Ratings based on 255 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from No. Cal

college move

Posted Aug 27, 2014
Pros: the staff and location
Cons: rooms could use some work.
Location: everything is just a few minutes away.
the staff was wonderful. very friendly and personable. Helpful with directions and where to find thing. Hotel is near everything. Rooms could use some work but I think they were remodeling. would stay again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from oxnard

Posted Aug 14, 2014
Cons: How about breakfast and coffee?
No breakfast included? Even motel 6 has that. I won't stay at a courtyard again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 20, 2014 by LynnAnne, Hotel Management
Dear Rick, First I would like to take the opportunity to say thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We understand how frustrating it is to expect something and not get it, such as a complimentary breakfast. We do have to abide by brand standards and unfortunately, complimentary breakfast isn't available at any Courtyard. We hope you will visit us again next time you're in the area.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Detroit

Courtyard - Marriott - Oxnard

Posted Jul 30, 2014
Pros: location
Cons: Investment needs to be made to upgrade the guest rooms.
Location: Very nice, new outdoor mall 5 minutes away. Ventura pier was about 20 minutes away.
This is an old Marriott property. Lobby was upgraded but the room I stayed in was not. Upon opening the door it smelled like dirty feet/shoes. The mattress was horrible, thin like something you might sleep on in a pop-up camper. Bathroom was clean but old tiles. When you turned on the water in the sink it smelled like sewer until the water ran for a bit. I will find someplace else to stay on my next trip to the area.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 1, 2014 by LynnAnne, Hotel Management
Dear JR, Thank you for your review of our hotel. We are very sorry your stay with us did not go better. We are scheduled for a full renovation later this year, in which we will redo our guest rooms and exteriors. We hope that you will come back and visit us next time you're in the area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from G

CLEAN,RELAXING,QUIET

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Since we arrived staff were very friendly, the Gym was clean. It was quiet. Our room was clean and fresh. No issues. Will recommend to others. This is where we will stay next time were in town
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 18, 2014 by LynnAnne, Hotel Management
Dear Male, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are excited that you enjoyed your stay. Your comments have been passed along to the entire staff as positive reinforcement. We look forward to seeing you in the future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from LA

Nice & clean

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Pros: clean. Staff are friendly.
We stayed for one night. It was good. I like it.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 19, 2014 by LynnAnne, Hotel Management
Dear Rob, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Courtyard in Oxnard. We are delighted to see you enjoyed your stay and hope you visit us again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from CA

Disappointing experience

Posted Jul 13, 2014
Pros: Nothing
Cons: All that I listed above.
Location: Restaurants were near.
The toilet flushed slowly, needed several flushes to empty. The glass door would not open even a little. The air conditioner did not cool the room. The TV was very slow to respond.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 17, 2014 by LynnAnne, Hotel Management
Dear Peggy, Thank you for taking the time to let us know how we are doing. We are working to fix the issues you mentioned. Again, thank you for letting us know what needs to be fixed so we could address the issue.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

very standard hotel

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Pros: the pool was ok.
Cons: over all look does not compare to other Marriot Courtyards I've stayed at in the past
Location: location was by a train track. train noise
Hotel needs renovation. Carpet warn out. need new beds.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 9, 2014 by LynnAnne, Hotel Management
Dear Charles, As a valued guest I want to thank you for your recent stay and for taking the time to review our hotel. As an older property, there are some areas that just show it's age, however we do work very hard to make sure the guest rooms and common areas are clean and comfortable. Being located within 5 miles of the Oxnard Transit Center is usually a wonderful convenience for our travelling guests. We are sorry for any inconvenience these issues caused you and hope you do visit us again as we are planning our renovations to be completed by the end of the year. Sincerely LynnAnne
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from bay area

Clean room

Posted Jun 30, 2014
One night stay, room is big, clean but the small biding no elevator, the room's locker is not working. Not too happy!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 3, 2014 by LynnAnne, Hotel Management
Thank you for review our hotel and for choosing us. I am sorry that your stay did not go as planned. We were able to fix the elevator so it us and running. I am very sorry if this caused any inconvenience for you. We hope next time you're in the Oxnard area, you will give us another try.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Willem from Los Angeles

It's a work in progress but great staff!

Posted Jun 9, 2014
Cons: 1) Housekeeping needs to step it up and should invest in a vacuum that works. I took of my shoes and had to pick raisins and nuts off my socks as I walked around because my room had trail-mix on the floor, the wrappers for which were still among the garbage that hadn't been changed in the bathroom. Either someone went in there to hang out between guests or they didn't fully clean it after the last guest. Either way it made me feel weird about using the bed. 2) We were woken up by our obnoxiously loud fire alarm malfunctioning and going off early in the morning. Not what we wanted for our relaxing escape from the city. 3) the cable in our room (#516) kept freezing or going out which made watching a new movie impossibly frustrating. Pros: It is located perfectly off the highway and close to The Collection shopping center and a bunch of great restaurants. Pool/Hot tub hours are 7am-10pm. The staff is beyond friendly! The breakfast at the Bistro was fantastic and the Bistro staff was so wonderfully kind and friendly that it made me get over my foul mood from being robbed of sleep by the fire alarm. It has the makings of a really nice hotel if management can tie up the loose ends.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 14, 2014 by LynnAnne, Hotel Management
Dear Mr. Willem, Thank you for taking the time to let us know how your recent stay with us went. Courtyard Marriott strives to provide our guest with a relaxing problem free stay and unfortunately we did not meet your and our own expectations. Our Chief Engineer is working on getting the issues with the room fixed. I have addressed the cleanliness issue and hope that in the you can give us another opportunity in the future. We value your loyalty with Marriott and the Courtyard Marriott Oxnard/Ventura. Thank you for your comments as this can help us improve your services.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 13, 2014 by LynnAnne, Hotel Management
Dear Willem, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I am sorry that your stay didn't go well. I am working with the engineering department to make sure that all of our vacuums and televisions work properly. If you're ever in Oxnard again we'd love for you to give us a second chance.
1 out of 5
by Nate from Antelope, Ca.

DO NOT STAY HERE

Posted Jun 7, 2014
Pros: Very little.
Cons: Fix all 4 computers to print boarding passes. Give the customer a paper receipt of charges on checkout.
The facility was fine. Location was good. Check in was good. But............All 4 computers could not print a boarding pass. The girl at the front desk had to ask someone else to print them for me. She asked me if I wanted a receipt. I said yes. She did not print it and said that it would be emailed to me. BIG mistake. I just wanted to get out of there. Why did I leave without verifying the incidental charges on my credit card? I called them today. A different girl tried to help me. She took my email address down and transferred me to the accounting department that could explain my charges. No answer in accounting but I left a call back number. Then.........no email and no call back. I call back again and ask to speak to the manager. She didn't understand why I wanted a receipt for the charges since I paid in advance. I had to explain that I needed to know about incidental charges. Oh, she said. She read them off to me and said that I would get an email in 5-10 minutes. The same email address that the first girl did not send to me. Unfortunately, the checkout process will prevent any of my friends or family or anyone else I know to ever stay at this hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 11, 2014 by LynnAnne, Hotel Management
Dear Nate, Thank you for your review of our hotel. I am very sorry that getting an incidental receipt was so difficult for you and I apologize for any inconvenience this might have caused. I will be mentioning this scenario in our next front office meeting so a situation of this nature doesn't happen again. Thank you,