Ratings based on 57 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by Alex from UK

Beware of a terrace being a balcony

Posted Jun 19, 2014
Pros: The location of this hotel is great for both the water buses & the beach. It is also close to bars/restaurants, many good ones at reasonable prices
Cons: It would nice if more staff smiled more, although maids did & were very courteous.
Location: Location great for beach, waterbuses, restaurants, shops, buses. Lido relaxing/ easy to get to Venice/other islands/ from Venice buses/trains to Italy
Other than a young man called Punaru we found the reception staff including manager not all that friendly. Waitresses didn't know how to smile either. Rooms small but clean enough & towels daily if required & bed sheets changed often. Breakfast adequate, fresh & plentiful. We had upgraded to a terrace but initially given a small balcony/only room for a chair. Others 4 couples with us, 2 had upgraded to what was described as terrace but only got small balconies. They were are at first given the same type of rooms as those who had not upgraded but at substantial extra cost for a week. Because of this they got moved when another room was ready but never really got what they expected. When you look at the images the 2 big & 1 small terraces you see in a row are the only ones that exist but the balcony ones with only room for a chair are same price. My friends weren't even given them to start with, just as well they all knew what the others had paid & had a valid argument. There are no staff in the hotel after 9pm until am, we had paid all out account when we arrived but had to leave key early am when no staff present. When I got home that night I checked my credit card & the hotel had charged me another almost £400 which I had to email them about, it was well into the next day before I got a response but they did admit it was a mistake & refunded. Made a stressful end to a lovely holiday in Lido
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 28, 2014
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Alida from Huntington Beach CA

Posted Jan 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
This was my second trip to Venice and I really enjoy staying on Lido as it's very quaint. The hotel was great and we had a very comfortable room for 3 people. Breakfast is definitely nothing special and if you need something good luck finding someone to help you. Check in is at 2 and we arrived at 3 and there was no one there. We had to call someone to let us in and when we finally got inside the hotel there wasn't any staff. There was an envelope with our key and a welcome letter on the desk. Didn't see another person until the next morning who aim assuming is the owner and not very friendly. I would entertain staying there again but will probably go back to the hotel I stayed at last year.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Sherly from USA

OK could be better

Posted Oct 8, 2013 on Hotels.com
Very frustrating experience at this hotel. Arrived at 9:30 pm after taking train from Milan to find that the property has an electronic gate and staff go home at 9pm. We stood there for quite sometime and if it wasn't for some guests coming back in we would have been stranded outside for the night. Informed the staff on several occasions that my AC wasn't working properly and no one ever came to look at it. Plus the place is so tiny and walls are thin so if you're not an early riser be careful the cleaning lady's vacuum will wake you.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by pam from england

Great Location.

Posted Sep 21, 2013
Pros: Clean, basic rooms and a good breakfast selection.
Cons: A night receptionist. Although the system for getting into the hotel after 9.30pm was simple, most people, including us, had trouble at first.
Location: Vaporetto, bars and shops nearby.
Although located just a few minutes walk from vaporetto stop and lively main street, it is it's in a quiet area without any disturbance.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Areina & Peter from Yorkshire. UK

Quiet, romantic bijout break

Posted May 30, 2013
Pros: Balcony,
Cons: breakfast
Location: Lido is excellent and you can get everywhere using the Actv water buses.
Very convenient from Actv water bus (local service) and close to restaurants and bars, whilst being far enough back from main street not to be disturbed by them. NOT miles and miles of hiking with suitcases, like that experienced by those poor things staying on the main Venetian island. Very glad we chose Lido! Our balcony was lovely and we spent evenings drinking wine and soaking up the quiet street atmosphere. Rooms are quite small and bathrooms very much so because of the Italian love of the bidet! But were usable and clean. Reception staff were absolutely lovely and spoke excellent English. Only set back was breakfast waitress. She was surly and grumpy and had a very poor attitude. We regularly had to ask for more coffee / bread/ milk etc and she fetched them, but with much eye rolling and banging around - unless you were Italian in which case she was all smiles and nothing was too much trouble.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice staff and breakfast

Posted May 22, 2013
Location: Nice location in quiet part of Venice. Close to shops and good food.
There was not much room in the bathroom to move around. There was barely enough room to walk between the toilet, shower and bidet. The shower was hard to get in and out of, with only a small corner opening up. The lady at the desk was nice, giving us free wifi when it states you need to pay. Breakfast was nice also.
2 out of 5
by Paul from London, UK

Couple travelling for pleasure. Honest review.

Posted May 18, 2013
Pros: Comfortable bed. Handy location. Clean and modern bathroom.
Cons: Noisy. Cramped rooms. No out of hours amenities.
Location: Great location, close to water bus stops, Lido beaches and local restaurants / shops.
Hotel Villa Edera is decorated in such a way as to promote the artistic side of Venice, with artistic flourishes adorning the walls, ceilings and doors. However the initial thrill quickly dissipates. The staff are friendly enough, but a little distant at times, and at a completely different hotel at others. Namely 9pm until 7am, during which time there is no staff present at the hotel. Any problems, refer to a sister hotel located elsewhere on the island. Outside these hours, guests have to enter/leave the hotel via a swipe card system. The rooms, or at least the one we were allocated, are not of generous proportions, and our room on the ground floor can only be described as noisy. If booking a room at this hotel, DO NOT ACCEPT A ROOM ON THE GROUND FLOOR! The hotel's delivery and refuse system appears to use the path directly outside the ground floor bedroom windows. The noise from 07:00 is reminiscent of metal beer barrels been wheeled into a pub cellar. There is only one, small wardrobe in the room, a dressing table dominated by a TV set, bedside cabinets and a queen sized bed. A small minibar took up space in the wardrobe, along with a broken safe. The air-conditioning did not work. The only course of action was to open the window, and suffer the noise. However, the bath rooms are clean and modern and well equipped. Rooms are serviced daily. A continental breakfast is included, which was very satisfactory. Over-all, I would recommend finding somewhere else to stay.
3 out of 5
by Pheebs from Cheltenham GL54, UK

Could do better.

Posted May 18, 2013
This hotel is adequate but did not live up expectations. The rooms were cramped; the breakfasts not very interesting and, sadly, I found the place a little unwelcoming. I left my shoes there by mistake. I emailed to ask if they were there.... And was told they did not find my glass! I emailed back but got no reply. Disappointing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Bren from Chester, Cheshire West and Chester, UK

Perfect Location

Posted May 5, 2013
Pros: good breakfast options considering the very reasonable price
Cons: i couldnt get the air con or the tv to work!
Location: Perfect getaway from the madness of crowds but still within only 2 mins walk from the shops
Lido is a great place to stay when visiting venice. You get to do the Vaporetto every day which is a great way of seeing the place. The Hotel itself is in a great location, just a 2 minute walk from the Lido Vaporetto terminal. From here you can get the short trip into Venice just fine, along with other routes. You pay the tax on arrival which i think was 2.4 euro each per night. You are given the key, and a card to open the gates and doors if you return after 10pm. The rooms are basic, but clean and maintained ok. The bathroom is clean and as expected. Beds are comfy and we had a great night sleep every night! There are no mosquito nets which i think is common, however despite being bitten outside (and they bloody hurt) the room was mozzy free. Security seemed ok with the shutters etc so we didnt need the safe. Breakfast was good - Buffet of Croissant (chocolate and apricot) bread rolls etc all done fresh. Cereals, Toast, Eggs, Cheese, Salami, Jam, Yoghurt, Coffee and Juice. Great for the price which is reflected in the rating. Would definitely recommend