Ratings based on 8 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 7, 2014
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Richard from Brooklyn, NY, USA

Great no frills, best bang for your buck hotel

Posted Jan 14, 2013
Pros: Affordable, close to inexpensive food, walking distance from terminal and ferry station, san marco was about 20-30 min walk away.
Cons: Nothing
Location: 10-15 min from terminal, the hotel is a little hard to find in the alley it is located, safe area
I think the best way to describe this hotel is as the best no-frills, best bang-for-your-buck, type of hotel. It was a little difficult to find, which is just the nature of Venice to begin with, but it's a 10-15 minute walk from the train terminal. The host/owner was a kind and warm older gentleman who helped with local recommendations and made the stay very easy. Room was well maintained, and although I thought the funky green theme was a turn off in the pictures, it was a very flattering design in person. Amenities are all modern. Breakfast was included, which consisted of breads, cereal, croissaint, espresso, orange juice... your basic italian breakfast. I had no complaints at all about my stay and would definitely stay again if/when I return to Venice. The neighborhood is a residential neighborhood for the most part so it's not overcrowded with tourists, which to me is a plus. If the owner is reading this, thank you for your hospitality. For reference, I stayed 1 night on 1/9/13. The hotel would be on the level of a 3-star hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Very good hotel in Venice

Posted Dec 29, 2012 on Hotels.com
We loved this hotel in Venice, very good quality/price ratio. The service was very good. The rooms where comfortable and big for Venice standards. Recommended
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Younossi

Posted Jul 21, 2012 on Hotels.com
This was a decent hotel. The owner and the people that worked there were very nice and accommodating. It is very close to Piazza Roma, so if you are driving that is where you would have to park. You can not drive up to the hotel. It is also very close to lots of good restaurants and stores. You can either walk half hour or take the water bus to S. Marco Square. The area is much quieter and less touristy than the S. Marco Square area. The AC never worked properly, so it was always on the warm side. Finally, the first night we stayed in a room on the third floor, which has low sealing and is quite hot. So request a room on the lower floor.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Nice short stay hotel

Posted Jun 27, 2012 on Hotels.com
Locanda Gaffaro is a nice small hotel in a "not so close to the center" location but very safe and cute, walking distance to train/ bus station which was VERY convenient considering the suitcases!. Food is WAY cheaper here than near San Marcos. Rooms were clean on the small side, AC and breakfast included. Breakfast was very limited, coffee, juice, dry croissants and toast.I would totally stay here again, staff was very friendly and even if we got there before the room was ready we were allowed to leave our stuff inside.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel

Posted Jan 5, 2012 on Hotels.com
This hotel is about 15 minutes walk to train and bus station, it's located off the main road, not too easy to find. But good value and good breakfast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 7, 2011 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from VIRGINIA, USA

IT'S OK, VENICE is interesting, but Once in a life time is sufficient

Posted Aug 20, 2010
The room is too small for 4 people. It's suppose to be a family room in the attic with 4 beds. But we got triple room, with 1 extra bed. Breakfast was good, but nothing special.