Ratings based on 8 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5.0 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
5.0 Room comfort
5.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Great Venice option to get away from the crowds!

Posted Oct 25, 2014
Just stayed here for 3 nights with my husband and two kids. The hotel has recently been taken over by Starwood and fully refurbished and is very comfortable and spacious. Breakfast was good and the outdoor areas lovely. It was October and the weather was mild but the pool was freezing and I thought could be heated a lot more to allow people to swim. Staff were very nice - courteous and friendly, and the concierge made some very good recommendations. They have a free and reliable shuttle that goes to and from St Mark's Square every 30 mins, which is great. My only complaint and the reason I gave Hotel Staff and Room Cleanliness 4 stars is because on our second night we returned to our room to find it had not been turned down. I called Reception to alert them to this and they were apologetic and asked if they could bring us some fresh towels. The next evening, on our way out, I asked the concierge to make sure our room was turned down that night but, alas, we got back and it hadn't been. We complained and on checkout the following day they gave us a discount from our extras bill, so they did try to rectify the issue but in my opinion shouldn't of happened in a hotel of that calibre. All in all a very nice stay and I would recommend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Surrey, UK

Luxury hotel

Posted Sep 16, 2014
Pros: Everything ! Oh, and all the staff were amazing................ And did I mention the breakfasts ? So much choice, something for all tastes.
Cons: Some heat in the pool please.........
Location: Wonderful location, and just 10 mins from St Marks Square by private water taxi....... We wandered around, just taking in the atmosphere of Venice,
We spent 5 nights here, and had a much-needed break. The hotel was so quiet and luxurious. Loved the private water taxi to mainland Venice, that added an extra something to our stay, and always so prompt. The outdoor pool was very cold, and needs to be heated, but the poolside area was very luxurious. We ate in the restaurant once - the food was lovely, but very expensive. The drinks were also expensive, but I had the best Bellini ever! Rumour has it that in addition to a spa and indoor pool next year, there will also be a children's club :( I think this is definitely an adult-only hotel. As my son is now an adult, I appreciate adult-only hotels. Personally, I would never chose to stay in a child-friendly hotel. I think this will deter as many people as it will entice. Go to this hotel now !
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from England

superb hotel near the beach.

Posted Sep 6, 2014
Pros: Everything
Cons: cannot think of anything
Location: We spent our time exploring all around the area for the 2 days we were there. It is so romantic. It's also beautiful and interesting.
we could not fault ANYTHING. The room was superb and the service excellent. The staff could not have been more helpful and were always polite and cheerful. We are hoping to return soon
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from worcester uk

Anniversary break

Posted Sep 1, 2014
Pros: The location, the amazing buildings, the rooms, the pool, the staff in fact it was all we expected and more.
Cons: Nothing!
Location: Go into Venice on the complimentary boat and see the sights. Do the Venice wine tour.
An amazing experience from start to finish of our 3 night stay. A true 5 star hotel and super staff ,nothing was too much trouble. We were there to celebrate our ruby anniversary and when the hotel manager found out we had a complimentary bottle of prossecco with our delicious meal. For a special break in Venice it was perfect!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kettering

Excellent standard of service and attention

Posted Aug 30, 2014
Pros: Location, service, attention to detail.
Cons: Tea and coffee facilities in the bedroom.
Location: Venice is full of sights and beautiful buildings. Go explore!
We have been fortunate to stay in a number of 5* hotels in recent years, and were impressed with the San Clemente. The price for flights and the hotel were lower than those for the Hotels Danielli and Cipriani which were both on our "bucket list" and after visiting both of these other hotels whilst in Venice, we definitely made the right choice. The San Clemente provided a free motor boat transfer service every half hour to San Marco running through to midnight. We had to leave at 06.45 hours to catch the water bus back to the airport, and the San Clemente staff arranged a special out of hours boat transfer to San Marco free of charge. The hotel provides a great way to experience the hustle and bustle of Venice, and also a quiet break by the swimming pool if the walking and shopping got too much, as it did for our daughter. We would happily return to the San Clemente.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Perfection in its own oasis

Posted Aug 26, 2014
An amazing hotel on its own secluded island minutes away from the beautiful city of Venice... nothing more to be said!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

A stunning and beautiful retreat

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Pros: Everything, a truly beautiful building with sumptuous rooms.
Cons: They are already in the process of impriving this hotel, but for our stay it really delivered.
Location: Fabulous as you have views of Venice and the hotel provides a complementary water taxi service every 30 mins, which is superb.
Recently stayed here to celebrate my 40th Birthday with my husband and 2 young sons, and I could not have chosen a better more fabulous place. From the moment we arrived we were treated spectacularly by all of the staff. The photos of the hotel really are understated compared to when you see it for yourself. This really is a 5 Star Hotel, with staff to match. We ate in both the pool and main restaurant, both of which delivered excellent food, and the cocktails were sublime! To find Prosecco at the breakfast buffet on the morning of my birthday was a real treat and to then be presented with a surprise birthday cake and complimentary bottle of Champagne from the Hotel was so unexpected, a wonderful surprise, I really was spoilt.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Yorkshire, England

Tranquil Excellence

Posted Jul 31, 2014
The San Clemente has clearly invested hugely in preparing its staff for its re-opening following its extensive refurbishment. In every respect this beautiful island retreat is world class, customer service, facilities and quality of food and wine are second to none. This is the best hotel I have stayed in in Italy and as more services are planned once a further refurbishment is completed in Q1 2015 this magnificent hotel will cement itself as the prime hotel for visitors to Venice.