hotel is clean. Some rooms are better than others. Friendly staff. One thing though. If they could run the air conditioning in late October, that would have saved me from having to have to deal with a few mosquitos at night as I slept. However, another hotel I stayed at nearby had this same issue.