Ratings based on 197 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Santa Clarita, CA

It is all about the location.

Posted Apr 2, 2015
Pros: Location!
Cons: Ceiling fans in the rooms.
Location: The location can't be beat. Coming from the south, the entrance to the hotel is a pain but worth it. We always enjoy Ventura and all that is offered.
We always love our stay at this hotel. It is so funky and old but we love the charm and location most of all. It is all about sitting by the coast and having a pool to dip into and food and drink whenever you want it. The staff are very kind and usually with a smile. The food is good. A negative is that if there is no air conditioning, there should be ceiling fans. It can get pretty warm in the rooms. The prices for the rooms are reasonable, so we can afford to come. We look forward to going back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A great surprise !!

Posted Mar 21, 2015
Pros: Location
Location: Ventura, Ojai, Santa barbara etc
Never stayed so close to the ocean. I was lulled to sleep with the sound of the waves.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Monrovia, Ca.

Posted Mar 21, 2015
Loved being by ocean.Loved how quiet and relaxing the atmosphere is there.Very quaint!! I think they need to up date the rooms.Would be nice if the rooms had a fan.All in all my husband and I had a very nice experience. Thank you cliff House Inn.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Santa Clarita Valley

THE CLIFF HOUSE PUT'S THE "J" IN "JOY!"

Posted Feb 18, 2015
Pros: EVERYTHING - Really happy that you provide a light breakfast buffet. Of course, you have he best chef's when it comes to providing delicious food!
Cons: I CAN'T THINK OF A THING! I would not change one thing in our entire 2 night 4 day say.
Location: Drove to Carpinteria and had a meal at Sly's and then one day we drove up to Santa Barbara and had lunch at The Boat House on the ocean.
For over 10 years I have dined at Shoals Restaurant at The Cliff House and have always dreamed of spending a night there just to see what it would be like. A very good friend purchased a sizeable Cliff House gift card for me and when I learned that my daughter was returning in February to California from snow country I thought, what a better way to start her 'new California life' then to spend it at the ocean. The Cliff House immediately came to mind and at the same time Expedia came through in my e-mails. A quick check of rates (during the week) and it was very affordable. Reservations easily made, and we arrived early on check-in day. Got our room and had another delicious lunch (their salmon is out of this world). Spent two nights and as many day hours as we could. Watching the sunset two nights while relaxing in reclining patio chairs. Oh, and during the day the surf was so large over 20 surfers were entertaining all of us sitting out near the pool close to the cliff that gave us a million dollar panoramic view. While staying in our comfortable room.....during the night I would wake enough to listen to the waves splashing against the rocks at the bottom of the cliff. Of course I will be back....however, now I probably won't be content just to have lunch there. I will want to spend a night or two....or ten .....but will enjoy whenever I can, the awesome moments at the Cliff House just a bit north of Ventura. Thanks to Dillon, Donna, and Johnathon - U R GREAT!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom British Columbia

Great Location

Posted Jan 29, 2015
Pros: The views
Cons: Rooms need to be updated
Location: The city of Ventura is a great place, great downtown
Hotel is in a great location, just a few miles outside Ventura. Restaurant was good, views great. Hotel rooms need to be upgraded
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Angela Mfrom Kansas City

Gorgeous little gem north of Ventura Harbor

Posted Dec 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
This hotel was just wonderful. We arrived late, after I had called earlier in the day to say we would be, and the front desk guy on duty greeted me by name. The hotel is old, but it was clean, very quiet. All you could hear for miles was the ocean outside your door, and that says a lot considering that it is RIGHT off the 101 Hwy. There wasn't a thermostat and there wasn't a ceiling fan in our room, so it did get a little stuffy and I was afraid to open the window and cool things off too much, but it certainly didn't keep us from getting a great night's sleep. Very nice continental breakfast that you can eat right next to the ocean. Would definitely stay here again and recommend to anyone.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Forest Falls, CA

very nice. enjoyable stay away from the mountains.

Posted Nov 28, 2014
Pros: right at the waters edge. seagulls swam in the pool. really cool.
Cons: cleaner rug.
Location: nothing to do nearby other than the usual beach stuff.
room was strange. smelled like it was very clean but it wasn't. smelled liked Febreeze. food was excellent.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Stephenfrom Atlanta

Sunset view

Posted Nov 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
Wow, what a location and view, the sunsets are spectacular. The building is a bit outdated, but clean and comfortable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Valencia, Ca

I have already booked the same time next year.

Posted Nov 23, 2014
Pros: The setting right above the ocean and the waves. Food is very good too!
Cons: Entire hotel needs some TLC and upgrades to the exterior structure and stairs, etc. Just a lack of everyday maintenance seems to be the culprit.
Location: Location is perfect - no need to go looking for things to do nearby.
A wonderful break in life's everyday stress. The sound of the surf outside and through the bedroom windows is fabulous. Sunset's gorgeous and just sitting on a lounge and watching the waves is all you need.