Ratings based on 25 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.8 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
2.7 Service & staff
2.8 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by Josh from São Paulo

I have never been treated so poorly in my life!

Posted Jun 21, 2014
Pros: The real estate office next door had a very nice man who was able to help us navigate the island in lieu of our inability to access google maps.
Cons: A wrecking ball and bull dozer would be a huge improvement. I have never felt so badly about...well anything. The hotel staff ruined our experience.
Location: The hotel is on the edge of the residential district near the grand canal -Great! There is a nice bakery around the corner to supplement "breakfast".
The woman who checked us in was rude, spoke condescendingly, and physically threw my receipt at me. The wifi did not work in our room [free internet was one of the reasons we booked this hotel]. Upon asking the manager about the internet she replied: "I don't know, it works for me at my desk". She then pretended she couldn't speak english, walked to the lobby door, and opened the door for us to leave. She refused to speak to us any further. Later that evening we discovered that the internet worked in the "kitchen" [quotation marks because it is a room of tables and chairs...and the breakfast: an instant coffee machine]. The next morning we were in the kitchen looking up directions for the day at 10:21 am. A cleaning lady came in and told us that we had to leave because breakfast hours were between 8:00-10:00. We explained that we were in the kitchen because that was the only spot we could connect to the wifi. We were told that was because our room was too far away from the router and there was nothing that could be done about it. Again magically the hotel worker suddenly forgot english and switched to Italian only. Lucky for her we were able to also switch to Italian and wish her a nice day. The "breakfast" was instant coffee and prepackaged croissants with a shelf life of 3 years [yikes]. Our towels were translucent curtain like fabric. And the staff decided that the best time to clean the shared bathroom was at 8:30am when 7 people between 3 rooms were trying to shower.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Sarah

Everything great except reception...

Posted Jun 3, 2014 on Hotels.com
We had read all of the (negative) reviews of this hotel prior to our arrival, so we knew what to expect - especially with the front desk. Reception was painful- very slow and rude. The one lady that took us to our room was nice though. The cleaning staff were also pleasant. The room itself was just fine. It was all we needed for a night's stay. Loved having a sink/mirror in the room as the main bathroom is shared with 3 other rooms. The bed was comfy and there were no signs of bed bugs. Lots of treats were left on the desk in a basket for us for the morning along with juice boxes. There is a fridge in the shared kitchen which came in handy. Patience is needed with the wifi (better wifi access outside the hotel as opposed to inside the room), and the towels they supply are basically table cloth linen as everyone has mentioned, but they did the trick! Everything was great. The pizza place across from the hotel has the best pizza so definitely recommend giving them a try! It's cheap too! Check-out involved a different lady- also rude... But that's what's expected when staying at Residenza Ca'Dario!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nope

Posted May 19, 2014
Reception needs attitude adjustment, waited almost an hour to check in, mosquitoes from canal in room
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Its more of a guesthouse

Posted May 19, 2014
This hotel is much more like a guesthouse than a hotel. The rooms are spacious and have a sink, but the bathroom is down the hall way and shared with the other guests. Lovely place to stay and comfy but make sure you not expecting a hotel and more of a guesthouse
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Bernardo L from Denmark

Good budget hotel

Posted Apr 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel is a good way to experience Venice on a budget, however if this will be your only time in Venice and you can spend a bit more for a better accomodation, I think you should look for a better location. We traveled here with a 3.5 year old son and with another couple (5 people total) and we really enjoyed Venice, but we had to walk a lot specially at night and can imagine that staying in a better location would be nice if going there just for the city's romance...
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Apr 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
Great location, shared bathroom was a bit of a pain. There is not really a breakfast just some packaged pastries.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by Katie from UK

Good location but more like a hostel than a hotel

Posted Sep 15, 2013
Shared bathroom- appeared to be sharing the bathroom with 5 other bedrooms in the building, but this didn't turn out to be too much of an issue, we just had to wait for people to shower before we could go in to use the toilet and vice versa Free coffee machine available in the hallway between 8-10am which was a nice extra to have Reception was located about 200m away from the building we stayed in and they were very helpful- gave us a map of Venice and let us leave our baggage with them after check out until 5pm which meant we could do more sight seeing before our flight that evening Bedrooms were extremely small but this wasn't too much of an issue for us as we spent most of our time exploring venice Rooms had air conditioning which was nice too
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Pulpito from Manchester

Excellent for the price

Posted Jun 28, 2013 on Hotels.com
The room was very small but clean had a lovely garden view from the very large window. Air conditioning was excellent. Location ideal for being away from the crowds but surrounded by restaurants and bars free WIFI. Towels were like bed sheets, breakfast was really non existent, The bathroom is shared and consists of a shower and toilet. This proved a bit of a problem as you had to wait for people to finish showering to visit the toilet. Shower and toilet separate would improve the facilities 100 fold. For the price of this double room I doubt you would find anywhere better in Venice and as a traveler who spends most of his time out of the hotel (in Venice why would you stay in the room?) I would totally recommend it and would certainly stay there again. It is just a shame there isn't another toilet.