Ratings based on 489 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.3 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Eileen Stevens from Ventura

Posted Jun 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
I love the location of the Crowne Plaza...the rooms are nice enough, and the bed is very comfortable. Great views too! My only complaint is the small bathroom, and the lighting is very dark! I would definitely stay there again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
Nice place, just down the street of food and bars. Staff friendly and provided map of downtown. Great shoreline view, but the night walk to the pier can be a little sketchy. Alot of tweekers hanging around the beach, but did not have any issues with them. Just kids being kids.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Cesar Mendoza from La Habra CA

close to all must-see sights

Posted Jun 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
It was a wonderful experience even though we just stayed for 1 night/day
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Criselda

Very good initial experience

Posted Jun 2, 2014
Pros: We liked the location on the beach. Every room has an ocean view from the balcony.
We only stayed for one night but found the hotel location and amenities to be quite nice. Parking may be an issue later but we didn't have any issues on our stay. The room was roomy, nice and clean. The bathroom was clean and well stocked with the usual toiletries. Water pressure was decent, unlike some 4-star places we've stayed at in the past. The hotel is located right on the beach so beach access is easy. While, the 101 freeway and the railroad are literally right next to the hotel, you can't here the freeway noise when the sliding glass door is shut and the trains do not pass very often during the day or night. This wasn't an issue for us. You can't here the freeway when you are down at the beach.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Don from Ventura

Great for a short romp

Posted May 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
Didn't stay long, just needed a room with a nice view for a quick romantic romp with the girlfriend. Bed was very comfortable, room clean, view great!
1 out of 5
Recommended
by Disappointed from Los Angeles

Bare Minimum

Posted May 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
"Ocean View" was actually a view of the railroad tracks which were just outside the window. If you stepped out on the balcony and looked to your right, THEN you could see the ocean. Otherwise, you are staring at telephone wires, parking structure, and the occasional train. Searched for a cork screw or wine opener, and found no wine glasses or corkscrew. Called the front desk, they explained they "don't have any" but I could bring the bottle down to the bar (6 floors) and they would probably open it up for me. Not only did they cheap out on the openers, but they supplied ONE coffee packet, Minimum soap, Towels, etc. Even the furniture is sparse. So, if you have six kids and just need a place to throw them to get them inside at night it's probably OK, but don't plan on enjoying the view or atmosphere, just a place to crash.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by JTZ from Torrance, CA

To Little, to slow.

Posted May 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
Not enough parking and have to use a public parking structure when they fill up. Free WiFi to slow to even use and not able to handle the number of users. Elevators slow and not enough for the size of the hotel. Poor sound proofing of rooms from noise in adjoining rooms and hall. 3 STARTS is not even close.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Gil from Oxnard

very nice could not ask for anything better!

Posted May 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
very nice could not ask for anything better!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

lovely view to Ventura pier but noisy

Posted May 15, 2014
Pros: very clean facilities and friendly staff
Cons: noise in rooms near the road
Location: Ventura is a fantastic town, we loved the laid back ahtmosphere and the tacos on the pier
The hotel had a great location near the beach and was clean and nice. The staff, in particular Mariana, was superb. The only problem was the noise, we could not close an eye the first night but then were kindly moved to a quieter room. Enjoyed it at the end.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Anonymous from SF Valley

You get what you pay for

Posted May 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
You get what you pay for. The location is superb but the hotel is old. The walls are paper thin, so you can hear everything around you and your neighbors can hear you. But for the price, it was decent.