Ratings based on 1,034 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Value!

Posted Jul 20, 2014
The staff was friendly and the room was very spacious and clean. It was in walking distance to the beach (about 10 mins). Breakfast was okay, but I couldn't understand why let servers distribute hot meal unlike other hotels because it was uncomfortable and made the guests confused.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Comfortable stay

Posted Jul 17, 2014
Cons: A dedicated walkway to the walkway that crosses over the freeway.
The hotel was very nice and is located centrally downtown across from the Ventura pier. The hotel is on the other side of freeway 101 and the train tracks. There is a walkway about 2blocks from the hotel that crosses over the freeway and ends up directly in front of the pier, not a long walk. My only complaint is that the train tresstle blocks much of the ocean view, at least from my room on the second floor. The hotel added additional 2 pane windows to knock down most of the road and train noise, but it still noticable when it get quite. Over all I did have a good experience during my stay there. Loved the walk to the pier and the beach and the close shopping available downtown.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Tucson, AZ

Nice Hotel, Good Location, Great Breakfast

Posted Jul 16, 2014
Pros: Location, breakfast, large rooms, service.
Location: Restaurants, beach, pier, parks, all within walking distance. Great location for driving to other places too since it is right off the freeway.
We enjoyed our stay. The location was great, within walking distance of great restaurants, parks, the pier and the beach. We were most impressed with the breakfast. Lots of variety, great hot options, and friendly service.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Escondido

Great Value!

Posted Jul 15, 2014
Pros: Super value, clean, comfortable, convenient.
Cons: Elevator decor needs to be updated. Some staff members, especially at breakfast, did not speak/understand English well, which resulted in misundersta
Location: Very convenient to freeway, town, and beach. Awesome juice bar, Buffalo Exchange, Starbucks in town, just blocks away. Beach and pier close.
This hotel was perfect for our stop over on the way up to San Francisco. It is very conveniently located next to the freeway and is just blocks from the charming shopping section of Ventura which we enjoyed. Also, it was just blocks from the beach. The room was very comfortable ( two queen beds) for my husband, teenaged daughter and myself. Everything was clean and in working order. We didn't have a chance to use the pool. A good variety of foods was offered for breakfast. I would definitely recommend this hotel for a basic, clean, quiet place to stay and will use it again ourselves!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from N.

Mediocre room walking distance to beach

Posted Jul 12, 2014
Room needs refurbishing. Bed not comfortable. Microwave to dated to pop popcorn. Frig okay. Fireplace on timer was nice.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wichita, KS

Pretty Nice room that is close to the beach

Posted Jul 11, 2014
Pros: Close to the beach
Cons: The rooms could use some caulking and paint in some areas. But it's not really bad.
We stayed here as a quick stop. We arrived very late and left mid morning. Breakfast was as good as most other hotel breakfast that offer them. We would stay here again if we were coming through Ventura.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Noisy room, hotel needs upkeep

Posted Jul 10, 2014
This hotel and the crown plaza across the street are the only two hotel right next to a major train track and the 101 freeway, super noisy all night long. This hotel is older and it looks that way also. When you walk in you are smacked in the face with a stale smoke smell, the staff was ok. When we got to our room we also got smacked in the face with a horrid smell. Last the air condition made a loud humming noise all night long. My advice stay over by the harbor less noise and much nicer accommodations for your money.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Scouting for baseball

Posted Jul 9, 2014
i Had a very good Experience at the hotel. will be back when I'm in that area again
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to beach and restaurants

Posted Jul 8, 2014
Pros: Size of room...very big.
Cons: Hotel seems a little old and out dated but you can tell they try.
Location: Barrelhouse 101 had good food at good prices for California. Waitress was great and we were served quickly even though they were busy.
The hotel was close to freeway and was a perfect stop on our way to destination. It was a little awkward to get to and ended up back on freeway so we had to go up to the next exit and try again. Was surprised to have a fireplace and balcony. Breakfast had lots of choices which was nice for a hotel breakfast (not the best food but better than most). Based on the area I would say I was happy with price and cleanliness of the room and hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

4th of July Stay

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Pros: It was centrally located
Cons: Elevators and card readers
Location: Main street and the ocean were walking distance.
Our room was nice but the maid merely placed the blankets up and considered that as being made for the day. The elevator's were beyond slow and the card reads were tricky at best. The complimentary breakfast and happy hours were a nice treat. Overall the hotel was nice and we would stay here again.