Ratings based on 268 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

One night stay in Oxnard.

Posted Sep 15, 2014
Pros: Staff was friendly. Breakfast was definitely good. Room and bathroom was clean. Bed was OK.
Cons: Just fix the drapes and the room will be great!
Location: Near freeway, shopping (The Collection), beaches, downtown Oxnard.
We ended up with an access room with eveything much lower to the ground. We managed to make it through. Room and bathroom was clean. Bed was OK. It was a little soft for my tastes, but OK overall. Refrig and microwave were on the carpet which is a first for me, but OK. the black out and soft drapes did not go completely over to the wall so we had light coming through. We had to shove them over and bunch them up to make it work. Staff was friendly. Breakfast was definitely good. We will be back.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from ca

Our room was dirty.

Posted Sep 3, 2014
Staff very friendly, when it came to the room it was dirty, on the ceiling it had hand prints, dead bugs as well and black paint on one of the corners :(
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 6, 2014 by LynnAnne, Hotel Management
Thank you for reviewing our hotel. I am sorry that the room was not up to standard while you were visiting us. I hope that you will give us another chance next time you are in the area.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from santa barbara

Not what I expected :(

Posted Sep 3, 2014
I normally don't write reviews but after my experience I've decided to alert other people before they make a decision to book at this hotel . As soon as I open the door the room smell terrible but I was so tired I just wanted to get to the bed and rest but just before I lay down bugs on the bed :( !!! I immediately call front desk they change my room to come to the same dirty room but hey without bugs :( . They offer me free breakfast. The next morning I call to get my breakfast to find out they did not had room service . And finally when I did my check out I explain the young lady my experience during my staying and I got offer a free water and a huge I'm soo sorry about the inconvenience for a $140 nite stay !!!! Be aware before you even think to book here !!!!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 7, 2014 by LynnAnne, Hotel Management
Dear Sandra, Thank you for taking the time to let us know how your recent stay with us went. I am sorry that our rooms were in not up to standards while you were visiting. I have passed your review to our Director of Rooms so all the issues you mentioned can be addressed at once. I hope you can give us another chance next time you are in the Oxnard Area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 2, 2014
Great staff support. when we arrive in our room, my daughter felt sick and throw up over the bed, the staff promptly call room service to change the bedding.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 6, 2014 by LynnAnne, Hotel Management
Thank you for reviewing our hotel. I am very sorry that your daughter was ill during her stay here and I hope she is doing well. I am glad that our staff was able to get someone to assist you quickly. We hope you are able to visit us the next time you are in the Oxnard area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from No. Cal

college move

Posted Aug 27, 2014
Pros: the staff and location
Cons: rooms could use some work.
Location: everything is just a few minutes away.
the staff was wonderful. very friendly and personable. Helpful with directions and where to find thing. Hotel is near everything. Rooms could use some work but I think they were remodeling. would stay again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 7, 2014 by LynnAnne, Hotel Management
Dear Phyllis, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and for choosing to stay with us. We will be going through renovations later this year. In the renovations we will be remodeling our rooms and our facade. We hope you will visit the next time you are in the Oxnard area.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from oxnard

Posted Aug 14, 2014
Cons: How about breakfast and coffee?
No breakfast included? Even motel 6 has that. I won't stay at a courtyard again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 20, 2014 by LynnAnne, Hotel Management
Dear Rick, First I would like to take the opportunity to say thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We understand how frustrating it is to expect something and not get it, such as a complimentary breakfast. We do have to abide by brand standards and unfortunately, complimentary breakfast isn't available at any Courtyard. We hope you will visit us again next time you're in the area.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Detroit

Courtyard - Marriott - Oxnard

Posted Jul 30, 2014
Pros: location
Cons: Investment needs to be made to upgrade the guest rooms.
Location: Very nice, new outdoor mall 5 minutes away. Ventura pier was about 20 minutes away.
This is an old Marriott property. Lobby was upgraded but the room I stayed in was not. Upon opening the door it smelled like dirty feet/shoes. The mattress was horrible, thin like something you might sleep on in a pop-up camper. Bathroom was clean but old tiles. When you turned on the water in the sink it smelled like sewer until the water ran for a bit. I will find someplace else to stay on my next trip to the area.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 1, 2014 by LynnAnne, Hotel Management
Dear JR, Thank you for your review of our hotel. We are very sorry your stay with us did not go better. We are scheduled for a full renovation later this year, in which we will redo our guest rooms and exteriors. We hope that you will come back and visit us next time you're in the area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Henry from Tulare

Annoying Noise

Posted Jul 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
Not sure if it was the fire sprinkler system or fire alarm but at 3 am a high pitch annoying ringing noise came on and didn't stop all night. SUCKED!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
by John from Seattle

Bed Switch Upon Arrival

Posted Jul 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
Overall very good but reservation was for a confirmed king for two separate rooms. Upon check-in, only doubles were given to us. One back first floor king was available and did change rooms. No more kings available for the second reservation. Reservation was clearly for two rooms, both Kings. Reservation was pre-paid, non-refundable.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 15, 2014 on Hotels.com