Ratings based on 569 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

You shook me all night long

Posted Aug 16, 2014
Building is right next to railroad tracks. Building shakes when trains go by, and the whistle will scare you out of your shorts!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Convenient hotel location

Posted Aug 12, 2014
Clean and comfortable. Breakfast good. Walking distance to Main Street. Hotel looking to be expanded/updated via public hearing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fresno, CA

Nice hotel, walking distance to Downtown & beach

Posted Aug 8, 2014
Pros: We like the location of this hotel and the cleanliness of the rooms.
Cons: The exterior of the hotel could be improved as it looks very dated. Also, the pool area while clean could also use some touching up.
Location: The locations was great. It was safe and within walking distance to the pier, beach and the excellent downtown area.
We were pleasantly surprised by the room. The exterior looks dated but the rooms were updated, nice and clean. The hotel staff were very helpful and friendly. The free parking was great but on our second night it was a very full parking lot as there were a few spaces that were closed off by the hotel with cones. I spoke with the front desk clerk and he came out to remove the cones so that we could park. The hotel location is safe and within walking distance to all the areas our family was interested in visiting such as the pier, beach and downtown area. We also got to enjoy the Ventura County Fair which was taking place during our visit and we were able to walk to the fairgrounds so we did not have to mess with parking at the Fairgrounds. Overall, it was a pleasant stay for our family. Next time though, we will save up to stay at hotel that is right on the beach.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Granada Hills, CA

A good value and, good Location.

Posted Aug 3, 2014
Pros: I really liked the free breakfast. There was something for everyone here. Given the space limitations, the whole thing was very well executed.
The rooms are clean . The staff is efficient and cheery. This place is rather quiet considering the courtyard is basically the parking lot. I had stayed here before the remodel, so I was quite reluctant to return. What management and staff has done is taken a reasonably priced hotel to a new level. I am already planning a return visit. It is walking distance to the funky-chic downtown area that I am fond of and the beach! Thanks.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 6, 2014 by Monique, Hotel Management
Dale- Thank you for giving us a second chance and for your awesome review. We will be doing some exterior updates as well in the next year so stay tuned!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tehachapi, CA.

Walkable locale to Pier and shops.

Posted Jul 31, 2014
Pros: Location.
Location: Pier, Natural History Museum, Grant park for panoramic views of downtown, beaches, Channel Islands.
Room was comfortable and portions seem to have been renovated. Shower was a bit weird, a shower head in a bell shaped metal cover. There would have been no way to shower without getting your hair/head wet. RR tracks close by were not a problem with noise.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 5, 2014 by Monique, Hotel Management
JC- Thank you for your feedback. We hope that next time you are in the area you will allow us to welcome you again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from california

They were very helpful and friendly at all times.

Posted Jul 6, 2014
Pros: Clean, access to restaurants and quiet at night
Cons: free....
Location: close to the beach and restaurants...dog show
Great, will come back next time, we attend the Ventura 4th of July dog shows every year
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 4, 2014 by Monique, Hotel Management
We thank you for your review and we look forward to seeing you again next year!!! We appreciate you and your business!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jeff from Toronto, ON

Simple, clean, good price

Posted Jun 22, 2014
Pros: Good price, clean, comfortable, friendly staff, offered late check-in
Location: Beach
We arrived late (10:30) and were met with a friendly helpful staff member (Carlos). The room was clean and pleasant. Just passing through on the way up the coast, so we were looking just for a place to sleep near highway 1. It met our needs perfectly. Nothing fancy, but very practical.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 6, 2014 by Monique, Hotel Management
Jeff- Thank you for your kind review. We appreciate you letting us know about your recent stay. We appreciate you sharing and hope to see you again in the future!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel downtown located

Posted Jun 16, 2014
Stayed here on a work trip. Rooms were clean and updated. Was a little loud with the train being so close, woke me up a few times in the night. Beds could be have been a little more comfortable. Not a bad place to stay if you want to be close to downtown ventura, but for work and the price I paid I will stay somewhere else that's more quite.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 5, 2014 by Monique, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review, we appreciate all feedback and love hearing about our guest stays. We hope on the future you may change your mind and stay with us again. Thank you =)
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted May 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
I had higher expectations of this hotel because it was Best Western "Plus". The rooms were renovated but the structure of the building has a motel feel. When I was rolling my luggage to my room on the 2nd floor, 2 housekeeping were doing their routine, and they both threw the dirty towels over the rail to a cart below. This seems to be their normal protocol, but I've never seen any housekeeping clean like this. What if there was someone walking below and they missed the cart? Not good. I checked in with a trainee, and the trainer was being extremely impatient walking him through the process, which made me uneasy as I stood there waiting for a long time, just to be checked in. There is not much to do in the area. I only picked this hotel because all other Santa Barbara hotels were sold out.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 4, 2014 by Monique, Hotel Management
Thank you for your eview regarding your recent stay at our property. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future. I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 28, 2014 on Hotels.com