Ratings based on 168 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, Canada

A luxurious stay.

Posted Sep 11, 2014
Despite being small, the room was comfortable and luxurious and the staff friendly and helpful. A solid breakfast was included. Downside: we had to go to the dining area to get wifi access - it would have been helpful and convenient to have it in our rooms. We were there for just one night. Sleep was great until a group of tourists decided to get rambunctious and loud in the bridge right outside our window at around 4:00 a.m. waking us up. They laughed and yelled for a good 10-15 minutes and I was surprised the night concierge didn't ask them to simmer down. This was close to the hotel's front entrance so is be surprised if he didn't hear them. Other than that, super comfy bed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tulsa, OK

Venezia and San Marco

Posted Sep 5, 2014
One block from St Mark's Square over a canal footbridge. Terriffic. Had a bedroom a large living room with A/C that worked great. Staff was wonderful as well.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chandlers ford, UK

Good position

Posted Sep 2, 2014
This hotel was in an excellent location to wander around Venice. Style of room decor was extremely 'traditional', and somewhat unusual. Bathroom however was excellent. Reception staff very brusque, and not particularly helpful. Drinks VERY expensive (€7 for a coke!), and breakfast simple. Overall though reasonable value considering how expensive Venice is on the whole.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Auckland, New Zealand

Great location, loud room

Posted Jul 13, 2014
Pros: Location, balcony Friendly female receptionist, the males were not so much
Cons: Water temp in shower Phone call rates (if I knew it was that expensive I would have called from my mobile - far cheaper!) Breakfast menu variety
Location: Location is fab - close to everything!
We stayed in this hotel for four nights from July 7-11, 2014. Our room was an average size (compared to high traffic tourist towns) and had a nice little balcony overlooking one of the canals. The breakfast room was large, however the food was average (so much sugar!). The bed was low but surprisingly comfortable, and sadly the air conditioning is loud if you're on level 4 (not sure about other levels) which makes it hard to sleep. Our shower seemed to only have one level of heat ... very hot! The room was tidied every day and the location was perfect - just a 60 second walk from St Marks Square - the ideal base. I was charged 80 Euro for a 10-min international phone call and I thought that was very steep, which put a sour taste in my mouth upon check out.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by andrew from woburn, ma

Feels like a Venitian hotel!

Posted Jun 23, 2014
The hotel itself is packed away in what looks like a shop window and when you walk in, it has the classic old world charm. Its small as is everything in Venice so do not be thrown off. The rooms are small-ish, especially the bathrooms, but its Venice! The staff was very friendly and organized. The location is unbeatable. It is a half a block off from the center square so no matter if you get lost, anyone can direct you back to the square and you can easily take two steps back to the hotel. Some of the rooms do not have good views, but they do have a few balcony rooms.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by brian from england

cant recommend it

Posted Jun 11, 2014 on Hotels.com
Staff are rude and services no good Location is Very good but rooms old , breakfast no good and air con Not effective Cant recomend this hotel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by DeSimone family from Hasbrouck Heights, NJ

Close to everything. No transportation needed.

Posted May 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
Pleasant and comfortable. Upgraded to suite. Guest receptionists very helpful. Just bring extra soap and toilet paper.
2 out of 5
by Laura from Texas

Staff needs major attitude adjustment

Posted May 27, 2014
Front desk clerk seemed bothered when asked a question. Very rude overall. Room was clean and comfortable. Would not stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Robert from Lucca

Great location

Posted May 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
I rely on a good internet connection (for biz) and of 8 European hotels (this trip), this is the only hotel to charge extra. The free service is available only in breakfast room (to stop costly night downloads??) and then my gmail didn't connect. Being told 'this is Italy' didn't help either. Another irate USA guest said.'his family could be dead and buried before he would ever know'. Another complaint was poor breakfast staff who were rude and unattentive... specializing in sliding chairs/table across the marble floor and collecting used cutlery with as much clatter as possible! (the likes of which reminded me of large Chinese restaurants although the latter can spill tea like no other!!). Tiny very decorated rooms + great location may not be enough to persuade me to make a forth visit to this hotel. Front desk staff professional and helpful.
3 out of 5
by JM from Hampshire

Good location, disappointing facilities

Posted Apr 18, 2014
Pros: Good location, only a few steps from St Mark's Square and was kept clean.
Cons: Wifi access. More clear steer on availability of bar/restaurant.
Location: very close to all tourist attractions.
Clean enough, staff were ok to a point, but limited help available. Wifi was not available all day, and when it was it rarely connected. The breakfast room was frequently over subscribed and the staff although very industrious rarely kept up with demand on availability of crockery, cutlery and provisions. The bar closed very early, 8.30 in the evening and the fact that they advertised a "restaurant" on site there was not. The air conditioning is not turned on until June so the warm spell we experienced in April, although I'm sure unusual, was a little uncomfortable as the "air con" pumped out only warm air.