Ratings based on 156 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by julie from Dallas, TX

Great View - Great Food

Posted May 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel is not a 4 star hotel… it is kind of old - but the rooms are clean… and the views are wonderful. I was very, very surprised at the quality of the food at the restaurant. Wow we all had wonderful means… excellent!!!! I would stay again. jc
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by David from Pasadena

Second Time.

Posted May 23, 2014
This was our second time staying at the Cliff House. The first time was during the Fall and we had a fantastic time. This time, (Spring) it was crowded and the construction surrounding the hotel was a distraction. Overall, it is an excellent and convenient getaway.
5 out of 5
by bobby from huntington beach

Fun

Posted May 1, 2014
Peaceful and a must to stop on the way to Solvang or on the way back
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sojourners from Whittier, CA

Awesome Ocean Location

Posted Apr 27, 2014
Pros: Definitely the awesome proximity to the ocean!
Cons: Get rid of the junk, purchase true professional level bedspreads and shower curtains, and just have everything in full repair.
Location: Location is wonderful! Go North and you have all of Santa Barbara ... Go South and Ventura Beaches and venues await!
We loved the proximity of this Inn to the ocean, watching the waves crash in (complete w/ Surfers in the water and the relaxing by the poolside area. It was wonderful to see and hear the ocean from our truly "oceanview room." We would love to see this Inn become a true first rate place. At this time, it just wasn't, but there's no good reason it couldn't be. My computer bag was full of silverfish in the morning from the rug, the bedspread was badly wrinkled & snagged, the TV didn't work, the faucet ran all night, the breakfast room had old pumpkin decorations on the floor (in April?) and lots of absolute junk in it. The staff we encountered were all very nice people ... just had the feeling maybe they needed a few more workers on board.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Gloria & Greg from Merced CA

so relaxing!

Posted Apr 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
I enjoyed the location, which was in front of the ocean, our room was nice and the food was great. Hotel staff friendly and the free breakfast was awesome. Next time I will bring our bathing suits for the heated pool.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from England

Impossible to find!

Posted Apr 22, 2014
Pros: Stunning views of the Ocean, nice continental breakfast.
Cons: Coffee in the rooms or at least offered to Hotel guests 7.00am to 10.00pm. It is afterall a restaurant, so why can't they provide coffee?
Location: Absolutely nothing close by. Ventura 15-20 minute drive away. No nearby cafes, bars or shops.
We took 5 attempts going up and down the 101 Freeway to find the access to this Hotel. It is located right on the Freeway with an entrance to the car park straight off the busy Freeway. This is bad enough but when arriving at night, the entrance is obscured by bollards, safety barrels and construction vehicles and equipment. There are no signs telling you where to turn off, you only see the entrance to the hotel right at the last minute. After a very stressful journey we arrived at the hotel at 8.45pm in the dark. The first room we were given was on the 2nd floor and was dull and dreary with old fashioned furnishings, old tv, a fridge and a microwave. We were not happy with it and asked if we could move to another room on the 3rd floor. A room was offered and this was much better, having more modern decor and furnishings and modern tv. We were tired, hungry and thirsty and having no coffee in the room, went down to reception to ask about coffee. No, we were told, there was no coffee and the restaurant closed at 8.00pm. There was absolutely nowhere near this hotel where you could get a coffee, Ventura is approx 15 miles away. We resorted to getting into the car again and going south on the Freeway once again to find somewhere for something to eat and drink. On the plus side, this Hotel has stunning views of the Ocean. It also has stunning views of the busy Freeway and major construction works going on. Value for money, good. Location - dreadful. Facilities - basic.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by KJ from Bakersfield

Spring Break

Posted Apr 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
Stayed here during my son's spring break. What a great feeling going to sleep and waking up to the sound of the waves. It was the best view ever when staying at this hotel. However, the hotel is old. I had two beds and one of the beds was in a connecting room but my son could not get any sleep since the water heater kept making a popping sound. Would come back again but stay in a different room.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by J. D. from Northern Nevada

Great view, not so great building.

Posted Mar 31, 2014 on Hotels.com
We were comfortable enough in the room. The building is old, but they have arranged the rooms with nice furnishings. The bed was comfortable. The number one reason to stay here is for the ocean view and the soothing sounds of the waves. We had dinner at the restaurant and it was fabulous. The free breakfast left a lot to be desired for me personally, but would be sufficient for someone who just needs some toast and coffee.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
Great little place, will defiantly be back.