Ratings based on 210 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NSW

Posted Jun 30, 2015
Pros: Location on water in small community.
Cons: Breakfast sparse.
Very difficult to get to if exit from highway is missed. Address advertised not found by navigator. Staff not forthcoming with information on facilities. Unknown small charge to credit card discovered post visit, email query not answered but debit refunded.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 23, 2015
We spent 1 day & night at the Cliff House Inn and it was just right for what we were looking for. It was very relaxing to have an ocean view and to hear the ocean waves at night. The bed was very comfortable and the room was very clean. We also enjoyed the food at the restaurant. The staff was friendly and easy-going.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Cali

Small, a little worn, but nice experience

Posted May 20, 2015
Pros: Nice location, clean beach, restaurant was good, entertainment in close enough proximity, and people generally mind their business.
Cons: I would say the the size of the rooms and upgrading of the rooms maybe, but I like it better the way it is because it has a nice beachy, worn feel...
Location: Location is right on the beach, is in close proximity to Santa Barbara, restaurants, and other entertainment for adults and kids (zoo, parks, etc.)
Overall, my wife and I had a happy experience. We loved being right on the beach, so that was an automatic plus because we wanted that relaxation of the ocean waves crashing. We slept great because of that and the bed was very comfortable. The room is small (which I think is really the only knock on the place), but it's big enough and has the necessities for a good weekend stay. The restaurant was exceptional. It was definitely better than I thought it would be. The breakfast was good, the shellfish appetizer was good (considering I don't normally eat mussels and clams), and the burger was great...it was a very simple burger, but that thing melted in our mouths. Nice area as well, clean beach, and has several entertaining options in close enough distance. Really enjoyed our stay and have thought about making that our little spot to visit :)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new york

ocean roar at your window

Posted May 3, 2015
Pros: last night in calif. got there at 3 and after seeing it we decided not to move for the rest of the day. just sat all day and enjoyed.
Location: decided to eat there and it was the right choice. just walked around the neighborhood that eve after dinner. did not want to leave.sleeping with ocean
i dont know where you could get a room closer to the ocean then this. didnt want to go to bed because we couldnt tear ourselves away from the property. but the sound of the waves all night was the best. was up early looking for sunrise. didnt want to leave. breakfast was lovely also
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Santa Clarita, CA

It is all about the location.

Posted Apr 2, 2015
Pros: Location!
Cons: Ceiling fans in the rooms.
Location: The location can't be beat. Coming from the south, the entrance to the hotel is a pain but worth it. We always enjoy Ventura and all that is offered.
We always love our stay at this hotel. It is so funky and old but we love the charm and location most of all. It is all about sitting by the coast and having a pool to dip into and food and drink whenever you want it. The staff are very kind and usually with a smile. The food is good. A negative is that if there is no air conditioning, there should be ceiling fans. It can get pretty warm in the rooms. The prices for the rooms are reasonable, so we can afford to come. We look forward to going back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A great surprise !!

Posted Mar 21, 2015
Pros: Location
Location: Ventura, Ojai, Santa barbara etc
Never stayed so close to the ocean. I was lulled to sleep with the sound of the waves.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Monrovia, Ca.

Posted Mar 21, 2015
Loved being by ocean.Loved how quiet and relaxing the atmosphere is there.Very quaint!! I think they need to up date the rooms.Would be nice if the rooms had a fan.All in all my husband and I had a very nice experience. Thank you cliff House Inn.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Andrea from Monfalcone

Vista da sogno

Posted Feb 26, 2015 on Hotels
L'hotel si trova all'uscita della highway, in una stretta lingua di terra che si affaccia sull'oceano. Spettacolare la vista ed il rumore delle onde che riesce a coprire quello dei camion e delle auto, vicinissimi. Il letto è di una comodità assoluta e molto grande. Il bagno è pulito ed accettabile, non lussuoso né nuovo, con una vasca piccolina. Stesso discorso per la colazione, un po'approssimata. Noi ci siamo stati per una notte sola prima di tornare a L.A.; l'oceano ad un passo vi farà dimenticare ogni difetto!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Robert

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 22, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Santa Clarita Valley

THE CLIFF HOUSE PUT'S THE "J" IN "JOY!"

Posted Feb 18, 2015
Pros: EVERYTHING - Really happy that you provide a light breakfast buffet. Of course, you have he best chef's when it comes to providing delicious food!
Cons: I CAN'T THINK OF A THING! I would not change one thing in our entire 2 night 4 day say.
Location: Drove to Carpinteria and had a meal at Sly's and then one day we drove up to Santa Barbara and had lunch at The Boat House on the ocean.
For over 10 years I have dined at Shoals Restaurant at The Cliff House and have always dreamed of spending a night there just to see what it would be like. A very good friend purchased a sizeable Cliff House gift card for me and when I learned that my daughter was returning in February to California from snow country I thought, what a better way to start her 'new California life' then to spend it at the ocean. The Cliff House immediately came to mind and at the same time Expedia came through in my e-mails. A quick check of rates (during the week) and it was very affordable. Reservations easily made, and we arrived early on check-in day. Got our room and had another delicious lunch (their salmon is out of this world). Spent two nights and as many day hours as we could. Watching the sunset two nights while relaxing in reclining patio chairs. Oh, and during the day the surf was so large over 20 surfers were entertaining all of us sitting out near the pool close to the cliff that gave us a million dollar panoramic view. While staying in our comfortable room.....during the night I would wake enough to listen to the waves splashing against the rocks at the bottom of the cliff. Of course I will be back....however, now I probably won't be content just to have lunch there. I will want to spend a night or two....or ten .....but will enjoy whenever I can, the awesome moments at the Cliff House just a bit north of Ventura. Thanks to Dillon, Donna, and Johnathon - U R GREAT!